We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
Destinia.com
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
16
21
14
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
16
21
14
8
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2015

If you like historic buildings, then you will like this place. The hotel is placed in a old building. I personally don't like squeaky wooden floors with less wall-outlets to charge my pc and phone. The hotel is situated bang opposite the station. This means it is very accessible. However, this also means that you get to hear trains passing-by. The hotel staff was so considerate to place ear-plugs in the room without even asking.

The hotel staff also runs the bar where you can have a nice drink. The staff was very friendly.

Room tip: Rooms facing the railway track will have more noise at night.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ReizigerSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile

We had to nights in this wonderful and charming hotel in Halden. The staff was very friendly and very helpful so we got all the help we wanted.
The beds (in delux rooms) could be regulated electronic and had good comfort. The room was large and nice too. Breakfast was very good.
All in all a nice stay and we can recomend this hotel to other guests.

Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Bjørn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Great hotel with excellent location in the middle of Halden. This is an old style hotel but with most of the modern hotels perks. Rooms good, personell fine but one of them somewhat lacking in language skills. Great breakfast. And location makes it easy to reach resturants etc in the citycentre. Trainstation 10 m away so perfect for guests travelling by train.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mossa59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnie G, Eier at The Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2015

Dear guest

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards
Winnie Gjerdalen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2015

The hotel was interesting...the interior kind of funky. It was clean and spacious for a family of four. As a family of four it is tough to get one large room when traveling in Europe. This was a good sized room with an adjoining bedroom...one bath. The staff here was very nice and it was good in terms of its location to the city center. However, our room was within a stones throw of the railroad track and a road surprisingly highly traveled by large trucks. Even with the windows closed, it could be very loud all hours of the night. The breakfast was just ok. The elevator was broken and we had to haul our luggage up AND down flights of stairs to get to our second floor room...like I said, a funky setup.

Room tip: Get as far away as you can from the train tracks.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 April 2015

Cozy hotel a few steps from the heart of Halden. Very nice staff and excellent breakfast. Walkingdistance to all the good restaurants and the fantastic castle that overviews the town. I recommend the restaurant Sjöbris five minutes from the hotel.

Room tip: There could be a bit noicy from the streets in nighttime but probably southside is quieter.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews