We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
52
60
39
32
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
60
39
32
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chateau de la roque saint lo spa km
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2017

Chateau de la Roque, 50180 Hebecrevon, France is quite remote. The building is very impressive. The pool and hot tubs were out of order when we stayed there. Service is not so attentive and you will have to go and find people to assist. They probably can't help you out with dinner and nearby restaurants are over 10 kilometres away so you need to plan for this. Breakfast is great and basic. Rooms are clean but if you value your privacy check with hotel the bathroom arrangements. Our toilet just had a curtain separating it from the rest of the room so not so great if you have family all in the same room!

Room tip: Check the bathroom configuration for privacy.
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Remote but comfortable. Owner very nice. Staff friendly. Breakfast excellent with eggs boiled to your specs. Cheeses, breads and coffee. Dinner ok but we preferred St Lo. Don't take room 4 if someone above - noisy. Room 8 quietest with walk in shower. Hot water has brown tint - so don't drink. Beautiful 17th century chateau.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Malillysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

I had been given a 2 night + gourmet dinner voucher by my girlfriend and used it at the Chateau just after Christmas and found it to be a very pleasant place to stay. The staff were extremely helpful and cooked a delicious vegetarian meal for my gf, even though they were not given much notice. The room and bed was comfortable and the WiFi worked fine in out room, even though we were at the other end of the building from the reception. I imagine the place is very beautiful in spring/summer when the gardens would be in bloom.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMMarriner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

We had a great welcome, really friendly lady showed us to our room and let us put bikes inside an out building, always a relief. The room was clean but tired, the bathroom was large as was the room, but the bathroom was honestly last updated early 80's at least, or the decorator had an amazing sense of humour, or just did 'kitsch'. It functioned ok, but classic not were to put the bloody shower head, so after myself and 15 yr old had showered the entire room was soaked, toilet rolls and all. Only in the evening when brushing teeth Di we also realise that the taps where pumping out like a black pipe lining with the water, see picture. The building was very attractive, and a great setting, the slightly modern breakfast machines (coffee, drinks) seemed oddly out of place in what could have been a 17century monks dining room, with a large fire smouldering in the back wall. Breakfast was good. The super kind lady did a big bag of washing of cycle clothing, and for this I remain eternally grateful. Her English was good enough for this type of exchange and that all went smoothly. A big downer in the evening though, the town of Saint Lo is about 6/7 miles away so after a 55 mile fully loaded ride in the day, too far to cycle. So we asked how much a cab would be to town to eat and return. She kindly rang them and got a price - and this was written down as €30 euro round trip all in. That seemed fair enough, so off we set. He charged me the thirty as we got out and we arranged a rendezvous for a few hours, to which he turned up spot on time (I know why now) and then when we got back to the chateau (less than 10 mins as its all motorway). He charged another €30 euros. So for two burgers we'd paid just shy of €100 euro, so think about this location unless you have transport. We ate in a restaurant in St Lo, which was ok. See other review.
So in summary, interesting, but neglected, nice people, decent breakfast, but beware of location.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nobsterwrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Fabulous setting and buildings. Good value too. Had no problem with the breakfast (as other reviewers have.) Of course it has faded and is not city chic. But that's part of its charm. And I guess that's what it comes down to. If you prefer great but faded furnishings to characterless modernity this is the place for you. If you don't IBIS is down the road. It was a perfect base for our party which was in Normandy for the Duo TT.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews