We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty much inedible. The”
Review of Rick Stein's Cafe

Rick Stein's Cafe
Ranked #26 of 82 Restaurants in Padstow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$46 - US$49
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Spanish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: With fresh fish landed right here on our doorstep, our café creates simple seafood dishes with imaginative flavours. Our menu changes daily with influences from afar including dishes such as pad Thai noodles, salt and pepper prawns and cod curry. Breakfasts, cakes and coffees - From the classic full English breakfast to layered granola compote our breakfasts are the perfect way to start the day. Join us at our café in Padstow for a mid morning treat and enjoy homemade cakes and freshly ground coffee.
Reviewed 5 March 2021 via mobile

Pretty much inedible. The mussels were fine but the fish curry was truly revolting. Apart from salt the only other flavour I could detect was a sour after taste. The green bean side was described by my partner as ‘Total vomit’

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank AdamusGabriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (2,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 2,242 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2021 via mobile

Steak meal
Birthday present, which was delivered as scheduled. Meal was delicious, one of the best steaks we have had. Instructions easy to follow and very generous portions. I did cook the potatoes for longer than instructed and they were good. Sticky toffee pudding and clotted cream yummy.
We are now mulling over which one to have next!!!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank summertimesun2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2021 via mobile

It was a gift from a dear friend and it was quite excellent. Instructions were clear and simple. Only two minor gripes - should label the ingredients containers so we know what's what. Passion Fruit mess could have done with more passion fruit for more of a tart effect. Otherwise it was excellent.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank nirdoshk744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2021

We enjoyed the Indonesian curry box and it exceeded expectations from start to finish. The mussel starter was so tasty, with plump, fresh mussels that tasted like they were just picked earlier today. The seafood curry was excellent, with fragrant flavours and a perfect green bean side salad. Just when we thought it couldn't get better, the Eton Mess dessert was icing on the cake. Confession - I'm not a fan of Eton Mess, so I thought this would be my least favourite course, but it was amazing! I wish we had more. We loved every aspect of this experience, from receiving the delivery to the unpacking, cooking and eating. I couldn't recommend it enough!!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank D6880OPjenniferw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2021

Wow ...can’t tell how amazed we were with the Hake box . Ordered for valentines , came Friday . Kept in fridge till Sunday. Everything was prepared . Hardly anything to do except grill the hake and put potatoes in boiling water . Everything was delicious . Really restaurant quality at home. Mackerel pate was so good, I am going to order it from online shop. The sticky toffee pudding and clotted cream was off the scale ...and I am not exaggerating! Going to order chicken dish next . Thank you so much , it was such a treat and a good price for 3 wonderful courses .

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RedRobin1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rick Stein's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rick Stein's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.