We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic house in a great location”
End of terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
End of terrace
Feature fire place with gas fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
End of terrace
Feature fire place with gas fire
Dining in style
Some sea glass collected on the beach across the road
Coffee in the morning
2 X triple rooms
Masterbedroom
Top floor with amazing village and mountain view
Cosy single room with Mourne mountain view
View of Slieve Foy from the back of Foy View House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Carlingford, Cooley Peninsula, County Louth

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Deirdre T
Belfast
1 review
“Fantastic house in a great location”
Reviewed 1 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Myself and my 2 sisters (with associated 6 children ranging from 14 to 25 years) are just back from yet another stay at Foy View House - like all our previous visits it was great and lived up to all our expectations.

The house itself is a credit to Eimer, it’s one of the best houses we have ever stayed in, she has thought of everything from practical essential kitchen utensils/crockery to bikes, BBQ’s and beach balls, all of which just make for a great stay. The house is clean and spacious, the decor very tasteful and all in all it’s very comfortable and homely – it’s like staying at home, but not being at home, if you know what I mean!

Carlingford is a great spot for a holiday, long or short, and with so many local facilities (restaurants, shops, golf, water activities and pampering) all within walking distance, it definitely caters for all tastes and ages.

Can’t wait for our next stay at Foy View House!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How well the house catered for our needs
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2012
Thank you Deirdre, hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Eimer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny S
Rennes, France
1 review
“Favourite 2 weeks of every Summer!”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

My family, friends and I spend up to two weeks in Foy View House every summer, and have done for over 6 years now. Its always the highlight of my summer and I couldn't imagine a summer without 2 weeks in Foy View! Its an amazing house, so well equipped, comfy, beautifully decorated and is a home away from home for us every summer. Carlingford village is only a 2 minute walk from the house and despite it being a small village there's plenty to do and see, night or day. This year we climbed Slieve Foy, cycled to Greenore for picnics, went pier jumping almost every day, did activities with Carlingford Adventure Centre and had multiple BBQ's on the patio out the back. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about the house. I never want to leave it at the end of our two weeks there and always immediately look forward to my next stay at Foy View House... Even though its always a whole year away! Thanks Eimer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngelaTip...
Clonmel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“home from home”
Reviewed 30 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

My family (plus extended family, friends etc.) have stayed at Foy View House for five years now – what a house! It’s so like home from home – so many extras, there’s nothing Eimer hasn’t included. It’s spotless, tastefully decorated and very comfortable and I can’t say enough good things about it! There are great facilities and beautiful restaurants in the village which is only a 2 minute walk away. From the first time we started going to Carlingford the kids have enjoyed lovely simple activites such as crab fishing , searching the beach for treasure, finding ‘secret coves’ for picnics, tennis, pier jumping, cycling and in more recent years, campfires and sing songs on the beach after dark! I love to park my car and not move it for the duration of my holiday except maybe to drive to Greenore Golf Club, a great golf course only 5 minutes away. This year a gang of 14 of us managed to climb to the top of Slieve Foy on a lovely sunny day and rewarded ourselves with a lovely bbq in the back garden of Foy View House which was great fun. My kids are older now - 20, 17 and 14 and no matter what the summer brings, they still wouldn’t miss their holiday in Foy View House for the world! Well done Eimer – keep up the good work!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: how homely and comfortable the house was
Liked least: Nothing negative about this property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2012
Thank you Angela, I ll reserve your usual two weeks next summer, and we might even see you in the meantime?!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annpatric...
mayobridge
1 review
“first class in every category”
Reviewed 31 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We, six adults, had a fantastic stay in this beautiful house, situated in an idyllic part of Ireland, surrounded by warm, friendly helpful locals. This house is so tastefully decorated throughout, from the large sitting room/kitchen/dining room to all the bedrooms, that we would like to call this house our own. It is well equipped with all mod cons and has an attractive patio area equipped with bbq etc to the rear. It is within two minutes walking distance from the quaint village of Carlingford with numerous restaurants, cafes, pubs all of which supply delicious food and drink of the highest standard. From our own extensive travel experience we have no hesitation in recommending this house and location to all our friends, young and old, from far and wide, there is something for everyone. Special word of thanks to Eimer, the owner, who made our stay even more enjoyable due to her Irish charm and beauty.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2012
Thank you for your comments Pat, hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patrick j
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable and spacious house in attractive location”
Reviewed 17 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

As an extended family of 7 adults we had a very enjoyable week's holiday in this spacious and comfortable house. It is well equipped with all mod cons as well as an attractive BBQ patio to the rear. Located in a peaceful cul-de- sac that is within a short walk of the sights and numerous restaurants and pubs in the scenic seaside village of Carlingford.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: see my comments above
Liked least: no dislikes
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$234
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing