We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice basic rooms”
Review of Mullingar B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mullingar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mullingar B&B
Ranked #14 of 18 Mullingar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 March 2016

nice place , basic rooms , i stayed here some years ago and again recently, this b & b has had a makeover, my single room was fine but it had no bedside locker , breakfast was served in the cafe , which is also open to the public , lovely staff , b & b breakfast is cereal and tea and toast which was fine for me as i am a vegetarian, there is a back entrance which they should tell you about when you book as i did not know this and i was waiting for about 20 mins to get in and it was freezing

Stayed: February 2016
Thank lilly275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
There are newer reviews for Mullingar B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2016

Cold room, no wardrobes, no dressing table, even no cold water in tap !!!!!!
Help yourself cold breakfast with no waitress in attendance.
Many other b&b,s in town which I was told later are much better.

Stayed: March 2016
1  Thank 3kevmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MullingarBB, Owner at Mullingar B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

3kevmac I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our heating is on 24/7 to ensure the rooms are always warm, at times some guests turn off the radiators so maybe that was the case? On very cold nights we can provide additional heaters in the rooms. It is unfortunate you did not make us aware of this issue as we could have resolved it.
All our rooms have either wardrobes or hanging facilities and a dressing table under the mirror or a freestanding desk. I apologise for the cold water, again unfortunately we weren't aware wasn't working. With buildings as big as ours, there are always maintenance issues which we try our best to resolve as quickly as possible. Our staff begin work between 7.00-7.30 Tue to Sat and 8.30-9.00 on Sun and Mon so there is always someone available for assistance.
On making our reservation you would have been informed that our rooms include Continental breakfast and a hot breakfast is available Tue- Sat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile

Lovely little place, limited parking tho, staff were extremely polite and helpful, would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to visit Mullingar for a night. Very central and everything only one minute walk away from where your bedrooms are situated. Beds are comfortable and power shower was unreal. I've had a lot worse stays in big hotels.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Blake19052011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MullingarBB, Owner at Mullingar B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Hi Blake19052011.
Thank you very much for your kind review. We endeavour to make our guests stay as enjoyable as possible. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016 via mobile

On a positive note it is in the centre of mullingar. The standard of the accommodation is poor, it has not been upgraded since Joe Dolan was a boy. The carpets bathrooms and furniture are tired and worn out. The single glazed windows are draughty, the room was cold.
I was told it was a continental breakfast when I arrived, so don't expect a cooked breakfast. It is expensive at €50 for the standard of accommodation on offer. There is much better accommodation available, so I won't be returning.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Aidan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

we stayed here for one night and it was definitely not good. well, the room size was ok, tv and a little fridge available. but the heating was on max when we arrived and it wasn't possible to turn it down. the curtains were dusty and surely haven't been washed for months. the bathroom was very old and the cold tap at the sink did not work AT ALL! the hose in the shower was made from plastics and you had to hold it the right way or it would bend and let no water come through. breakfast was continental, but no toaster available, so we only had some muesli. and this "service" has cost us €70? price and quality obviously didn't match. we were very disappointed and would definitely not recommend this b&b.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Katharina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MullingarBB, Owner at Mullingar B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Hi Katharina P.
After speaking to the staff members that were on duty during your stay they informed us that you checked in on a very cold and wet day and requested the heating to be turned up. There are always staff members on site that would have gladly turned down the heat for you if you were too warm but you didn't request this.
We are currently renovating the B and B and have successfully renovated 7 out of 13 rooms so far, because we are so busy, it takes time to renovate all rooms/bathrooms. Again the cold tap could have been rectified if we were made aware of the issue. The staff member on duty the morning of your departure clearly remembers serving you toast herself along with cereal orange juice and tea/coffee. Another staff member also kindly assisted you to your car with your luggage. €70 is B and B prices in Mullingar with some charging even more. The price would have been quoted to you on the time of booking. After our hospitality to you by turning up the heat because you were cold and wet, serving you your breakfast and assisting you with your luggage I am disappointed to see such a review on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mullingar hotels
0.5 km away
Annebrook House Hotel
Annebrook House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Mullingar
619 reviews
2.6 km away
Mullingar Park Hotel
Mullingar Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Mullingar
417 reviews
0.1 km away
Greville Arms Hotel
Greville Arms Hotel
#4 of 6 in Mullingar
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 km away
Crookedwood House
Crookedwood House
#5 of 6 in Mullingar
8 reviews
0.2 km away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#6 of 6 in Mullingar
113 reviews
2.4 km away
Marlinstown Court
Marlinstown Court
#2 of 18 in Mullingar
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mullingar B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mullingar B&B

Address: 9 Oliver Plunkett Street, Mullingar, Ireland (Formerly Wry Mill Guest House)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Westmeath > Mullingar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Mullingar
Price Range: RM251 - RM352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mullingar B&B is a very high standard bed and breakfast purposely built to cater for guests. Our bed & breakfast is situated in the heart of the historical and cultural town of Mullingar. Luxuriously furnished, all the rooms are with en-suite, cable T.V and tea /coffee making facilities.The beds are fitted with orthopedic mattresses for comfort and a good night sleep. Internet, fax and telephone are also available upon request. This fantastic B&B is ideal for a weekend break away or a mid-week business trip, with no effort being spared on making all guests’ feel welcome. On arrival you will be warmly welcomed and after settling in your rooms we would be happy to reserve dinner for you in one of the many quality restaurants found in Mullingar today. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing