We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$256
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$129
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MB Boutique Hotel(Nerja)
US$160
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,058)
Filter reviews
2,058 results
Traveller rating
1,093
736
168
39
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,093
736
168
39
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsricky lavazzaassistant managera la carte restaurantspanish restaurantindoor poolevening entertainmentplenty of choiceplenty of sunbedsbreakfast and dinnerwelcome meetinghead waiterthomson repexcellent hotelhigh floorsea viewwalk in showerbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
529 - 534 of 2,058 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Spent a week at the Riu Monica which is now an adult only hotel. There has been extensive refurbishment since we last visited. The hotel offers high standard accommodation, the bedrooms are comfortable with a wonderful quiet ceiling fan in addition to air conditioning. The buffet food is good with plenty of fresh fruit and excellent salads. Dining room felt crowded at times despite two sittings for dinner. The new small a la carte restaurant was disappointing.
Outside the poolside was jam packed with hundreds of sunbeds, most of which were occupied all day. Packed so close you were almost touching the next person. What we found lacking was somewhere comfortable to sit and relax outside rather than lie on a sunbed. Last time we visited there were gardens where you could sit which offered some shade. It is sad these have gone. There is a beach but this is a public beach and was very crowded when we bisited.

Nerja is a lovely town which we have visited several times. The hotel is in a good situation about 15 minutes walk from the town. Most people seemed to stay in the hotel in the evening as there was nightly entertainment. Some of the artistes were definitely better than others. Hotel caters principally for a more nature age group and is manageable for those with limited mobility. Staff on the whole friendly and helpful.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Once again we stayed at the Riu (or HoMO as we affectionately call it), This was the first after the refurbishment but once again all was excellent. From the ever friendly staff, the great food and of course the Nerja sunshine. Nice and quiet now that its Adult Only, which makes a big difference. My only niggle was that with all the money spent on the refurbishment, surely new sunbeds might have been looked at? the extant beds have no toppers and you rely on a towel for comfort. These beds used to have a topper but unlike other Riu we have visited, the current beds are very uncomfortable?

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view when booking.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We stayed in the hotel Riu Monica from 9 to 16 September. The hotel and facilities were excellent. Our fifth floor room was well appointed with sea view balcony. Note to all hotels: please could the room safe be sited at eye level? All staff were attentive, efficient and polite. The dining room was very pleasant and the range of food for breakfast and the evening meal was superb: evening meal times start at 18:30 or 20:30. We dined once in the poolside a la carte restaurant and found that a rewarding experience. Both the hotel and local area appeared to be wheelchair friendly with plenty of ramps.
There was entertainment every evening and the quality of performances varied from excellent (Welshman Ricky Lavaza); good for the 2 girls doing the Abba tribute, to dire for the rest.
Nerja itself is very interesting with a full range of quality shops. The local market on Tuesday is well worth a visit - take the bus and walk back (30 minutes downhill).
We found Frigiliana very interesting (bus from Nerja bus station every hour). The town was full of character and the little café “La Tienda” - tucked away in a small side street by the church of San Antonio off the Calle Real – was a gem.
We are happy to recommend the Hotel Riu Monica.

Room Tip: Go for limited sea view on upper floor.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Geezerbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2016

I would actually give this hotel 4.5 - 5 being reserved for our favourite hotel (in Gran Canaria) which others have yet to live up to!

The Riu Monica is extremely clean and modern. My first impression was that it was a little 'sterile' and the welcome was very polite and efficient rather than warm. That's not a criticism, it's just a comparison.

I was initially a little disappointed at being given a room on the first floor (having emailed and requested a high floor) and as it overlooked the outside bar area was expecting some noise. However as the clientele tend to be older my fears were unfounded. We had afternoon sun and an obscured (by the bar roof) sea view but we knew it wasn't a full sea view when we booked. The room itself was lovely and the bathroom very modern with a walk in shower - personally I prefer a bath but again I knew that. Cleaning was of a very high standard.

The buffet food was exactly as you'd expect and we found the quality and choice to be fine. However I recommend swapping at least once to the on site Spanish restaurant. It's included in the price but you do need to book in advance. The food there is excellent.

There is a pleasant bar with nightly entertainment which varied in quality from excellent (loved the two Abba tribute girls) to pretty dire.

I wasn't so keen on the pool area, the beds are close together, some have shared shades and the pool itself is pretty cold. There was no problem getting a lounger at any time although of course the selfish few reserved the best and got away with it. I cannot understand why the pool boys don't just remove those towels etc and place them in a reclaim area.

Nerja itself was mostly very pleasant (no Burger King etc thank goodness). The old town is lovely but some other areas a bit grubby. We loved Frigliana and Mijas and would consider staying inland next time.

All in all a good holiday, I do recommend this hotel if you are visiting Nerja. It's well placed with supermarkets and bars opposite but not at all noisy.

Room Tip: You don't get a choice so no point worrying about it, try to find the positive in whatever you are allocated!
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gulliver02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

First impressions on arrival were very good and we haven't been disappointed. From the friendly staff to the newly refurbished rooms and the amazing view of the sea from our fourth floor balcony this hotel is hard to beat. Lovely pool with plenty of sun beds and shade. You can walk out the gate and onto a small beach. Restaurants and shops just 10 walk away. Will definitely return to this hotel.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank oharasteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews