We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to visit with school age children” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eureka Springs & North Arkansas Railway

Eureka Springs & North Arkansas Railway
Grove, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to visit with school age children”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

We were studying the train era, when I took my 12 year old daughter here. She was fascinated by the trains and the memorabilia. We took the train ride and got to smash a penny on the tracks. If you go, listen to the tour guide. Not only was ours very entertaining but extremely knowledgeable!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Tess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    102
    61
    19
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
504 reviews
260 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Short ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

If you want a long ride on an old railroad, skip it. This is a pleasant SHORT ride but not the most scenic. Up and back. 3 hrs. If they have the steam engine, maybe worth it. If not foregettitabout it! They have a seasonal dinner trip that might be worth looking into.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank jtchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“OK not as good as most rail excursions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

One out of Bransons is much prettier ride and this sin;t close to the Durango Silverton ride. Similar to Fremont train in Nebraska or the one that runs into the plains out of Winnepeg. Conductor is a great story teller and it is kind of fun. They let you smash coins on the trak so that made it OK for me.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Luke1lacey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable for the rail enthusiast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Visited the ES&NA Railway this past weekend. Beautiful old depot, lots of great pictures, interesting collection of rolling stock. The best part about the place was how hands on it was and how friendly the staff was. They let my five year old help start the diesel locomotive for our excursion and they let our yellow lab ride the train with us. There was a nice little gift shop, a little overpriced for t-shirts, but nonetheless a nice selection of train themed stuff. There is a little snack shop and you can bring it on the train for the ride. The conductor was enthusiast and friendly and full of interesting facts. We also got to put pennies on the track and watch the diesel flatten them. It's a simple place, the ride is short and not incredibly scenic, but the people and hands on experiences made it worth the visit, especially if you like railroad history.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank skytravlr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Train/dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

We wanted to do this the last time we were in Eureka Springs but didn't. The train ride is a little cheesey but fun. The food was wonderful, champagne was very good too. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful. They joked with us and saw to our every need.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank ljb1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eureka Springs & North Arkansas Railway also viewed

 

Been to Eureka Springs & North Arkansas Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing