We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite "do" while in Drake Bay”

Gringo Curt's Seafood & Vistor Center
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$10
Cuisines: Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Gringo Curt's Seafood & Visitor Center was established June 2010 and our menu has not changed to date. We have pride in our small menu because it assures that we can provide freshness throughout the year by purchasing fruits, vegetables and fresh fish, locally and daily. There are many benefits to having same day caught fish but one downside is that we cannot guarantee a time that we can open. If we have fish at 12pm, we open. Thank you for your consideration and look forward to your visit Pura Vida!
Reviewed 28 May 2017

I am not a big fan of fish and after explaining my "idea" of good fish and what I don't like-Curt suggested the fish taco. I was skeptical, but promised myself I would try things out of my comfort zone. It smelled amazing just while he was cooking it-presentation was beautiful-fresh bright red tomatoes, onions, and a big serving. I have never tasted fish the way Curt prepared it and it was DELICIOUS. His fresh adult smoothie hit the spot :) He was very kind and friendly-took time to listen to my likes and dislikes...you don't get that kind of service in the states!! My regret?? that I was eager to try different places in Drake since this was my first time there-Other places just didn't match not only the food, the atmosphere and of course the company.
Thank you for expanding my pallet!!
When I go back next year, I will only eat at Gringo Curts!!!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank D O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 45 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2017

Finally a place where the fish is well cooked in Costa Rica. No fried fish there, just fresh perfectly cooked fish. The portion is very generous, and the restaurant is beautiful.
The smoothie was a bit too thick for me but with a very generous portion as well.
It was so good we came back the next day

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 662damiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017

A nice place to have dinner. The restaurant is at the main street. They offer a lot of local food (mostly fish), very well prepared. The staff is very friendly and funny. We can recommend Gringo Curt´s!

Date of visit: December 2016
1  Thank alexanderstruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

While the fresh fish wrap and rum smoothie were excellent, we most enjoyed gringo Curts understanding of the culture and nuances of Port Drake and it didn't cost anything extra.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Nanette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017 via mobile

The food and service were amazing. They serve the cath of the day on three different ways. Because they always catch something else, it's never the same food. The portions are extremely big. My husband and I couldn't finish one plate together.

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Dienty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gringo Curt's Seafood & Vistor Center also viewed

Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
Drake Bay, Osa Peninsula
 

Been to Gringo Curt's Seafood & Vistor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing