We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Underbow Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Underbow Kitchen
Kitchen Range Cooker
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Underbow Kitchen
Kitchen
Range Cooker
Another Kitchen image!
Sitting room with best Woodburner, you will be too hot!
Sitting Room
Top Floor King bed with wall mounted TV
Another image of top floor
Dressing area
En-suite to top floor
Large twin room
Twin room also en-suite
Master Bedroom en-suite
Master bedroom en-suite
Master Bedroom with wall mounted TV
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Underbow, private parking just at the front down private lane
Underbow's Garden with Moor views and South facing
Dartmoor
Bogey Castle just down the road, for high tea
Moretonhampstead
Moretonhampstead
Moretonhampstead from Mardon Down
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Moretonhampstead, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Swebsters
Polis, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family holiday ”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

A lovely, spacious, well equipped Cottage in a fantastic location. Underbow has everything you should need whilst away in a well laid out and comfortable Cottage. The log burner is a welcome treat when the weather's not so good.
The Cottage is in a great location for exploring Dartmoor and surrounding areas and is a stones throw from Moretonhampstead itself with cafes, shops, pubs, butchers with a deli etc and lovely for a wander. Would highly recommend this Cottage!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gen920
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Underbow Cottage for a week in June. The cottage is fantastic it has everything you need and is furnished to a very high standard. Underbow is situated in a quite lane and two minutes walk from the shops and restaurants. Highly recommend Underbow.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Furnished to a very high standard
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2016
We're glad you enjoyed the cottage and location. Look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaisa M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful house!”
Reviewed 5 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We booked Underbow cottage for our family trip. We had 6 nights holiday in Devon on April and we looked for the perfect house for a long time from different rental pages until we found Underbow Cottage. It had everything we needed, 3 bedrooms with en suite bathrooms, good location and it looked so British as it can look! We came from Finland.

House was much better than in pictures! At the first morning when I was brushing my teeth at the 3th floor bathroom and looked at the moors, I was thinking that I could wake up in this house every morning for the rest of my life! Living room was spacious ans cozy, kitchen had everything we needed. Beds were superb! Situation in the center of the quiet Moretonhampstead was great, only 1 minute walk to Co-op and short ride to the moors. Moretonhampstead had also a couple of pubs to choose from. Everything is so small and cute!

Highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bzads
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Cottage for a family visit. ”
Reviewed 26 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My family consisting of six adults and a few four legged friends stayed in this beautiful cottage recently. The location boasts scenic village life with little home comforts. A couple of shops including a Co-Op, a butchers, some drinking holes and cafes. Not so remote you are isolated, but tucked away if you wish to be so.
The cottage is off of the main road via a private driveway. Parking for three cars is available, additional parking available via a small pay and display car park close by. Free out of season.
The cottage is spacious and homely, beautiful decorated with high end fixtures and fittings.
The log burner adds to the cosiness, even though the weather was poor, we had plenty to do inside . Games cupboard with a variety of board games. Books for all ages. They have really catered for all eventualities.
Dogs were welcomed as long as they brought respectful owners.
The beds were really comfy as one of the older guests commented. The three rooms have en-suit and are private so different couples or families could share the cottage. My children are three and four, we test drove the cottage and there were no worrying areas, a little enclosed garden, would make a great BBQ area, with somewhere for the children to play.
Can't wait to try this out in the summer months.
Located in an ideal position on Dartmoor, for exploring yet close enough to local towns and the coast for a great variety of adventures.
This really does boast it all. Well done Underbow Cottage, we will see you soon when the family return in the summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2015
Thanks so much for bothering to write this Zoe-much appreciated. Kim xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimbostoo
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Special place”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a charming cottage! Well appointed and nicely decorated. An upmarket experience. Very centrally located, a 5min walk to the town centre. The Coop open until late and delightful shops (grocer, tea room and news agent). The cream teas at the local gastropub are worth a visit. The house comfortably sleeps 6, each room pleasant, with own bathroom. The attic room has lovely views over the moors. Highly recommend this house and the village of Moretonhampstead.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: I felt very comfortable in the house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing