We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
222
8
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
8
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt italian couple healthy breakfast short walk down the road place to stay amazing family costa rica great hosts beautiful hotel friendly hotel lots of fresh fruit large bed amazing owners family stay refreshing pool rooms are great local feel
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 230 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018

I don't do allot of reviews but I was so impressed with Max and Barbara that I have been wanting to do this review for a long time. Sorry I'm just now getting to it.
At the moment of check in with Max I was sincerely impressed with the depth of personal attention and time he spent going into detail about all aspects of stay, not only at MAVI but in and around Domincal as well. The info about MAVI was brief. Max could have left it at that, gave us keys and went about his business of doing something more important but he didn't. Max got out a map and showed us his top picks for places to eat, drink and surf. His knowledge of various surf spots (rocks, currents, tides etc.) was impressive.
The hotel itself is beautiful but as with all hotels it's just a building of rooms that don't have meaning unless the folks who run it do so with heart and soul. Built only four years ago under while Max and his Family lived in a house on the property shows design and decor attention to detail rarely seen in any public facility. To be clear, the rooms are exceptionally clean, each has AC / heat, nice bathrooms, comfortable beds, kitchen with fridge and private outdoor lounge area with table, chairs and hammock.
Breakfast each morning was exceptional and included in the daily rate. Barbara (Max's Wife) with a little help, makes breakfast herself. Always served with a smile!!
I have traveled the World and stayed at countless hotels, Inn's etc.. Not one compares to the warmth I experienced at MAVI with Max and his Family. When you're there they really make you feel like your part of their Family.
Thanks for everything Max and Barbara.

Sincerely, George

Room tip: All rooms were created equal. Two floors. Your preference.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gssjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano P, Owner at MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2018

Good afternoon George,
It is great to hear from you! And no need to be sorry at all.
We want to thank you very much for having stayed at MAVI, for your excellent review, and for the very nice words.
And we are particularly gad to hear that you enjoyed the area and the place, and that you felt part of the family.
We want to thank you very very much for being such a wonderful guest, and - with no obligation at all on your side - we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back at MAVI if and whenever you have the occasion to jump back into the South Pacific of Costa Rica.
All the very best from all of us!
Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

My wife Kellie and I can't say enough good things about Mavi Surf Hotel. We had originally planned to stay in the mountains at a villa, but changed our minds, when we read all the great reviews and saw the closeness to the beach. Best decision we made on our trip. Max and Barbara are fantastic hosts. From the moment we booked our room, we were taken care of like the most important guests in town. Max arranged for a private driver to take us to and from the San Jose airport, at a cost that was only slightly more than a public shuttle. He arranged several tours for us, including surf lessons from Jordy who is located right at his hotel. He then was also able to arrange a rental car from Hertz that was cheaper than anyone else, including full insurance coverage, and they brought it to the hotel and then came back to pick it up 3 days later. Breakfast is delicious, rooms are spacious and comfortable, and ice cold air conditioning. The housekeeping staff is friendly and efficient. The grounds are immaculate. Pool is crystal clear and refreshing. Nice hot showers. Very quiet, yet a short nice walk into town around the corner. In short...we hated to leave. We hope to return very soon with our daughter. Thank you Max and Barbara for a great stay.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Island_Highlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano P, Owner at MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hello Scott and Kelly!
It is really really a pleasure hearing back form you!
We hope your journey back home was as lean as possible (including, ... getting back to "normal life"), and we also hope that your daughter experience North of here was in line if not exceeding her expectations!
Thank you very very much for taking the time to review MAVI on T.A., for the excellent rating, and for the very nice words.
It was really our honor and pleasure having you here (exceptional guests!).
We also hated to see you leave, and - with no obligation on your side - we hope we will have the occasion to welcome you back with your daughter at your best convenience.
Thank you Scott and Kelly for being such wonderful guests.
All the best from all of us to all of you!
Pura Vida
P.S.:
Hey! You WERE the most important guests in town!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Our family of four spent June 2nd through June 10th at the MAVI. From the time we arrived we were treated like Kings. Max and Barbara made sure we were able to maximize our time in Dominical and the surrounding area without any pressure. They know the area and the people which gave us great comfort in our first trip to Costa Rica. They gave us great inside information on our travels to wherever we went.

At one point Max even became a lifeguard and performed a rescue when my daughter's surfboard leash came off.

If you are traveling to anywhere on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica, save yourself the stress and stay at the MAVI. You'll be close to everything and relaxed in the clean comfortable environment.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Erock8092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano P, Owner at MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Good morning Eric (and the rest of the family)!
And thank you very much for taking the time to review MAVI on TripAdvisor, for the excellent rating, and for the very nice words.
We are extremely glad to hear that you enjoyed the area, the place, and the overall experience.
And - yeee - I am proud I have been a - maybe not needed - Lifeguard (all our respect to them!) for just a few minutes!
If you or any of your family members has the occasion to jump back to the South Pacific of Costa Rica, you know you have a place where you are super super welcome!
All the best from all of us to all of you, and
Our Regards to the beautiful Space Coast!
MAX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Barb and Max are super hosts, always eager to please and their lovely property is immaculate and so beautifully cared for. The entire staff was always very friendly. Our room was spacious and comfortable but I spent most of my down time reading in the hammock on our shady porch or sunning around the large refreshing pool. The location is great, just a short walk to the beach, dining, shopping and more.

Room tip: We slept without A/C, door and windows open and there was some light traffic from passing cars, but if A/C is on the place is very quiet.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karyevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano P, Owner at MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Good morning Karye (and good morning Bob)!
It is great to hear from you!
We hope all is great in your beautiful Caribbean paradise.
We want to thank you very very much for taking the time to review MAVI on TripAdvisor, for the excellent rating, and for the very nice words.
It was really our honor and pleasure having you here, and we can only thank Debbie for introducing us to such wonderful persons.
Whenever you have the occasion to leave your Caribbean paradise for our "Pacific paradise", you can be sure you have a place where you are super super welcome!
All the very best from all of us to all of you!
Max (& co.)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

It is a small, family run hotel which provides lovely simple and refreshing rooms. Ours was great for a family of 3. We had: air conditioning, bug screens, beds with good mattresses and a good sized shower room. It is apparent that a a lot of thought has been put into the items provided in the room and the lovely outside patio space in front of the room. Ours had a hammock, two garden chairs and a dining table to sit at with 4 chairs. This area over looked the garden/pool area. There was an outside light and fan and shrubs to provide a more private area feel. Great sized fridge and coffee maker in the room. All was spotlessly clean and everything was really well maintained. The hotel has a perfect location for accessing the beach and the town. Lovely walk to the beach/town at night - fields of sparkling glow worms to see on the way. Hospitality was fantastic - the family who run it are really welcoming, kind and helpful. Loved the breakfast and the situation - it was a welcome oasis of calm. We had stayed at a big well known resort further north before coming here and Dominical, Mavi Hotel and the local eateries, supermarkets and the Costa Rica Surf School and the yoga classes in the village with their more local feel beat the previous place we had stayed hands down. If we ever have the chance to go to Costa Rica again we would go back and stay at Mavi and Dominical in a heart beat.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank JAY141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massimiliano P, Owner at MAVI Surf Hotel de Dominical, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2018

Good evening Jay,
and thank you very much for taking the time to review MAVI on TripAdvisor, for the excellent rating, and for the very nice words.
It was our honor and pleasure having yourself and your beautiful family here.
And it is a particular honor and pleasure reading of Dominical and MAVI compared (and judged better!) than the "famous North" and the "big well known resorts".
Having moved to Dominical from Europe, we can only share your view on this little gem of town, and ... for the rest, ... we try to do our best!
With no obligation at all on your side, whenever the situation is appropriate, you very well know that, within a little beach town along the South Pacific of Costa Rica, you have a small, family run hotel where you can always feel at home.
All the very best from all of us to all of you!
MAX

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews