We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 November 2017

I've stayed here before but not for a few years so I thought I'd review again. The hotel is well positioned for the town centre. The bar and its staff are friendly and welcoming. The breakfast staff are a little rushed off their feet but the breakfast is very good. They even have a chilled cabinet with smoked trout, crab and smoked salmon. Sadly they don't do scrambled egg (or didn't the morning I was there) or it would have been perfect. The sleep quality was great, parking free and wifi fast. All round a great stay.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel_12, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear John M,

Thanks very much for taking the time to write such a lovely complimentary review of our Hotel, Lodges & Trinity Leisure Spa. Your feedback is important to us and I've passed your praise on to the relevant departments. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Warmest regards,

Helen McLennan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Great National Abbey Court Hotel, Lodges & Trinity Leisure Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

This hotel was lovely in every way except for the food. It's like being at home with the waitressing staff very mammy like but you're almost waiting for them to tell you get up yourself and get it. The food was shocking. Caesar salad that can't be a chicken CS as it's made already! Cold soup. A combo soup and roll that arrived separately. Roll when I asked what's on it was told chicken! It's tasteless plain breaded chicken and coleslaw. Side salad black and lifeless from being prepared sitting In fridge and Desert was soggy freezing dressed up with lots of sauce!!!! Tea ...... pot arrived with no tea bag!!! May improve or business/conference attendees will complain and go elsewhere I suspect on breaks

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank 3ce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel_12, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear 3ce,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and I have spoken to the relevant departments. We have an excellent reputation for our bar and restaurant and apologise if it wasn't to your liking. Hopefully you'll come again and we'll get a chance to make it up to you.

Warmest regards,

Helen McLennan
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017 via mobile

Had lunch here, just wanted a carvery, as was on the road with business, they had only the sit down order from menu service, I got the salmon and trout, with salad and chips, it was amazing, the sauce dressing the plate was so nice, and unusual, the plate, and general presentation was first class, this was fine dining for lunch which I did not expect, well done to the chef.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank leinsterdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel_12, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Leinsterdude,

Thanks very much for taking the time to write a complimentary review of our Hotel, Lodges & Trinity Leisure Spa. Your feedback is important to us and I've passed your praise on to the relevant departments. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Warmest regards,

Helen McLennan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Great National Abbey Court Hotel, Lodges & Trinity Leisure Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

We visited in March this year for a special family event. The rooms were very old looking and could do with an updating- however, they were spacious. We ate in the restaurant that night, I personally loved my food (Duck and a Sticky Toffee Pudding dessert), however, one family member ordered the steak which ended up being practically inedible! It was a lump of fat on the plate. Other than that there were great leisure centre facilities and good service.

The biggest shock of all was most definitely a room that was stumbled upon when the kids were playing hide and seek in the spacious area next to our room (see photos below). There were empty cans, used opened condoms lying on the floor, cigarette butts and blankets. Now.. I don't know if this was from staff or guests or what it was - but it was absolutely shocking. It was as if it had been like that for days or weeks and not one member of staff had spotted this or maybe they were all ignoring it?? I did contact the general manager regarding this and he offered to rectify it by offering me a discount on my next stay, which I wasn't sure I was going to have but it was a nice gesture. However, my birthday was coming up and I absolutely loved the town, so I decided to email to which I got no reply.

It shows a complete lack of customer service and attention to detail from the hotel and it's staff!! The initial email from the manager was obviously just to prevent a review being put up for the public to see.

Anyway, I'm not going to tell anyone to not visit the hotel, simply look at the disgusting pictures below and judge for yourself. This was the most vile thing I have ever come across in a hotel and if that happened in the hotel I work in I would be ashamed!! An unpromising email from the general manager was definitely not enough to rectify this.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Niamh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel_12, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Niamh C,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel even if it was 7 months after your stay. It seems that in the main you were very happy with the service you received bar a steak that wasn't to your liking and of course the storage cupboard.

The room your kids stumbled upon is actually a cupboard store for rubbish, damaged soft furnishings and furniture not in use and has a sign on it saying no entry. I'm very surprised you left your children to play unsupervised. We are a family friendly hotel but children should always be supervised in my opinion.

The general manager did indeed offer you a complimentary stay when you said you were not happy and showed him your pictures. He has received no email from you requesting another stay as you have stated in your review. I have searched the inbox of other members of staff including reception and no-one has an email from you requesting for you to come and stay again. With the shock you suffered on your last visit I’m surprized you would want to come and stay again.

However, feedback is very important to us and I have spoken to the relevant departments. We have received a certificate of excellence on Tripadvisor for 2017 as we did last year too. These are from positive reviews guests have left us on Tripadvisor. Our humble 3 star hotel will continue to strive to give each guest a great experience.

Warmest regards,

Helen McLennan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Great National Abbey Court Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

I wasn't sure what to expect after being asked by reception if I had "booked with the right name" as they couldn't find our booking, but I must admit that the level of service we received was excellent, friendly and attentive to our every need.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank emgmike72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AbbeyCourtHotel_12, Manager at Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear emgmike72,

Thanks very much for taking the time to write such a lovely complimentary review of our Hotel, Lodges & Trinity Leisure Spa. Your feedback is important to us and I've passed your praise on to the relevant departments. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future.

Warmest regards,

Helen McLennan
Sales & Marketing Manager
Great National Abbey Court Hotel, Lodges & Trinity Leisure Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nenagh
18.7 km away
The Killaloe Hotel
The Killaloe Hotel
#2 of 3 in Killaloe
275 reviews
29.5 km away
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
18.1 km away
Lakeside Hotel and Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.5 km away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
107 reviews
33.6 km away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
416 reviews
31.5 km away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa

Address: Dublin Rd, Nenagh, Ireland (Formerly Abbey Court Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Nenagh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nenagh
Price Range: RM 312 - RM 842 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great National Abbey Court Hotel, Lodges & Trinity Leisure Spa is a family owned business, set within its own mature gardens on a five acre site on the edge of the historic, centrally located town of Nenagh. We are the mid-west of Ireland's leading superior 3 star hotel with 4 star self-catering lodges, easily accessed just off the main M7 Dublin to Limerick Road, 90 minutes from Dublin and 30 minutes from Limerick. Nenagh is famed for its historic Heritage Centre, Friary Castle, Arts Centre, Local Crafts & Fresh Produce Markets, Woolen Mill, Award Winning Eateries and its stunning selection of Boutique Shops for both Men & Women. Only a few minutes away is the breath taking scenery of Lough Derg with its ample facilities such as boating, cruising, sailing, fishing and outdoor adventure centre. Other activities in the area include walking, hiking, biking, hunting, horse racing, greyhound racing, horse riding, golf and pitch and putt. If you go a little further afield you can tour the Golden Vale, Rock of Cashel, Holycross Abbey, Bunratty Folk Park, Birr Castle Demesne, Cliffs of Moher & much more due to our central location. From conferencing to a leisure break, family stay, wedding or other events, valued guests can enjoy superb facilities combined with a great base and the highest level of comfort and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Court Nenagh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing