We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
eDreams
FindHotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
119
44
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
119
44
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews waffles friendly hosts hot water pot very nice place to stay breakfast was excellent fontana spa comfortable bed the location is perfect private bathroom skyr guesthouse pillows cheese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2019

Small guest house, very cute. Room had a large bed and pretty linens as well as a small refrigerator and private bathroom. Owner was friendly and helpful. Good breakfast at the cafe the next morning. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robincK2268UL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 29 October 2018

This was such a quaint guest house! The rooms were so well decorated and the bed so comfy (probably the comfiest of our whole trip)! The bathroom, shared, is large and modern. The hosts were lovely, and changed our room to the one that looks towards the north in the hopes that we could catch a glimpse of the Northern Lights, and we did! They also provided a to-go breakfast for a fee, which was much appreciated so we could get on the move as early as possible in the morning. I would highly recommend staying at Galleri Laugarvatn!

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EEBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 September 2018

This is a small bed and breakfast with 3 rooms with a shared bathroom. It’s clean and high have a high standard. Here the location is everything. It’s close to Bruarfoss, Geysir and Gullfoss. We highly reccomend the dairy farmer down the street, Efstidalur II!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeHikeTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 20 September 2018

I wasn't sure what to expect as we drove up to this cute little place in Laugarvatn. The owner was away, but had left us a personalized note by the front door with instructions about how to get into our room. The room was right next to the restaurant/reception area, so we found it quickly and let ourselves in and ahhhhhhhh....

What a pretty little room! I was delighted by the decor and all the thoughtful little touches throughout. It was small, but mighty.

The furniture and decorations all felt very upscale and modern and the bathroom was well-equipped. The bed was a nice king-sized bed and was very comfortable. Our room opened right out to the parking area along the road, and had a little front porch area, making it feel like a little rustic cabin by the lake (which I guess it was!)

We were pretty much on our own all night--not even sure if anyone else was staying in any of the other 4 rooms--but in the morning, the owners' nephew welcomed us into the small restaurant area, where he had laid out a nice little breakfast and brewed us fresh coffee to order. There was a spa and gift shop attached, and I was able to buy a couple of handmade gifts for people in there.

I really liked this place and would recommend it without hesitation!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Galleri Laugarvatn is a comfortable mini motel owned by Joél and his wife. Close to the lake, on the edge of this tiny college town. We checked in and then left immediately for Gullfoss and Geysir, just 30 minutes away. Our room #5 was clean, quiet, cosy, with good quality bed linen. The bathroom has a rain shower. There's a quirky kettle which didn't appear to have an on off switch. I forgot to query that. They have staff, including Filip, who were very friendly. We skipped the breakfast in their café both mornings as it didn't look extraordinary and was not included in the room price anyway. Frankly it was fun to go out for breakfast. We went early to Thingvillir Park visitors center instead at 8.00 a.m. and had good coffees and fresh baguette with cheese and ham, that were just being delivered. Really quite good. The second morning we got on our way early again and within 30 minutes we were at a delightful joint called Kaffi Krus in Selfoss.

Bottom line, Joél and his wife run a very nice little 7 room motel in a very, very convenient location.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BobOxenburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews