We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seafood- friendly people ”

Old Custom House Inn Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 91 Restaurants in Padstow
Price range: US$9 - US$24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Nestling within sight of the open sea at the mouth of the tranquil Camel Estuary, Padstow, in Cornwall, has always been a thriving fishing port and commercial centre for north Cornwall. At the heart of the town and overlooking the medieval harbour is the Old Custom House, now a stylish and intimate place to stay. Standing on the quayside, the Old Custom House is still one of the finest buildings in the town. Today it is famous for its fine food, award winning ales, elegant, intimate accommodation and for its luxurious Beauty Studio.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We were looking for something to eat and most of the restaurants near there was full or closed so we chose this one.
We were not disappointed.
The people are very friendly, the prices however a little bit high.
The food tasted good. I suggest the blue cheese sauce and the sweet potato fries from the side dishes, the lobster from main courses and the king prawn from the salads. At least that's pretty much (not all) what we ate and have to admit tasted good.

I would visit again!

Not salty and not over or under cooked.

1  Thank Leonidastra86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (789)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 789 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived in Padstow and it was raining and lunch time on Easter Sunday, the 2 places we wanted to eat were fully booked so we went to the Old Custom Inn.
Staff was friendly and helpful as it was very busy too.

We ordered a crab sandwich which was 13 pounds and not worth the money at all. There was hardly any crab in it and had a bit of salad and 7 nachos on the side.
We also had the mussels which were nice and a good portion with skinny chips on the side.
Not sure I would return again

Thank Reisender4631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for your review, which we always appreciate. I am pleased you found our staff helpful and welcoming despite the busy bank holiday weekend! We appreciate your comments regarding our new menu, and will review the crab sandwich we offer. We hope to welcome you back next time you visit Padstow!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Nice meal in main bar. Good service and atmosphere. We had fish in batter, which was nice and fresh but not as tasty as it could have been - but overall it was a nice meal.

Thank cwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit with us and we hope you choose to return to us next time you visit Padstow.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

Visited for lunch whilst over for a day trip from rock. Food was lovely and very welcoming of children. We had fish and it was just lovely.
Great atmosphere and will definitely be back!

2  Thank LondonGuy_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely review! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

During our regular visits to seaside establishments we tried here and weren't dissappointed well worth a visit

2  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OCHManagmentTeam, Manager at Old Custom House Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Thank you for your lovely review, we very much appreciate your feedback, and hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Custom House Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Old Custom House Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing