We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Angel Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$76/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Priory Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
US$135
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
All Saints Hotel(Bury St Edmunds)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tuddenham Mill(Tuddenham)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (869)
Filter reviews
869 results
Traveller rating
391
250
114
63
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
250
114
63
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational trustswimming poolafternoon teafamily hotelstately homehigh teagames roomsandwichesspa treatmentsthe main hotelfamilies with young childrenchanging roomsnt propertybike ridehalf termwalled gardentable tennis
Filter
Updating list...
172 - 177 of 869 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

We were treated to Afternoon Tea which was served in the pleasant ambiance of their conservatory.
There was a selection of ‘teas’ to choose from and the selection of sandwiches, scones and cakes were really tasty. The staff were both attentive and very friendly making us feel welcome.
The front steps are poorly lit to the car park and unmarked without a hand rail - they are difficult to negotiate and no I don’t need a ramp- just better lighting and a rail!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sysolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

The hotel forms a part of the Vast and Impressive historic Ickworth manor with grand gardens in a beautiful area with gigantic ancient trees surrounding the property...the rooms are full of interesting features and history...there is a great pool, free bike hire, play room for kids and one for adults with table tennis and air hockey. Plus a spa.Tennis, badminton and cricket gear available.The bedrooms had great views and we slept well.

The staff were attentive.. we enjoyed a tasty afternoon tea and a dinner on both evenings of our stay. Breakfast -full english(not stated on menu)and fresh fruit, cereals and more was excellent. Chef and team were enthusiastic and pleased when meals were complimented and made us laugh.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank pvuk81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

We stopped by here for afternoon tea on Sunday, or at least we would have if any of the staff could be bothered to speak with us. We waited to be served for about 15 minutes then gave up and went off to find somewhere in Bury St Edmunds.

Pity really, stayed here 3 years ago and it was a lovely experience.

Don't forget the one thing that differentiates a good quality establishment from lesser places is the service. You would do to remember that Ickworth Management and ensure all your employees also understand it.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
5  Thank TheJohnSteed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ickworth2017, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear TheJohnSted,

Thank you for your recent review. Please contact me at the hotel directly should you wish to discuss your experience further.

Kind regards,

Faye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

The Ickworth is a lovely building for a hotel. We had a very nice, quite large room (Blomfield), which was in very nice shape. They provided an extra bed for our 7-year-old at no extra cost, and there was still plenty of space. And the grounds are lovely: over 1500 acres of woodland and fields in beautiful rolling Suffolk countryside. But there are some strange anomalies. It bills itself as a "luxury family hotel". And thereby hangs a possibly unresolvable contradiction. Is it possible to combine real, adult luxury with child-friendly facilities? Well, yes – up to a point. But there are issues: the restaurants serve the same menu: one is adults-only, the other open to families with kids. The adult food is very expensive: we had £33 per person towards the cost of dinner as part of our Travelzoo deal, but it barely covered 2 courses. And the portions were tiny! My partner's venison consisted of two pieces, each two bites big. Price: £23. And there was almost nothing else on the plate: no veg, no starch... The food was good, but by no means outstanding. We thought it might have been ok on a 7-course taster menu.

On the second night our server was wise enough to tell us that we needed to order side dishes to make it a full meal. We ordered all 3 at an extra £10.50, and almost felt full. The kids' menu was £8, and the portions were smaller than we have come to expect in other, much less expensive places. It's hard for me to believe the more affluent the family, the less the children eat...

There is a nice pool, but it's hardly kid-friendly. For a start, it has no shallow end. It's 1.4 metres throughout – too deep for a 7-year-old who doesn't swim well yet. And there's no slide or anything kids might enjoy playing with (just some floats and noodles). It felt much more like a spa pool than a family fun pool.

And there's no bar. There's a drawing room, and a server passes through occasionally and asks if you'd like a drink. But there's no list of what they have to offer (I don't think you're supposed to ask about prices!), so it depends on his or her memory.

The staff were friendly and polite, and the young women serving in the restaurant were doing their best to serve everyone and stay cheerful, but it was clearly understaffed – particularly in the morning. It took ages to order something other than what was on offer on the buffet, and both mornings it then took more than 20 minutes to arrive at the table.

The facilities for children were good: free bikes, a playroom with computer games, table football, table tennis, etc. But we discovered some of them by accident. There is an outdoor play area (The Fairy Garden) for little ones in a garden adjacent to the hotel, but it's not on any map or facilities list! And the map of the grounds is incomplete and really misleading.

So a mixed bag. I'm not sure they've quite figured out how to reconcile their twin aims of luxury and family-friendly. At the moment they seem to fall a bit between the two stools. But they were receptive when we mentioned portion sizes being way too small (for the money), and they do seem to want to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. We would probably go back, but only if we could get as good a deal as we had this time – and better armed with knowledge about what to expect. And the grounds are spectacular.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clivetwooaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Although our complaint was dealt with in a very friendly, positive and professional manner this doesn't change the fact that the quality of the hotel and food do not live up to the price being asked. I'm afraid I cannot recommend this hotel and would not spend my money trying one of their sister venues.

Maybe when the kids are babies and toddlers you're willing to pay anything to have a few hours adult time and an onsite listening service at night but we only ate lunch there on the first day and rather than being able to have a peaceful, relaxing time at the hotel had to find somewhere to eat for lunch and dinner during the rest of our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cathy-AnneSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ickworth2017, General Manager at The Ickworth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Cathy-AnneSimpson,

Thank you for your recent review. Please contact me at the hotel directly should you wish to discuss your experience further.

Kind regards,

Faye

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews