We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I actually loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Palacio de Carmona
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Carmona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2017

In all honestly we stayed at this hotel because it was not too far from the Seville airport and we had a very early morning flight home. I hate airport hotels and Carmona is well located. The fancy Parador was sold out (New Year’s weekend) and, anyway, we did not want to spend a lot of money on a single night. As the other reviews make clear, people either love or HATE this hotel and all for the same reasons. I agree that it was deeply flawed – we had no heat in our bedroom and had to get a space heater – but its authentic eccentricities charmed me nonetheless. Our check in process was made highly enjoyable by the man at the front desk who spoke English and promised to get up at 4 am to make us coffee. Though this did not happen, he did email me to say he had been up at 4:15! It felt like Miss Havisham’s but Spanish style. Read the reviews and then expect the unexpected.

Room Tip: What can I say....choose wisely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank McWarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

From the moment we entered this house we could only think about how fortunate we'd been to have chosen this hotel, out of all the places offered on the web. An absolute feast for the eye . Wonderful old furniture and nick nacks everywhere. A possibly roman statue in the garden...! The colour combinations, down to the smallest details, are incredibly beautiful. Thank goodness for the pool water,a splendid green and not the horrible plastic blue one gets usually . Actually, who needs a pool, in a place like this, anyway? Can you imagine what it would look like? Please, cut away those horrid stainless steel ladders! And,when one really has the need to show ones semi nudity in public, a little algae won't kill you.
The friendly and helpful lady, who seems to run the entire hotel by herself, is quite sufficient. It is wonderful to be left practically alone in a place like this, unbothered by staff, always trying to sell something or making you feel uncomfortable when you don't want to constantly drink and eat. Our room 21, under the roof, was beautifully decorated, marvellous, perfectly functioning bathroom. What superb, beautifully worn faucets! The patina! Superb towels etc. Beautiful fabrics and wallpaper used throughout the room. The beds!! Who cares that there was a water stain in the carpet? Accidents happen. Would you change your carpet for that? I wouldn't. All adds more atmosphere...
Unfortunately we had to catch an early flight back home and didn't have breakfast. I'm sure it would have been fine. For what they're charging.. who's got the nerve to complain? One should thank heaven for having the chance to even enter a place like this, and to stay in it... We're very tempted to make a special trip from Italy to have a longer experience. The only wish I have is that you get a better piano. This french instrument looks nice but really cannot be used to make music on. Good old pianos can be bought for very little today. Can you imagine how nice that would be?
Before dinner we took a little stroll around and happened upon this nouveau riche- fortress- hotel, down the road, with all that cliché decoration, ! found anywhere from Las Vegas to Shanghai. Made us feel even more happy to have landed in Casa Palacio.
Please don't ever ,,redecorate''.
Thanks ever so much!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 924willemb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

We checked in to this place 5 hrs ago. It looked nothing like the pictures. At one time this might have been a 5 star hotel but not for a very long time. It seemed that it was the front desk person's first day as she didn't tell us anything about the hotel or the area. When prompted about attractions in the area, she gave us an illegible photocopied map and gave us directions to a place that didn't exist. We logged into the wifi at the front desk but as soon as we walked away, we lost connection. Repeatedly. All she could do for us was tell us that was "very strange". We went to find the beautiful pool from the pictures (because she never mentioned it) and found green water that was so murky you couldn't see an inch below the surface. When asked, the front desk person said it should be fixed by tonight. There was no way someone was getting in there tonight without needing antibiotics afterwards. We left our things in our room, turned the temperature down as low as possible because it was so hot, and went out for several hours. When we returned the room was just as hot as we'd left it. We brought this to the attention of the front desk person who came into the room, fiddled with the thermostat and proclaimed "this is very strange." At that point I told her we wanted to speak with the manager but there wasn't anyone else working at the hotel. I told her we planned to move to a different hotel as this place was not what we had made reservations for. She called the owner who said we might as well stay since they had to charge us 140 euros because Booking.com was taking that for advertising. That was a lie because that was the charge with taxes for the night. (The hotel would go bankrupt paying booking.com 100%) After a lot of arguing, we told her we'd pay it but we weren't staying there because we didn't want to waste any more of our vacation the way we had this afternoon. We are now a block away at the beautiful Alcazar de la Reina enjoying the beautiful pool, working air conditioning, and wonderful staff. This is my first review. I only wrote one now hoping I can help people avoid what we experienced.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank debcarri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

A beautiful boutique hotel set in a 16th-century Spanish Palace. The property is filled with authentic details, an impressive collection of classical art and furniture, expansive common spaces for relaxing after a day out touring, and an abundance of old world charm.

We had an incredible time at Casa Palacio de Carmona. The staff could not have been more accommodating, the food was delicious and fresh -- I don't think I ate anything out of a packet all week! -- and the swimming pool was a welcome bonus in the Andalusian heat.

My room was stunning, with a large sitting area, good a/c with thermostat, and an enormous bathroom suite with bidet, 2 sinks, rain shower, and footed bath.

Carmona turned out to be the perfect stopping point for us. The village itself is peaceful and historic, with the sights of Sevilla and Córdoba in easy reach.

This is no chain hotel, if you like that sort if thing. ;) But if you are fan of history and authentic character, this place is a 'do not miss'.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MaebyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

The atmosphere, service and food at this beautiful property are outstanding. Each room is unique and features different furnishings, art and configuration. I spent a week there as part of reunion with friends and it was truly one of the most memorable times of my life.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmona
0.1 km away
Alcazar de la Reina Hotel
0.6 km away
Parador de Carmona
Parador de Carmona
#1 of 7 in Carmona
1,255 reviews
0.1 km away
El Rincon de las Descalzas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Posada San Fernando
Posada San Fernando
#6 of 7 in Carmona
124 reviews
8.1 km away
Hacienda los Jinetes
Hacienda los Jinetes
#5 of 7 in Carmona
40 reviews
24.5 km away
Hotel Oromana
Hotel Oromana
#1 of 4 in Alcala de Guadaira
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Palacio de Carmona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Palacio de Carmona

Address: Plaza Lasso 1, 41410 Carmona, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Seville > Carmona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Carmona
Price Range: RM 265 - RM 761 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Palacio de Carmona 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic centre of Carmona– a remarkably beautiful white village just 30 km East of Seville – stands the Casa de Carmona, a splendid XVIth century renaissance palace with 33 charming bedrooms. At the Casa de Carmona you will enjoy lush courtyards and living rooms, fine art and antiques, a fresh market cuisine, and the help of a knowing and well-mannered service – in sum, the palatial life of an aristocratic family. Since its opening in 1991, the Casa de Carmona has been celebrated by its guests and by the press. The Casa de Carmona is family-lived and run and offers affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Palacio de Carmona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Palacio Casa De Carmona Hotel Carmona
Casa De Carmona
Casa Palacio De Hotel Carmona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing