We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DOWNHILL SLIDE CONTINUES”
Review of Myrtie Mae's

Myrtie Mae's
Ranked #12 of 136 Restaurants in Eureka Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Reservations
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Over the past two or three years, the quality of the food at Myrtie Mae's has declined, bit by bit. Having been unable to patronize Myrtie's often in the past year, our dinner last night came as a shock. I was there specifically for the potato wedges and the hot-fudge brownie. My partner ordered the chicken-fried chicken. Apparently as an economic measure, steamed broccoli is no longer part of he CFC meal. It was necessary to ask for extra gravy (provided at a modest extra charge). The chicken was a pathetic little slab and kind of greasy. My potato wedges were dry and overcooked, and not very flavorful. Lots of ketchup helped. It's my impression that prices are higher than they were a year ago and that the servings are less generous. Our cheerful and always-reliable server, Cassie, did a first-rate job in preparing our two hot-fudge brownies. In the past several months, we have ordered take-out fried chicken from MM's, and each time the quality diminished. The pieces are small and the fowl itself lacks flavor. I don't know what's going on in that kitchen, but someone had better whip it into shape. (Hear that, Steve?).No more lunches, dinners or take-out from this formerly loyal and frequent customer. Also, in the past two years, I have noticed a diminution of the former local "regulars". Randy, you need these people in order to make it through the off-season, It was good to see many of the old staff still on the job, but rather dismaying to realize how much turnover there has been. Itg was nice to visit with Tonie, Patsy, and recently-returned Corey. Randy, you're still a prince, but pull it together,

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank george m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

We went to Myrtie Mae's about nine years ago and were thrilled that they had chicken livers on the menu. They did not disappoint us! Fast forward nine years and they still have them on the menu and they are every bit as good as we remember them. They also have a great salad bar. If memory serves me correctly, we sat at the same table as we did nine years ago. It was meant to be! I would definitely go back for this delicious food and great service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Myrtie Mae's, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for your review! That dish is a very popular one! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to having you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

after being on the road for awhile and after checking in we were hungry. Had fried chicken dinner. Came with soup and salad bar. Was great,

Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Myrtie Mae's, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Thank you for your kind review of Myrtie Mae's. We are happy you enjoyed our delicious food! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

My cousin and I ate here for breakfast on our trip to Eureka Springs. We ate breakfast here one morning. The service was good, and the waitress was very friendly. The food wasn't horrible, it was just kind of sub-par. The bacon was pretty tough like jerky, the hashbrowns were greasy, and my cousin said his French toast was "very stingy" because there was very little of it. I hate leaving poor reviews, but it just wasn't a very good breakfast :(

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Myrtie Mae's, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for eating at Myrtie Mae's Cafe. We do appreciate your business. We also strife to keep our customers happy. Please give us another try and if you find anything unsatisfactory just let your waitress know and they will do their best to make it right.
Again thank you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Saturday night is prime rib night with special $16.95 prime rib but must go early, they do run out sometimes. Dinner starts at 4:00 pm don't wait till 6:00 you may not get the prime rib!

Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanda L, Guest Relations Manager at Myrtie Mae's, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thank you for your nice review and for eating at Myrtie Mae's Cafe. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Myrtie Mae's also viewed

 

Been to Myrtie Mae's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing