We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
19
12
3
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
12
3
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely pub single track village pub feel very welcome sat nav landlord cider dog
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We stayed for a week in Broadhempston and went to this and the other village pub to eat. The menu choices are very good and the food excellent. They had a specials board every night. The staff were very friendly and let our dog come in and sit in the bar area.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

This is a real pub with rooms. Our room was big and quiet and clean and somewhat unusually decorated in the bathroom, and everything was there that needed to be. It was clean and comfortable, although the bed and pillows were a tad hard for me. The landlord and staff were friendly and helpful, as were the locals in the bar/restaurant - after a couple of days, we felt like we actually lived in the village. The food was excellent and on the interesting side of just pub grub.
The only downside is the approach to the village - very, very narrow single track roads with few passing places - otherwise highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

We stayed here for a weekend break. It's a lovely pub, with comfy rooms in a pretty old building. Bathrooms aren't swish, but have everything you need. The landlord is very friendly, and breakfast is great.

I'd definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachesplz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dougal M, Manager at The Monks Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Thank you for you lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Ive started visiting Broadhempston as a friend lives there and I really enjoy going into this place. Its very welcoming and the landlord is very sociable and amenable.
The food looks good and the local ciders are good.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank robert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dougal M, Manager at The Monks Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

visited on a saturday lunchtime just before Easter, the food was lovely, bar staff were very good...will go again.

try belly pork really good very good atmosphere tables were comfy not to close together

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 308rebeccas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dougal M, Owner at The Monks Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Thank you for your review im glad you enjoyed your visit, hopefully see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews