We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Raj Indian Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 72 Restaurants in Wadebridge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Indian foods at its finest
Reviewed 21 August 2021

Waited three hours for delivery and when they turned up the vegan vegetable curry was missing. We drove back to get it but much disappointment when it was opened to find a tub of thick brown water. Very disappointing and terrible customer service.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank R8797OJcharlottem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie1957123, Owner at The Raj Indian Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2021

Firstly I would like to point out that the only reason there was a 3 hrs wait for you delivery is because we only have 1 delivery driver and the slots get filled up very quickly, this was explained on the phone and you were happy for a delivery at 8pm. you could have chosen to collect the curry and it would have been ready much sooner. When the delivery was ordered there was a mention of something vegan but when asked to clarify what they ment nothing was mentioned and the rest of the order was given and written down. When you phoned to say something was missing you said you needed a vegan curry sauce, not a vegan vegetable curry. sorry that you found the vegan curry not up to your standards. However indian cuisine is heavily based on animal products and is very hard to replicate as vegan. We made your vegan curry sauce to the best of our abilities and can only apologise that you didn't enjoy it. Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2021

As a regular visitor to the Raj I can only admire the way they have coped with the difficulties which they are facing, along with every hospitality business in Cornwall at the moment. They have remained open throughout and despite staff shortages they have maintained their excellent level of service and food.
The food has always been fresh, flavoursome and cooked to perfection. The onion bhajees are amazing
Keep up the good work.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Relax441749
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2021

Visited the Raj Indian restaurant in Wadebridge for a wake. What an inspirational venue. The food was first class and the service from owner and staff was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble and we were all made to feel so welcome. When we return to Wadebridge it will be our first meal out.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank juliebW7240PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2021

Avoid this place unless you want to have the rudest customer service experienced in over 40 years of eating out, which was accompanied by mediocre food at best. To the family of 4 turned away as “ we’re full” when the restaurant was more than half empty I’m sure you had a better meal and experience wherever you ended up.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank johnwC3001SE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackie1957123, Owner at The Raj Indian Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2021

I'm sorry you felt this way and it was not mentioned at the time. As for the comment of "were full" we do only have half of the restaurant open due to staff shortages. 3 times as many people in Cornwall this summer and a huge lack of staff after we have been hot so bad with covid. Please don't judge situations without know the reasons behind it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2021

It’s so good to have the Raj open again after such a rotten year for everyone.

Our curry’s were excellent as ever and the staff as friendly and efficient as ever.

Cant recommend The Raj enough - do visit!

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ELIZABETHJACKSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Raj Indian Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Wadebridge, Cornwall
 

Been to The Raj Indian Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.