We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the Beaten Path”

Great Wooston Farm Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Great Wooston Farm Bed & Breakfast
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The farm is beautiful, and the breakfast was delicious. Our room was spotless, with thoughtful additions. There is a lovely common room on the first floor. Since we came from the US, it was our first time driving on the left-hand side, along narrow single tracks, and still, this place was wonderful! Mary made us welcome, calmed my husband's frayed nerves, and explained how to get around the area.
Dartmoor is stunning, and location of the inn is near good restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kate568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Just to thank you for our enjoyable stay with you. We felt quite at home there and of course enjoyed the breakfast Mary put before us! We did not have to drive far before Dartmoor opened up before us and all the lovely places to visit. Thank you both again for making us welcome!
Bruce & Valerie Pike

Room Tip: All the double rooms have the same magnificent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bruce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The best farmhouse on Dartmoor. We have stayed here many times. It is lovely, clean & cosy. The breakfasts are good & hearty and the hosts Mary & John are wonderful. Highly recommend this farmhouse. Set in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We've stayed at Great Wooston Farm several times over the last few years and have thoroughly enjoyed all our visits there. Mary always welcomes us with tea and cake, the bedrooms are very comfortable and meticulously clean and the fantastic breakfasts keep us going all day long! It's a treat to wake up to such beautiful views each morning. A great place to stay and a good base for exploring Devon and Cornwall.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A friend and I booked to stay here for two nights over the summer as a base for a fly fishing trip at a local reservoir.

We booked two rooms, one double with en-suite and a twin with a private bathroom at the end of the hall. Both rooms had everything and more than you would expect from a bed and breakfast (dilute fruit squash, great biscuits, hot chocolate etc.) especially at the very reasonable rate that is charged! Both bathrooms were very clean.

The hosting from Mary was second to none, we were greeted with a beautiful smile and shown to our rooms before being invited back downstairs for toasted tea cakes and a hot drink. As we wanted to be out fishing early we asked if it was possible to have breakfast half an hour earlier than the advertised breakfast times, Mary said that she would be able to rustle us up some scrambled eggs on toast at that time which was more than we had expected to be offered. When we turned up early the following morning Mary had prepared us a full English breakfast, which was full of flavour.

The hotel is set within beautiful countryside, with the front facing windows capturing the beautiful views.

If I am ever back in the area I know where I will be staying.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank brockwellpav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Moretonhampstead hotels
0.0 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
302 reviews
0.0 km away
The Old Post House
The Old Post House
#3 of 9 in Moretonhampstead
29 reviews
0.0 km away
Belmont Bed and Breakfast
Belmont Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 9 in Moretonhampstead
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Crossroads Bed and Breakfast
Crossroads Bed and Breakfast
#5 of 9 in Moretonhampstead
10 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Great Wooston Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wooston Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park TQ13 8QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Moretonhampstead
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Moretonhampste...
Price Range: RM165 - RM176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wooston Farm Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing