We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great little retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Workshop

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Heathfield, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Mark W
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A great little retreat”
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We loved the Old Workshop. So well converted and made for the modern-day break. Lovely open-plan design complimented with a super standard of fittings. Yes, you need a car but how great is it to be able to remove yourself from the 'rat race' and kick back in comfort. Everything you could need for a short break is on hand and the only slight gripe (if you can call it that) was that the rubbish bins are sited around the corner from the property and on grass. No issue other than to say, it would be an idea if they had some slabs to sit on as it would solve the problem of bringing dirt in to the building when wet.

We cant wait to visit again and thanks Jenny for your attention.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2016
Thanks Mark. I'm glad you had a relaxing stay. Noted about the slabs and we'll get on that.

Hope to see you again,

Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidCaw
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Truly lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay here. Originally booking as a get away to relax with our 2 kids we found so much to do in the area we didn't spend as much time there as we hoped.

The accommodation was perfect, newly decorated with lovely attention to detail and high quality fittings. I loved the wood burner (which I had never used before) and the kids loved finding kindling during out visit to Battle Abbey.

Would love to go back in summer and explore some the walks around the workshop.

Highly recommended! Thank-you Jenny

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatkinsEl...
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location, lovely welcome, warm and cosy retreat within easy travelling for historic properties.”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Close to lovely, small, but bustling, town of Heathfield. 30 minutes to the South Coast.
Visit Bateman's nearby; home of the Kipling family, owned by the National Trust.
Walk along many local footpaths for glorious scenery.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the living room across the Sussex Weald
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquila...
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wow, what a truly fantastic place”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Well the photos do not do this wonderful place justice. It was utterly fantastic. I stayed here with 3 friends this last weekend and what a cute and very well appointed place this was. I say cute but that does not indicate the size at all. The place was much larger than expected! The rooms are very well appointed with comfy beds and lovely linen. The bathrooms are modern and large. The log burner is excellent and the kitchen has everything you could ever want. The views are superb from the terrace and we will definitely be back to visit in the summer so we can make the most of that. It is lovely and remote too so if you really do fancy getting away from it - this is your place. Needless to say none of us wanted to leave but leave we must. Well done as this is EXACTLY how a holiday let should be. Great value and no hesitation in recommending to friends and families alike.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay Jacqui, and yes, you must come back in the summer, the Wealden countryside is stunning then. Jenny x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christoph...
2 reviews
“Perfect Anniversary Weekend”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Old Workshop is perfect in every way! It is in a lovely, quiet location with picturesque views from the decking area and just a short drive from anywhere you may wish to visit.

Very well equipped with everything needed.

We were here for our 1 year anniversary and couldn't have asked for a better weekend.

Thank you Jenny for the lovely welcome gifts - these were very unexpected and a lovely gesture.

Once again - sorry about the oven knob :)

Thanks again
Chris & Aimee

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2015
So glad you had a good anniversary. No worries at all about the cooker knob, we found a replacement! Hope to have you to stay again.

Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing