We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive rubbish”

Plattens Fish and Chips
Price range: US$0 - US$21
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Takeout
Description: A nautical orientated fish and chip restaurant situated in the heart of Wells quayside. Established over 50 years ago, Platten’s Fish & Chips Ltd is a third generation family run business serving you the very best traditional seaside fish and chips for you to enjoy eating in or to take away, fresh from the fryer in only a few minutes.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Expensive rubbish. I paid £18.00 for one regular fish and chips and a child’s portion of fish chips and peas. They were awful. The fish was tasteless and the chips were dried up pieces of potato bits. Very disappointed and a waste of money.

Looking back I should have complained and got a refund but I was tired after a long journey.

Try the chip shop next door!!

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank Alfred245
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (891)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 891 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Given the last 18months, why would a chip shop shut its doors at 5.00 on a sunny afternoon. Obviously have plenty of custom other day so don't need to worry. The chip shop a few doors down had about 50 people in line waiting to be served. Sadly we didn't have time to wait that long having stood in the queue outside Plattens, only to be told they were closing.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cennenypedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2021

We nearly always have fish and chips at Plattens when we go to Wells, we have always found them to be good, constant quality. There is another fish and chip shop next door which we have tried and would say the quality is the same. The queue is always longer at the other but I cannot fathom why, I think it might be their advertising. Plattens staff are always friendly and cheerful.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 51Liz003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 September 2021

Called for take away fish and chips about 1pm last Friday on our annual visit to Wells. We had previously eaten here and been happy. This time however was a different story. The fish ad over cooked an dry and the chips were hard and cold.
At about £9.50 a throw ai would like some consistency. I can get far superior fish and chips in my town for around £5, so not happy.
It will be next door in future.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank STUART C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 September 2021 via mobile

Visited 7/9 the day of the powercut.
Plattens was the only shop open and blimey they were busy. We went around 8pm, there had been a queue most of the evening .
The staff were still polite, smiling and efficient despite customers knowing the situation and making ridiculous demands. Yes there was only fish and chips by the time we got there but that's what we went for. It's was perfectly cooked and was enjoyed sat on the quay.
You were superstars, well done⭐️
Even working under pressure and in semi darkness the food and service was 100% better than Rick steins in Poole .

Date of visit: September 2021
Thank 423alisonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Plattens Fish and Chips also viewed

Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
Wells-next-the-Sea, Norfolk
 

Been to Plattens Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.