We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Fortuna is a paradise!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Fortuna at Atitlan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

We spent the week before in the Caribbean but when my husband and I arrived in La Fortuna we thought we were in paradise!

The place is very well designed with all the details you can imagine (it is insane!)

The view for the lake is to die for. You can only understand when you are there.

We loved the environmental side of the La Fortuna like the coffee plantation, home made food, fresh food, vegetables,..

The service is the BIG PLUS! You will receive 5 stars service: the meals are served in your suite, at the main house or at the docks. You choose! On the first day they give you a local cellphone to use while you are staying there.

All staff is super helpful and always will smile at you. Makes you feel part of the family.

The only thing we would change is the suite floor. At night if someone walks to the bathroom or make a simple move will get a bit noisy because is made of wood. Eventually you will get used to it :)

Don’t skip this place!

We want to come back :)

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Filipa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We were so happy to host you and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be lucky enough to host you again in the future!

All the very best,

K & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

Beautiful small property in small private cove near Pana.

The manager during our stay was lovely and was very helpful.

We stayed in their new large villa which was expensive but well fitted out, whilst plants need to mature more to make it more private, it was great.

Food was better than expected.

Our only petty recommendation would be better quality towels and toiletries, particularly in the main suite where they want to charge $250us.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our place with the TA community. We appreciate the feed back and had been struggling finding good locally sourced toiletries, but have since found someone in Antigua, and have even created our own scent. Thank you for your feed back!

All the best,

K & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

This was my second trip to Guatemala including Lake Atitlán. This time I traveled with my partner, I chose La Fortuna based on the glowing reviews. Indeed, the reviews are on target. Kat and Steve have created a comfy yet elegant boutique experience nestled in a cove that is a short distance by boat from Pana. We were fortunate to stay in the new two-level suite with small plunge pool and several decks. The deck off the second floor bedroom is a gem. It is private, with a fine view of the lake and volcanoes.

The roomy bathroom offers a tub and shower. It also has a large deck which can be opened to the lake. Two lounge chairs are provided for sunning. Very nice.

The large main room is tastefully decorated with a comfortable couch, table, chair and more. The large glass doors and windows let in lots of light. I especially loved the view from couch through the old wood doors which open to the lake.

The combo of warm wood floors, bottle walls, and stone is very pleasing, A centerpiece of this suite is the floating staircase. And then there is the canoe affixed to the grand ceiling!

Second floor is cozy. We slept well in the comfortable bed. A good sized desk is provided too.

Meals at La Fortuna are excellent. Since we never left the property, we were able to sample a variety of offerings at breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bravo to the chef. In addition, La Fortuna provides an array of good wines and spirits.

Service is A+. It starts with Steve and Kat who answer emails promptly and thoroughly. They will arrange transfers to the property and onward. The staff responsible for housekeeping and meal service are terrific. Thanks to all.

What else makes La Fortuna special? The doggies! We fell in love with them.

There was only one challenge for us in our unit and that was the floating staircase. It is beautiful but can be difficult to navigate if one is older and has physical challenges, and that is especially so at night. Suggestion is to add railings/banisters on both sides. There are gorgeous staircases that retain their special quality and yet have at least one railing.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cvalent9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It was a pleasure having you guys stay with us over the holidays. We are so happy that you enjoyed the property, the dogs, the service and the room. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future, and we are putting up a railing soon - just trying to figure out a way to make it fit in with the decor. Thank you again for the feed back.

Best wishes,

K & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

This place is truly amazing. Kat and Steve are gracious hosts. They prepared a wonderful Christmas dinner including a full turkey, stuffing, pies, etc. for the 7 of us that were staying there. The attention to detail at this place is remarkable. The rooms are clean, beautiful, and modern. The views are spectacular. This is really one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed and it's relatively affordable compared to places of similar caliber. One of the biggest surprises was just how much scenic activity the Lake area presents. There are trails running in all directions connecting the tiny villages that dot that lake. I thought I was coming to chill out and relax. Instead, I found myself running the trails, exploring the lakeside villages, and taking dips in the clear water. I actually felt like I could have been in the Mediterranean: the blueness of the water, the villages (which are built up into cliffs like in Santorini), the fact that the lake is surrounded by volcanoes, and the lush, green vegetation and colorful flowers could all have passed for Italy or Greece. And it was so nice to come back to such a wonderful place like La Fortuna at the end of each day for happy hour. The breakfasts are superb (they grow their own coffee). Truly, a gem.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tomstaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It was such a pleasure hosting you over Christmas. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the hiking trails, and everything that the lake has to offer. We hope you are able to make it down here again in the future!

Thanks again for such kind words.

Warmest wishes,

K & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

La Fortuna is the most magical spot on the lake. Everything was incredible: location, food, hospitality, etc. Kat & Steve have built something very special and the dogs just make it that much better! If you’re looking for a place on the lake - this is it.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KatharineKmack, Owner at La Fortuna at Atitlan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us! It was such a pleasure hosting you and we hope to be lucky enough again to host you in the future!

Warmest wishes,

K & S

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Cruz La Laguna
0.5 km away
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature Reserve
Laguna Lodge Eco-Resort & Nature...
#3 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
517 reviews
2.6 km away
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
La Casa del Mundo Hotel
#1 of 1 in Jaibalito
697 reviews
7.6 km away
Lush Atitlan
Lush Atitlan
#1 of 3 in San Marcos La Laguna
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 km away
Hotel Toliman
Hotel Toliman
#1 of 1 in San Lucas Toliman
305 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel el Arca de Noe
Hotel el Arca de Noe
#5 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
155 reviews
2 km away
Hotel IslaVerde
Hotel IslaVerde
#4 of 5 in Santa Cruz La Laguna
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fortuna at Atitlan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fortuna at Atitlan

Address: Patzisotz Bay | Between Panajachel and Santa Cruz, Santa Cruz La Laguna 07014, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Region: Guatemala > Western Highlands > Solola Department > Lake Atitlan > Santa Cruz La Laguna
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Santa Cruz La Laguna
Price Range: RM 259 - RM 388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Lake Atitlán under the San Pedro, Atitlán, and Toliman volcanoes, La Fortuna at Atitlan is tucked into the private bay of Patzisotz, only a 5 minute boat ride from Panajachel. Here you can relax in our lush jungle and gardens, and take in the view of Central America’s most spectacular lake. Hiking, kayaking, scuba diving, and exploring the indigenous villages around the lake can be organized through the resort. Come and experience the natural and cultural wonder of Lago Atitlan at La Fortuna. Suites all have stunning private garden bathrooms with huge hot tubs, as well as a cozy loft with day bed and breathtaking views of the lake. Standard bungalows have a private garden bathroom with rain shower, and queen and single beds.We have a fire heated hot tub on the front of the property and a swim up floating dock. There is free wifi on the property, as well. We can help you arrange transportation from the airport or from/to other destinations in Guatemala, Mexico, Honduras and Belize. Please note this location is NOT ideal for those individuals who have mobility issues or for small children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Fortuna At Atitlan Guatemala/Santa Cruz La Laguna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing