We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Paradise”
Review of Tranquilo Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Drake Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tranquilo Lodge
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Drake Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2017

We stayed at Tranquilo Lodge for five nights in late July and had one of the most amazing experiences ever. We had room 12 which is a family room with bunk beds. It has gorgeous views out to the bay and is very private. The most exceptional part of the Lodge is the swimming pool / pool bar area - it has one of the most beautiful views in the world - just mesmerising. The food at Tranquilo is fantastic, especially the seafood, the best we had in Costa Rica. The staff are also amazing and could not have done more to help us and we loved Vladies cocktails.

We are a family of four (children age 10, 9) and we did three tours: Sirena (amazing), Rio Clara (even more amazing), Cano snorkelling (great sighting of humpback whales but not greats snorkelling due to weather). These tours are pretty exhilarating and getting in and out of the bays in the big waves is not for the faint hearted.

Drake Bay is so natural and unspoilt and we felt extremely privileged to experience this magical place.

Room Tip: Choose the new rooms by the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmaN666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2017

We stayed in an Upper Level Bungalow (the one on the very end next to the bar) for 3 nights. When we arrived on shore (we took a boat taxi from Sierpe), we were met by someone who worked at Tranquilo and he helped us with our bags and drove us to our room (approx. 10mins drive). When we arrived (just in time for the sunset) our breath was taken away by the incredible views! We researched a lot of places before coming, and saw many while we were there and we'd definitely say Tranquilo has the best views. The infinity pool is great, and the bar area was always stocked with snacks (fruits, crackers, nuts, chips) which you could help yourself to throughout the day. There was also a fridge which was stocked with beer and pops - which you can help yourself to, and then write down your name so that you can be charged for it at the end of your stay. Cocktail style drinks were available during "Happy Hour" from 4:30-6 (I believe) and also during this time a snack was offered - quesadillas, pitas&dip, enchiladas etc). I would highly recommend the Daiquiri and Pina Colada - and I don't normally like Pina Colada's! However, it would have been nice if these drinks were available throughout the entire day as I do not drink beer.
The room was very comfortable with large sliding doors looking over the ocean and even an outdoor shower. Beautiful decor.

Three meals were provided:
1. For breakfast we had a choice (eggs and toast, omelette, pancakes, french toast), and every meal was served with a small plate of fruit and fresh juices and a basket of small muffins or pastries. My boyfriend found the portions to be a little small - especially if you have a big hike planned for the afternoon and want to fill up before heading out.
2. We were never around for lunch because we were out exploring, but to my understanding there is no choice.
3. For dinner we were served three course meals (app, main and dessert). The meals were extravagant. They were well prepared and for the most part we ate everything however we wish there was more choice in meals available.

It was raining one night around dinner time and Mary (hotel manager) drove up to our bungalow and drove us down to the dining area which was above and beyond and much appreciated.

We did the scuba diving tour at Canos Island. It was AMAZING! Definitely worth the money and the guide was incredible! We originally signed up for the Corcovado tour, however weren't able to attend - money was not refunded. We were not aware of this until after the fact (it did mention this on the tour description sheet, but we did not see it). This was a little frustrating, but not the fault of the hotel - just something to be aware of. We ended up hiking along the coast to a few private beaches instead.

Overall it was a great stay, and we loved our bungalow BUT we do feel that it is over priced - at least for us, because most of our day was spent exploring off the grounds, rather than spending time at the hotel. Also, we personally feel that this would be somewhere for couples to stay - it has a romantic feel about it. Would not recommend to a group of friends travelling together for example.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anderemily22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Tranquilo this past February. We were a family group of 8 and it was the perfect place for us. Mary, & all of the staff, went out of their way to make our stay comfortable & pleasant. From arranging tours, to providing transportation & accommodating a food allergy. The lodge is in the most beautiful setting- amongst lovely vegetation & with a gorgeous view from the infinity pool. The bungalows near the pool & bar area are very nice, with great outdoor showers. It's a bit of a hike getting up & down, as they are up on a hill, but it's worth it. The food was good & the Osa Peninsula is a very special place.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank yucatanbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

We stayed in one of the Cabanas, which there are only three. Right outside our room was a negative edge pool with a breathtaking view. Each cabana is its own separate building, with a front porch. On that porch is an amazing hammock and swing chair. The staff set up massages on the front deck of the room. This was amazing. Every meal at the lodge was to die for. I would highly recommend Tranquillo Lodge and will be going back soon.

Room Tip: Best Views, Cabana, Get the room on the upper level furthest south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017 via mobile

Tranquilo was wonderful. Our family of 3 stayed in cabin 8, which is the most private of the rooms - it's by itself, above the dining area but below the pool, which we found a great spot. As others have said, the atmosphere and environment are fantastic. We saw Scarlet Macaws, White-faced Capuchins and lots of cool lizards close by our cabin.
What set Tranquilo apart for us, though, was the service. One reason we chose Tranquilo was because it was significantly less expensive than the other lodges, but we felt like we were living in luxury the whole time! The staff were so friendly and thoughtful, and Mary (the manager) was able to advise us and book activities whenever we wanted. The guides the lodge uses are excellent (don't miss the Rio Claro adventure if you want an amazing day trip). And the food was mind-blowing ... not least because we could eat it all!! If, like us, you are vegetarian and have multiple food intolerances or allergies, you tend to feel a bit concerned about the idea of a place where all the meals are included. Tranquilo's cooks made us high-class meals every day (including snacks at the poolside in the afternoons) that were tailored to each of our dietary requirements. Mary eats vegan and gluten-free, so the staff are used to making special food already.
A couple of packing suggestions: bring reef shoes (not flip flops), as the beach is gritty and many activities involve wet landings. We also found that we didn't need the mosquito-proof gear we'd packed; when we went, in early April, there were no mozzies to be found even while walking in a creek on a night tour (thank you, frogs!).

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank authorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drake Bay
2.4 km away
Aguila de Osa
Aguila de Osa
#4 of 8 in Drake Bay
484 reviews
4.2 km away
Copa de Arbol Beach and Rainforest Resort
2.5 km away
Drake Bay Wilderness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
Jinetes de Osa Hotel
#8 of 8 in Drake Bay
360 reviews
33.7 km away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
323 reviews
2.4 km away
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
Drake Bay Getaway Resort
#1 of 8 in Drake Bay
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquilo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquilo Lodge

Address: 100 Meters North of Pirate Cove, Drake Bay, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Ojala)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Drake Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Drake Bay
Price Range: RM216 - RM237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Tranquilo Lodge Costa Rica/Drake Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing