We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great house, amazing location”

Review of Camel Quarry House

boat and bird watching 360 degree views from the large open plan sit/din/kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
boat and bird watching 360 degree views from the large open plan sit/din/kitchen
Bikes ready for another ride View from the Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
boat and bird watching 360 degree views from the large open plan sit/din/kitchen
Bikes ready for another ride
View from the Sitting Room
approaching down the drive
sailing on the estuary with the house in the background
sun downers and a BBQ at sunset on the roof terrace
king size bed and king size bath
four poster bedroom with double ended bath
4 Poster Bedroom with ensuite
Multimedia Room, surround sound and SKY tv leading onto the garden
the roof terrace sofa, looking back onto uninterupted fields
the garden is designed by chelsea gold winner, Mary Reynolds
open plan Dining Room & Kitchen at night
Garden, the fire pit with views of the estuary beyond
Hot Tub, a perfect place to see the sunset or admire the night time stars
Exterior of the House
Exterior of the House
Garden with the Estuary beyond
Sailing in the Estuary
Sunset from Sitting Room
View over Camel Trail & Estuary
View on approach to house
Sunset over the Estuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Padstow, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TonyPKL
Kings Langley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great house, amazing location”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is a great house for a gathering of family and or friends. Situated on the Camel Trail between Padstow and Wadebridge, it is very private, far from public roads and reached over tracks through several fields. We all thoroughly enjoyed our time there and even the weather was better than expected, though it did rain! The almost 360 deg views from the top floor glass walled living space are stunning regardless of weather! A beautiful and idyllic spot.

We booked bikes with Paul at Gobicycle who was very prompt and provided great bikes. The Camel Trail, accessed at the bottom of the garden, provides ideal walking and level cycling to Padstow and Wadebridge and beyond along the estuary and Camel Valley.

With 2 small grandchildren we found it more practical to have a chef in so we had Alex Key twice. Once to prep and serve an excellent surf and turf meal and once to do an Oriental demo and have everyone joining in which was a lot of fun. His mother Stephanie also provided a couple of ready made meals which were very good indeed. The vast walk in fridge meant that there was never a problem in keeping food, wines and beers cool!

We booked Sarah the massage therapist for everyone over 3 days. She was delightful and everyone commented on how good she is.

Jane the housekeeper called in daily to check we were OK, do a quick clear up and restock the log fire and bbq. Sadly we did not get the opportunity to use the sunken fire pit in the garden but everyone enjoyed the hot tub. We were impressed at the at how well it was cleaned out as we were departing.

A restful and quiet place to be any time of year. On a clear night there is comparatively little light pollution so it's great to see the night sky. We would go again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temple196...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Perfect for a house party”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Stayed for a long weekend celebrating a 60th birthday and this was the perfect location for the 12 of us. A perfect location overlooking the Camel estuary and the house has been designed to maximise the benefit, with stunning views from the floor to ceiling windows in the lounge. Modern and stylish throughout, this is well worth the slightly hair-raising approach through fields (not one for low car chassis!). An incredibly quiet and peaceful location, this is a great place to get away from if all. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie M
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely incredible house! Would recommend to everyone! Ideal for all ages!”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Our stay at Camel Quarry House this summer was absolutely fantastic. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Here are some things that really made our holiday special:

- breathtaking views
- beautiful interiors, but the house is also very comfortable and family friendly
- extraodinary architecture
- amazing fireplaces with wood provided
- the owner has thought of everything: great games for the kids & a whole range of reading material
- excellent location for biking: we biked everyday & often to Padstow for lunch
- bike hire very easy to organise through GoBycycle
- incredible surfing at Polzeath: great surfing lessons at Surfs Up!
- the nearby quarry jump was exciting for the teenagers
- at the bottom of the path from the house there is an ice cream & coffee stand - the kids absolutely loved the ice cream (pumpkin was one of their favourite flavours!) and the guys running the stand offered us a wealth of local knowledge
- loads of great seafood restaurants nearby
- we had Alexander Key cater for us who was very flexible to our needs as a big group with many age ranges and the food was delicious
- the housekeeper Jane was delightful to deal with and tremendously helpful during our stay
- the owner Emma is lovely and was also extremely helpful at making our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible
- Tesco home delivery is a great idea to make sure you are stocked up for the week
- we brought our own boat for the week as the house comes with a dock: Rock Marine were very helpful in launching and recovering the boat

Not much more to say, other than book your stay at Camel Quarry House and you will have a fantastic week to remember forever!

Ginny

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen W
London, United Kingdom
“Stunning house!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I stayed in Camel Quarry House for a week in January with a group of friends.

The owner is a designer and it shows - this is a beautifully designed house, all slate, wood & glass, and clean lines, with beautiful views, inside and out.

All bedrooms are spacious and all are en-suite, always a welcome luxury. The upstairs open plan living room/kitchen has 360 degree views over the countryside and down the Camel Estuary towards Padstow, views that are constantly changing with the weather and the tide. The caretaker who lives onsite is vey welcoming and provides a daily cleaning service, another very welcome little luxury.

The house has all the mod cons and is well equipped for all sorts of activities (cycling, wetsuits, gym etc.), but one of the highlights for me was sitting in the outside hottub, with a glass of wine, stars twinkling above.

This is my second time at Camel Quarry House, and I loved staying in winter - we had the glorious beaches nearby all to ourselves, and a crackling fire in the evening to come home to.

This is a truly beautiful house in a stunning location. We had a wonderful time, and I hope to return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melissa_k...
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breath taking views, comfort and stylish contemporary living for the ideal Cornish holiday”
Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Camel Quarry House has the most fantastic views of the Camel Estuary leading down to Padstow. Made of glass, local slate and stone, this exceptionally comfortable contemporary house is the ideal place for a getaway. I went for a week with friends but this open plan home would be perfect for a honeymoon, a meditative retreat, a family holiday or an away stay for executive bonding. There is loads to do in the area and some notable places to eat; we rode bikes into Padstow, played golf at St Enedoc, had fish and chips at the famous Rick Stein restaurant, walked for hours along the coastline and watched the sun go down in the outside hot tub before barbecuing on the terrace. The owner has done up the house with exceptional taste and style. Bathrooms are state of the art and there is an abundant flow of hot water, fluffy towels and great DVDs in the TV room. Honestly, we had the most wonderful and restful time. I am definitely going to rent it again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$981
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing