We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eco paradise in Costa Rica”
Review of Aguila de Osa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aguila de Osa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017

It's a splurge, but well worth it! We stayed last December and had a blast. Spectacular location with awesome views. You're IN the jungle. Getting there is an adventure (but well worth it!): we flew from San Jose CR, then 4X4 over bumpy road, then 5 minute boat ride. Staff had refreshing drinks waiting for us when we arrived in this fabulous eco paradise. Warm, knowledgeable staff; beautiful hardwood accommodations and delicious food. Expeditions to Osa national park and the Sierpe River are fantastic - ask for the older guide - he's AMAZING!

Room Tip: The higher you go, the better the views and the quieter. You'll get a workout too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_Lassie_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 484 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

Aguila de Osa was our final destination after three weeks travelling along the central valley and Pacific coast of Costa Rica. From the moment we were collected from Sierpe we felt the true adventure was about to begin and we were not disappointed, it was the most perfect, fun and interesting stay. The location is incredible and the hotel has a splendid setting and access to great wildlife and natural spaces. The experience is made yet better by the warmth and professionalism of the owner - Bradd Johnson - and his excellent team.
The review is written by my kids ages 17 & 15 : Aguila de Osa seems in some ways almost too precious to describe, for words seem inadequate to sum up its untouched beauty and the natural diversity that it radiates. Aguila de Osa's delightful staff and excellent food also created a joyous atmosphere and the days seemed to slip by far too quickly. We were incredibly lucky to swim with whales and witness a whale and her baby playing in the sea this only a few steps from we were snorkelling. The snorkelling was incredible we saw so many types of fish and sea creatures. Wildlife was everywhere, even standing outside our bedroom -- no need to visit a crowded national park, just stand and listed and watch what is around you, we could see dozens of birds, monkeys, macaws, etc. it was just incredible! The hotel offers so many options for adventures, visits to mangroves, fishing expedition, scuba diving, snorkelling, we did several activities and shared stories with other people staying at Aguila de Osa, including the team of National Geographic who were filming whales!!
Aguila de Osa is a beacon of abundant nature, and wildlife seems to flourish in the hotel's eco-friendly, pleasant and respectful architecture. We look forward to returning very soon to visit and discover more of Aguila de Osa and see our new friends Brad, all his amazing staff and Coco.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ZFeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Aguila de Osa offers a lovely and almost unreal experience in the rainforest and Sea. It is place still unspoiled by over development. The hotel is exquisite in a natural ecologically friendly design, with beautiful wood construction, featuring hand carved doors and designed to let the air and light in naturally with high ceilings and huge screened windows. The intimacy of the resort is complimented by the staff who are enthusiastic, sincere and provide superior (5) star service. The food is truly 5 star quality. The opportunity to meet other like-minded travelers looking for an authentic comfortable and safe experience in the Sea or rainforest is brilliant. Mornings begin with a joyful symphony of bird song waking you slowly into the day. Evenings are equally beautiful with stars to close you can reach out and touch them, complimented by the many different frog and bug songs lulling you to sleep. There are almost too many activities to take advantage of. The guides are knowledgeable and professional and local with many years experience. The diving is equally exceptional, offering an unspoiled experience near Isla de Cano's marine preserve. It is hard to describe adequately how very special it is, and how almost instantly your soul and body connect to paradise. We keep coming back knowing for sure it will offer something different every time, and how wonderful we feel while there. We have never had a problem and find the rooms clean and comfortable. My feeling about complaints, is simple; " You get what you give." Pura Vida Costa Rica!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and unique. The bug complaints are overdone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tegwyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

My expectations weren't high after reading other reviews but this experience was the perfect end to our holiday.
Beautiful remote surroundings living with nature but in wonderful colonial rooms with views to die for and hammocks to see them from, activity but not too much, lovely food, convivial atmosphere and Brad the host. Captains who sailed us there with amazing skill, who could find whales just by sniffing the air and staff who when another parent was unwell, snorkelled with the children and made sure everyone had a great time.
We kayaked upriver, found a hidden beach and saw so much wildlife. A memorable few days.

Room Tip: All the rooms are an excellent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

Aguila de Osa is a lovely, rustic, authentic resort in a beautiful setting run by lovely and attentive staff. We stayed in the master suite and it was worth every penny. Our view of the ocean and wildlife were stupendous. The food was incredible, and we loved the appetizer/happy hour and family style seating. Excursions were great and there was never a need that went unattended. Yes, this property is on a hill but so is most of Costa Rica. It wasn't too much for my 77yr old mother even with a sprained ankle (from Arenal). I loved this resort, the resort pooch, Coco, the staff, and all of the plentiful wildlife encountered. This resort is not for those faint of heart (you will see wonderful creatures many consider creepy and would prefer to pretend do not exist in great numbers here), those too high maintenance, or those who expect ectreme, luxury accommodations. This resort is special, splendid, authentic, and an adventure. Anyone who doesn't appreciate the beauty of it simply doesn't get it, and frankly, probably doesn't get Osa. This resort embodies why one goes to Osa... even with the town of Drake Bay a ten minute walk down the path/beach. I will be back. Thanks to all!! Pura vida...

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank amyanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
1.8 km away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.2 km away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
34.9 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
360 reviews
9.5 km away
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
Casa Corcovado Jungle Lodge
#2 of 2 in Corcovado National Park
330 reviews
0.7 km away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aguila de Osa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aguila de Osa

Address: Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range: RM1,615 - RM2,932 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aguila de Osa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainforest and Marine Adventure Lodge: Nestled amidst the jungle-covered hillsides overlooking the tranquil waters of Drake Bay, Aguila de Osa is an exquisite rainforest and marine adventure hotel. It’s here where you will experience life right on the edge of the Osa. Aguila de Osa is the destination for adventurers from around the world, offering the most convenient access to Corcovado National Park, Caño Island Biological Marine Reserve, and a full array of adventures including world-class sport fishing, scuba diving and snorkeling, plus bird watching, hiking, beach trips, river kayaking, mangrove estuary tours, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aguila de Osa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aguila De Osa Hotel Drake Bay
Hotel Aguila De Osa
Aguila De Osa Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing