We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely weekend away with friends”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Hall House

The Hall House front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hall House front view
The drive with flowering cherry The Hall House rear view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
The Hall House front view
The drive with flowering cherry
The Hall House rear view
Kitchen patio with rose
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining room
Dining room fireplace
Snug
Sitting room
Sun room
Stairs to guest bedrooms
Guest bedroom 1
guest bedroom 2
Guest bathroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
laundry room
garage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Horringer, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Becky K
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely weekend away with friends”
Reviewed 27 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Hall House is an absolutely beautiful property, kept to the highest standards of cleanliness and repair. To be honest, I don't feel like the descriptions on this site do it justice - it was much more spacious and welcoming than we had even hoped for. As a group of 8 people we thought that we might find it a tight squeeze but there were no issues with space. The facilities were all lovely and we had a wonderful weekend away. I would not hesitate to recommend this property as the ideal base for a country getaway.
Definitely book the local pub before you travel as this was booked up for our stay though...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Nov 2014
Thank you for the kind words Rebecca. We are so glad that your party enjoyed the House. Do come again and book into The Plough for a meal -- well worth it. Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B
Gutersloh, Germany
2 reviews
“Simply delightful!”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

From the minute we booked our stay Eric ensured we were accommodated. Absolutely everything was catered for and nothing was too much trouble.
We would absolutely book and stay again. The local pub is barely a heartbeat away and the food and ambience was first class.
A truly memorable stay, thank you Eric!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, seriously it was fabulous!
Liked least: Nothing at all...
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2014
Very glad to have helped to make your special trip a success. Look forward to welcoming you back again. Cheers, Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abs7
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, relaxing break”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were using The Hall House as a base for a family get-together near Bury St Edmunds and it worked perfectly. A beautiful cottage which provided everything we required and more. The welcome pack was much appreciated. Eric, the owner, we found to be very approachable and helpful. The Plough, about 2 minutes away, proved very useful in providing Sunday lunch before our long journey home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Living area very comfortable.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim D
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful Break”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay,excellent accommodation and beautiful locality. Nearby pub serves lovely food and the owners were very friendly ( actually gave us some bread and milk on first night as we had forgotten these vital items !!). The house is very spacious and well kept and we liked the welcome pack ! The owner is very helpful and we enjoyed the 'instructions' for all the appliances.
We loved touring the local area and can highly recommend the Bird of Prey sanctuary near Stowmarket. All in all we had a great 4 days in Rede and would recommend to others.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin S
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Enjoyed a two night stay at this lovely cottage. Very spacious kitchen area, perfect for dining with friends and plenty of rooms of all sizes which were more than big enough. Large garden to the rear and 2 entrances on the drive for plenty of parking space. Huge open fire places make this a great weekend getaway, the surrounding area of Bury St Edmunds is very rural for nice walks. The town centre was a short taxi drive away for under £20, great variety of bars, pubs and restaurants. I will be sure to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of kitchen area
Liked least: Lack of large TV for entertainment
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2014
Many thanks for these kind words. We are pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay. Do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing