We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Mirador Valle del General(San Isidro del General)(Great Value!)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Zima(San Isidro del General)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lucky's Hotel y Casino(San Isidro del General)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel del Sur(San Isidro del General)
US$59
US$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hospedaje Garcia(San Isidro del General)(Great Value!)
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
La Princesa Hotel(San Isidro del General)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thunderbird Hotel(San Isidro del General)
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Gran Vista Agroecological Farm.(San Isidro del General)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
US$559
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
113
15
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
15
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshummingbird feedersspecies of birdssan joseone nightwonderful placecosta ricalovely hostsself cateringmaintained trailsstayed nightssteep hillfriendly dogshigh elevationhiking trailsenjoy natureplenty of hot waterbeautiful setting
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We stayed 2 nights. For our two birding friends it was orgasmic. The Parakeet cabin overlooks a feeding table that was awash with all manor of birds and the veranda had hummingbird feeders that gave great pleasure to the photographer in our group. The cabins are very comfortable and the extensive grounds are beautifully landscaped. Nice clean pool. Rolf and Lis are lovely hosts and make a great breakfast. All in all, pretty perfect. Probably the nicest place we stayed in our 3 week trip.

Room Tip: Parakeet for birders
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ansbnks2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolomuco, Owner at Bosque del Tolomuco, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

We stayed for 2 nights in the Trogon cabin with our daughter. We really enjoyed seeing so many birds, encouraged into the grounds by the owners sensitive planting and use of hummingbird feeders and fruit on the many bird tables.
It was so wonderful rising at dawn to see the sun come up and watching the birds bringing the garden to life.
There is plenty of hot water in the shower; just listen to Rolf's instructions carefully.
Our only negative was the lack of a kettle or coffee maker in the room.
Also, there were a lot of birders about when we were there, due to the presence of a White Coquette, which filled the small car park.
But, all in all, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Hummingbird Lodge is situated away from the main accommodation and has two separate bedrooms plus a small kitchen but is only $5 dearer.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bootstrapbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolomuco, Owner at Bosque del Tolomuco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Thank you for your review. We greatly appreciate your input. Unfortunately we feel there is limited amount of space in some of the cabins for a coffee maker, however we are more than happy to make coffee for our clients at anytime of the day in our main dinning room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

We spent 8 days here in a cabin mainly self catering Lisl looked after us so well we had breakfast most days Lisl gave us a lift into town twice and showed us best places for supplies we had a wonderful time relaxing wonderful gardens and views from our cabin the birds were amazing the trails around the reserve were good and we managed to see lots of different birds we met some interesting people and even went for a swim in the pool Thanks Rolf ans Lisl for looking after us so well we hope to come back one day Elaine and Brian England

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Elaine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolomuco, Owner at Bosque del Tolomuco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Thank you Elaine and Brian for being such fun guests to talk to and thank you for taking the time to send this great review. Hope to see you next year.
All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

We absolutely loved our stay at Bosque del Tolomuco. Our room was cozy and very clean. We were very impressed by the bedding and qualify of sheets. We have never slept so well! The fresh air at 1600 meters above sea level is unbelievable. We felt very relaxed and enjoyed every minute of our stay.
The number of different birds we got to see was impressive. We loved sitting outside to eat our breakfast and watch the hummingbirds at the feeders. The breakfast is exceptional too. It's worth the extra money. Best breakfast of our entire trip!
We also got to enjoy the hiking trails and couldn't believe how well they are maintained. There is lots of see at Bosque del Tolomuco. We hope to go back again someday!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tpoole26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolomuco, Owner at Bosque del Tolomuco, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Thank you SO much!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

This is a beautiful place with very friendly and helpful hosts. Just 1 km away is an excellent restaurant, Mirador Del Valle. Bosque del Tolomuco has several feeding platforms for birds and it would be easy to stay all day watching the colorful birds. But if you have time, I recommend walking the well-maintained trails above the lodge. Our room was clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water for the shower. Rolf cooked us a delicious breakfast with great bread, something that is hard to find in Costa Rica! He also gave us great advice and directions to find a place we wanted to visit nearby. Please ignore the really negative recent review - there are bugs in Costa Rica and when you are staying near nature that should not be a surprise! And it is really rare to have hot water in the kitchen in Costa Rica. There is road noise, but it didn't bother us at night.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tolomuco, Owner at Bosque del Tolomuco, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2018

Thank You SO much for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews