We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pirate Cove(Drake Bay)
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cabinas Pura Vida(Drake Bay)(Great Value!)
US$50
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ranchitos Las Cotingas(Drake Bay)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
US$149
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Finca Maresia(Drake Bay)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Martina's Place Hostel(Drake Bay)(Great Value!)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mohagine Hotel(Drake Bay)(Great Value!)
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (528)
Filter reviews
528 results
Traveller rating
436
63
15
4
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
63
15
4
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmangrove tourthe riverfishother guestscorcovado national parkcosta ricamaster suitecocktail hourscuba divingthere is no air conditioningboat ridefamily stylescarlet macawsan adventuredining areaeco lodgenight tour
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 528 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017

Aguila de Osa was our final destination after three weeks travelling along the central valley and Pacific coast of Costa Rica. From the moment we were collected from Sierpe we felt the true adventure was about to begin and we were not disappointed, it was the most perfect, fun and interesting stay. The location is incredible and the hotel has a splendid setting and access to great wildlife and natural spaces. The experience is made yet better by the warmth and professionalism of the owner - Bradd Johnson - and his excellent team.
The review is written by my kids ages 17 & 15 : Aguila de Osa seems in some ways almost too precious to describe, for words seem inadequate to sum up its untouched beauty and the natural diversity that it radiates. Aguila de Osa's delightful staff and excellent food also created a joyous atmosphere and the days seemed to slip by far too quickly. We were incredibly lucky to swim with whales and witness a whale and her baby playing in the sea this only a few steps from we were snorkelling. The snorkelling was incredible we saw so many types of fish and sea creatures. Wildlife was everywhere, even standing outside our bedroom -- no need to visit a crowded national park, just stand and listed and watch what is around you, we could see dozens of birds, monkeys, macaws, etc. it was just incredible! The hotel offers so many options for adventures, visits to mangroves, fishing expedition, scuba diving, snorkelling, we did several activities and shared stories with other people staying at Aguila de Osa, including the team of National Geographic who were filming whales!!
Aguila de Osa is a beacon of abundant nature, and wildlife seems to flourish in the hotel's eco-friendly, pleasant and respectful architecture. We look forward to returning very soon to visit and discover more of Aguila de Osa and see our new friends Brad, all his amazing staff and Coco.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ZFeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Aguila de Osa offers a lovely and almost unreal experience in the rainforest and Sea. It is place still unspoiled by over development. The hotel is exquisite in a natural ecologically friendly design, with beautiful wood construction, featuring hand carved doors and designed to let the air and light in naturally with high ceilings and huge screened windows. The intimacy of the resort is complimented by the staff who are enthusiastic, sincere and provide superior (5) star service. The food is truly 5 star quality. The opportunity to meet other like-minded travelers looking for an authentic comfortable and safe experience in the Sea or rainforest is brilliant. Mornings begin with a joyful symphony of bird song waking you slowly into the day. Evenings are equally beautiful with stars to close you can reach out and touch them, complimented by the many different frog and bug songs lulling you to sleep. There are almost too many activities to take advantage of. The guides are knowledgeable and professional and local with many years experience. The diving is equally exceptional, offering an unspoiled experience near Isla de Cano's marine preserve. It is hard to describe adequately how very special it is, and how almost instantly your soul and body connect to paradise. We keep coming back knowing for sure it will offer something different every time, and how wonderful we feel while there. We have never had a problem and find the rooms clean and comfortable. My feeling about complaints, is simple; " You get what you give." Pura Vida Costa Rica!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and unique. The bug complaints are overdone.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tegwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

My expectations weren't high after reading other reviews but this experience was the perfect end to our holiday.
Beautiful remote surroundings living with nature but in wonderful colonial rooms with views to die for and hammocks to see them from, activity but not too much, lovely food, convivial atmosphere and Brad the host. Captains who sailed us there with amazing skill, who could find whales just by sniffing the air and staff who when another parent was unwell, snorkelled with the children and made sure everyone had a great time.
We kayaked upriver, found a hidden beach and saw so much wildlife. A memorable few days.

Room Tip: All the rooms are an excellent standard
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Aguila de Osa is a lovely, rustic, authentic resort in a beautiful setting run by lovely and attentive staff. We stayed in the master suite and it was worth every penny. Our view of the ocean and wildlife were stupendous. The food was incredible, and we loved the appetizer/happy hour and family style seating. Excursions were great and there was never a need that went unattended. Yes, this property is on a hill but so is most of Costa Rica. It wasn't too much for my 77yr old mother even with a sprained ankle (from Arenal). I loved this resort, the resort pooch, Coco, the staff, and all of the plentiful wildlife encountered. This resort is not for those faint of heart (you will see wonderful creatures many consider creepy and would prefer to pretend do not exist in great numbers here), those too high maintenance, or those who expect ectreme, luxury accommodations. This resort is special, splendid, authentic, and an adventure. Anyone who doesn't appreciate the beauty of it simply doesn't get it, and frankly, probably doesn't get Osa. This resort embodies why one goes to Osa... even with the town of Drake Bay a ten minute walk down the path/beach. I will be back. Thanks to all!! Pura vida...

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank amyanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

The Resort is in a beautiful location with breathe-taking grounds, excellent food, and some great support staff, but there are risks that need to be addressed....

Here's the story:
Within 5 minutes of entering our cottage at Aguila de Osa on the first night we knew we had a bug issue to contend with:

1. We encountered 2 roaches, one of which was on one of the beds, numerous geckos - not a huge deal for us, we are not prudes, and we knew we were in a jungle.
2. As we did a thorough search to "root out" any other unwanted visitors, we accumulated 4 land crabs, a small spider, and a 5 inch scorpion (which was dispatched).
3. Once we'd cleaned out these invaders we went to bed.
4. At 3AM that morning, I entered the bathroom. Luckily we had left a night light on, and shoes stored in the bathroom. Under the sink was a large Brazilian Wandering Spider. I dispatched it with a shoe.
5. The next night a colony of ants had claimed my wife's pillow on her bed. We removed the pillow, and took a replacement off a shelf. It was dusty and filthy, and contained its own spider, we did not use it.
6. The next morning we told the staff about our encounters and were told we were lucky to have seen such exotic creatures.
7. On the 3rd day, we were visited by a second Brazilian Wandering Spider. I've included a photo of this one, found in a corner of the room near the door. It was daylight this time, and we had made acquaintances with another visitor - a trained herpetologist...so we invited her to see our new roommate. She removed the spider from the room, and after researching the internet confirmed that it was indeed a poisonous Brazilian Wandering/Traveling Spider.

These conditions, and the staff's reaction to it were totally unacceptable. Setting aside the other critters (including the scorpion), these spiders are the most venomous in the world. If we had been bitten, within 30 minutes severe reactions to the bite would have set in...there is no way the staff could have dealt with that in a time frame to prevent disaster.

What if we hadn't left a nightlight on or had shoes at the ready? What if we hadn't had a herpetologist present and had ignorantly addressed these spiders differently. Worse yet, what if we had small or adventurous children with us?

These hazards could be easily prevented by sealing up the open cracks in the framing and doors of the cottages (air conditioning, windows, and pesticides are not required). Also having a staff that is more educated to the risks and proactive in educating their visitors would also help.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
8  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews