We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Ballinasloe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Pillar House offers a comfortable atmosphere with first class food and drink served by friendly staffWe pride ourselves on providing delicious homemade wholesome cooking with a range to suit every taste & pocket!There is live entertainment every weekend and our page is updated each week with our upcoming performers.We have a very special Traditional Music Session on a Sunday Evening at 6pm. The session is led by Roscommon men John Wynne on Flute and Frank Kelly on Piano Accordion and are also regularly joined by Patsy Hanley on Flute.As well as a full Bar & Restaurant there are also 15 En-suite Rooms, including family rooms are
Reviewed 8 February 2018 via mobile

Quiet unassuming spot, but excellent food. Sitting beside a welcome roaring fire, on a very cold icey night, 8 of us had an amazing meal. Everyone thoroughly delighted with quality of food and service. So much so, we went back the next night with even more friends. If travelling to ballinasloe, you have to check this place out.

Thank eadaoin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PillarHouse, Manager at Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi Eadaoin,
Many thanks for your lovely review of The Pillar House and for taking the time to post. It's always a pleasure to welcome people for the first time and also repeat customers - both of which you were it appears ! Many thanks for your valued custom and delighted that you enjoyed it so much that you came back again. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Many thanks again, Eadaoin and best regards
Kathryn Gibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

Food and drinks were excellent and Anthony was a gem! We had beef and mushroom stew as well as fresh caught cod. Both were delicious. Thank you!

Thank Darlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PillarHouse, Manager at Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi Darlene,
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Pillar House and delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us. It is our pleasure to "thank you" for your valued custom and hope that maybe you will come back to us for another visit some day.
Best regards
Kathryn Gibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Following some trip adviser recommendations I visited with my wife and three children. From the start the staff engaged and made us feel at home. The food was excellent (Steak on the bone was best I've had in a long time and I visit quite a few hotels/restaurants in my line of work. We all really enjoyed some live traditional Irish music in the back of the pub. The Guinness was a nice partner for my steak. Well done to Billy and his staff for engaging and making us definitely come back when I return to Balinasloe. My only disappointment was that I only found this place on my last night ! Call for reservation on table as the place fills up quick.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PillarHouse, Manager at Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Hi Patrick,
First of all apologies for the delay in responding to your review and to your very kind words. I remember you from the evening you were with us as we had a Trad for Charity event, the proceeds going to two local worthy causes. It's always a great fun evening and great to see so many people get involved both young and old. We have a great team working with us in The Pillar House and I'm glad you enjoyed your food and the Guinness ! Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards
Kathryn Gibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

Fantastic place to have a meal or a drink. Great food, great atmosphere and friendly staff. Would recommend a visit to anyone.

Manager recommended the stuffed chicken special and he was right. Absolutely fantastic.

Will be calling back here next time I'm in Ballinasloe.

Thank Stevek2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PillarHouse, Manager at Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi Steve,
We are delighted that we were able to provide you with good food and service and for your recommendation. We pride ourselves on good food and friendly customer service. Looking forward to seeing you back next time you're in town.
Best regards
Kathryn Gibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

Visited on Dec 22 2017. We had the Christmas menu. All the starters were divine especially the spinach panciotti. The main courses were lovely especially the turkey & roast veg. Chocolate brownie was to die for! Nice atmosphere and very friendly, helpful staff. Great value too. Would highly recommend this place!

Thank EilisMaloney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PillarHouse, Manager at Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Hi there Eilis,
Many thanks for your fantastic review, your custom and the time you have taken to post your comments are much appreciated. The team, both kitchen and front of house, have already seen your comments and they were delighted. Reviews are a great yard stick of our standards and gives us an aid to monitor our food and service. Thank you again for your review and looking forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Best regards
Kathryn Gibbons

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Ballinasloe, County Galway
 
Ballinasloe, County Galway
 
Ballinasloe, County Galway
Ballinasloe, County Galway
 

Been to Gibbons' Pillar House Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing