We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveller rating
15
58
41
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
15
58
41
6
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 121 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Hotel was reasonably nice - great having our own bathroom again! Friendly staff. Clean. No breakfast. My only surprise was that there were no blackout curtains. Every other hotel had them! Easy walking to a spa and a very nice restaurant called the Linden. Did not try the restaurant at the hotel. Very nice lounge area.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 August 2017

We had a lovely family meal one evening in the restaurant (we werent hotel guests).

There's a simply brilliant view over the lake, excellent Icelandic service and really good home-style locally-sourced food (actually my fish was from the lake!). Portion size was generous.

Highly recommended
ps right next to some impressive geothermal baths !

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Y1512KUsimonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Good start: friendly staff at checkin. The room was surprising large. A sink in the room - the toiletts and showers as almost on the corridor with others. Don`t expect a lot of sleep while being in Iceland. New arrivals always wake you up. The showers are large and comfortable.
The view from the house is really nice. You overlook large country side. The place is a home for students - normally. So - there is space.
The breakfast was the biggest surprise: really good. I mean, we have seen others. Everything fresh - and even a waffle machinery. So - in total - NICE.

Room tip: take building number 3
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Josef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

The rooms were clean. I was in a double that was tight. I hit my head on the bottom of a wall mounted shelf twice while getting out of bed. The kids were in another double that looked like it was designed for two beds and not one, and the shelves in that room were not a hazard. The pictures on tripadvisor are representative. This is a secondary school in the winter for kids age 16-20 (soon 19) where the kids board for the school year. In the summer it is used as a hotel. The beds are comfortable. The blankets were nice. They use duvet covers instead of a top sheet, which seems standard for Iceland. The dining room is large. The food is decent. We ate there for dinner and for the included breakfast and everything was tasty. The hallways are large and wide. The stairwells are spacious and some are spiral. The water has no sulfur smell. The radiators worked fine, and are good clothes dryers. The views out the windows were very nice. The parking lot and sidewalks were slightly worn. Otherwise everything was in good repair. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank haroldl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 19 June 2017

This hotel is basically a school with a dorm, that is converted into a hotel during summer. The rooms meet the bare minimum requirements for being a hotel (bed, small wardrobe, nightstand, bathroom).
You can see and feel that the room is usually occupied by students. For our stay they just moved the two separate beds together and moved the two desks to the left and right of the bed, using them as nightstands.
Breakfast was not bad, but not good either.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews