We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It's their people that make the difference” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jinetes de Osa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's their people that make the difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Staying at Jinetes de Osa was an experience to remember. Walking to it from the Taxi dropoff was intersting...they do carry your bags thank goodness. You have to ford a small river and then you come to stone steps that rise into the jungle quickly bringing you to a lovely open air pavilion and bar. The greeting is excellent. The food and company was memorable and the guided adventures were very well done. Our Corcavodo naturalist had worked on a National Geographic ship. Advise you to to Serena Station. Okay for the not so great stuff. The walls are VERY thin and you can hear people breathing in the next room. Not conducive to honeymoon activity unless you want an audience. The house keeping staff can get loud if you're napping late and it's hard to read with the dim lights. But none of that was enough to take away from the wonderful general experience of just being there. It was also a good value for money.

Room Tip: The cheap rooms are tolerable...that's what we had, but the more expensive rooms are definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter_Plantec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    84
    28
    15
    6
See reviews for
74
156
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
92833
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Stayed two nights; food was excellent; rooms were clean; good location; nice bar and hot showers! It was the start of tourist season so not too many people. Staff went out of their way to find enough people at other hotels to go scuba diving & hiking. Also, made sure boats were on time for my departure. This hotel is the best bang for your buck in Drake. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingThrough66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

My friend and I had a fantastic time at Jinestes de Osa and it ended up being one of our favourite places ever! From the time we arrived to when we left, we were made to feel really welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We were late by a day because of a plane delay and they were lovely in changing our booking for us and re-organising activities.
If you want to chill out, you can. If you want to go snorkelling, diving, horse-riding, hiking, do a canopy tour and pretty much whatever else you can think of doing, they are happy and quick to organise for you. We enjoyed lots of activities whilst there - all of them well organised and fun.
If you are out doing activities you get a gorgeous lunch provided, if not you have lunch at the hotel along with snacks in the afternoon! Everyone eats together at dinner and it's lovely sitting having a relaxing drink with guests and staff in the evening.
All of that doesn't even mention the animals, beautiful beaches and wonderful forests...I'm planning on heading back in August this year... looking forward to it!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, British Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I stayed here over the week of Christmas and had one of the best holidays ever. I love that Drake Bay is so remote and isolated... that you can hike for several hours and barely see anyone (and have a beach all to yourself). Plus, the unspoiled jungle & wildlife is pretty incredible.

I've visited Drake Bay on four different occasions, staying at other resorts and I'd rate Jinetes as one of the best experiences. I liked that it was an easy walk into "town" and the main beach, plus they have a fantastic bunch of tours offered directly from the resort (it's the meeting place for most tours, even if you stay elsewhere).

The resort itself is clean and simple. There's hydro, which is nice for this part of the region. There is also a friendly bar where you can spend a leisurely hour before dinner chatting up locals & fellow travelers. Plus, there's an overlook with hammocks that you can enjoy.

I stayed in the shared bathroom room and it was very nice. I heard the ocean waves lapping all night - incredible.

The food was very good, and hearty! I never ever went hungry and I love to eat. They have snacks at 4pm if you need something extra and since you're close to town you can always grab a snack if it's absolutely necessary (I never needed a snack since I felt very well fed).

The staff made the experience awesome too. Victor is the most fun guy you'll ever meet. And I loved Kate & Giovani at the bar! Everyone made me feel like a welcome friend.

Since I was traveling alone, it was nice to spend Christmas dinner with like-minded, eco-friendly travelers... everyone had a great point of view and it was like the united nations with guests from all over the world.

I am totally shocked to read negative reviews about this resort. I have the feeling if these tourists stayed elsewhere in Drake Bay they'd have similar complaints. ALL of the resorts have three meals a day (same meal for everyone, family style) and the food was healthy and hearty here. ALL of the resorts in this region are going to have some bugs (I didn't actually see any in my room, which is unheard of in Drake Bay). I don't think this kind of vacation is for everyone. If you don't like the jungle you won't like Drake Bay no matter where you stay.

I have the feeling that the people who complain about a resort like this are more suited to stay at an all inclusive in Gunacaste, or better yet save their money and go to the Dominican Republic.

For me, this was the PERFECT vacation. I'm so so so happy I stayed here.

Room Tip: I stayed in the shared bathroom room and it was no problem. It's only shared with one other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ccraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Viejo de Talamanca, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Jinetes de Osa and had a wonderful time. Although, there are hotels which are posher, I would not wanted to stay at any of them. The reason why most people travel to this remote area is to discover the nature of Corcovado National Park and dive or snorkel the National Park of Caño Island. Jinetes de Osa is the perfect base to do all the discovery you want but still have a nice place waiting for you upon return. This for a very good value of what you pay versus what you get.

The Swiss couple managing the hotel are great hosts - discreet but always there if you need something. They and their team make sure you're having a great stay. We have chosen to stay at the superiour rooms, which I think it is worth the extra money. The rooms are bigger although still simple but with everything you need. Howerver, the standard rooms are great value too and no matter which of the two you choose, there is access to a big deck on the second floor, where you can relax in a hammock or read your book.

The meals are all taken together on a long table which makes it nice for single travellers to get in touch with everybody. Breakfast is buffet style and served depending on the tours booked. Lunch is usually around 1pm unless you're on a tour, then you get a nice lunch bag. Dinner is at 6.30pm and before/after one can enjoy a drink at the bar. Water is offered free all the time, which is good as the climate is hot and humid.

They offer lots of different tours. We did the hike at the Sirena Ranger Station including whale watching and horseback riding. It was a great experience - I have never seen so many animals in such a short time! We even got to see a Tapir and although it was off season, we were lucky to see whales. We had not have enough time to do the snorkeling at the island but will definitely do next time!

The hotel is located a short walk from the village which is nice in case you like to buy something in one of the "Pulperia" (small super market). There is a path in front of the hotel leading south along the sea. It brings you to various beautiful beaches. So even on a day without activities there is the option to just relax at the beach.

To get to the hotel, you can either take a boat from Sierpe (nice boat ride, reserve ahead in high season) or fly with Nature Air or Sansa. There is also a street leading to Bahia Drake, however, right now it was hard to pass the last river.

I can definitely recommend this place to everybody who likes it down-to-earth but still wants quality and good service.

Room Tip: Superior rooms have better view and are a bit more speacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeckoTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
0.3 km away
Aguila de Osa Inn
Aguila de Osa Inn
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
1.9 km away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
0.6 km away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
34.6 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.3 km away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
Hotel Las Caletas Lodge
#1 of 41 in Drake Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jinetes de Osa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinetes de Osa Hotel

Property: Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Address: 200 M Norte del Rio Aguajitas, Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Drake Bay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Drake Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price range (per night): RM348 - RM727
Hotel Class:3 star — Jinetes de Osa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see Costa Rica as you always imagined; wild, beautiful and unexplored. Be one of the lucky few to scuba dive in the pelagic rich waters of Cano Island or explore one of the last remaining virgin lowland tropical rainforests of Corcovado National Park. Splendidly isolated in the tiny community of Drake Bay, Costa Rica, Jinetes De Osa Hotel is a friendly beachside retreat one hours boat ride down the jungle lined banks of the Sierpe River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jinetes de Osa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jinetes De Osa
Jinetes De Osa Drake Bay
Jinetes De Osa Hotel Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing