We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Superb hotel with a great future ahead” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorland Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moorland Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Superb hotel with a great future ahead”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

I stumbled across this hotel completely by accident and I'm so glad I did. It's in the middle of an extensive (but unobtrusive) refurbishment and we were lucky enough to have one of the newly refurbished rooms. All mellow browns and greens - wonderful! Actually got a good night's sleep in the lovely comfy bed, too, which is always a bonus! The hotel was clean, the staff were extremely helpful and polite. We ate in the newly opened a la carte Wildflower Restaurant (there is also a bar serving bar meals and the option of room service). The food was first class - the pork dish was worthy of a top class restaurant anywhere (and we'd had lunch at the 2 Michelin star Gidleigh Park earlier in the day!). Breakfast was also good, with a wide selection of cereals, fresh fruit, rolls, croissants and a full English, all done buffet-style. Honestly, it's not stuck in a time warp any more (as stated elsewhere on TA); it's a brilliant location, excellent food and friendly, helpful staff. There's a large car park, good access for the disabled and wonderful gardens. All right on the edge of either Dartmoor in one direction or the dizzy city lights of Plymouth in the other. This hotel would suit people of all ages - pensioners, couples or families. We were so impressed we've already booked to go back for a longer holiday later in the year with three different generations in tow. Ten out of ten!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    154
    67
    32
    17
See reviews for
115
270
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

What a great base to operate from when visiting Dartmoor and the surrounding area. We had the weekend break as a gift from our daughters via buyagift.com. And what a great gift it was, the perfect centre for exploration of places we had never been to before. We also visited Plymouth and the National Aquarium whilst down there. The hotel staff were excellent nothing being too much trouble for them, and their knowledge of the surrounding areas and things to do and see was great. Whilst the hotel could do with some inward investment into upgrading the bedrooms etc. the overall cleanliness and tidyness was brilliant. Walking on the lawns, was a experience all on its own very soft spongy grass was just like having a thick carpet underneath your feet. Try it for yourself I am sure you will like it, we will be going back there later in 2012 / early 2013

Room Tip: Try and get one that overlooks the lawns with a balcony, really great views of the moors, ponies and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scooby1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Totally great location right on the edge of the Moor with sheep and ponies roaming through the grounds of the hotel. Rooms pleasant and clean, with terrific views. Food all good. The staff are polite and helpful without being overly stuffy/formal. If I was looking for something to complain about (as many of the Tripadvisor whingers seem to do) the bathroom could have done with a bit of modernisation, but everything worked fine and wasn't a problem. There is a slightly retro 1970s vibe to the hotel which we really like - this was our fourth stay in the last ten or so years and we've always loved the hotel, its staff and its amazing location. Note for parents - two of the rooms have connecting doors so you can be close to the kids - but not too close!!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms get very good views over distant scenery (downstairs rooms get good views of the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stukeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Great position on the edge of Dartmoor with ponies grazing close by. Fifteen minutes from Plymouth and about the same to Tavistock.
Hotel warrants being a lot more upmarket than it is. Some bedrooms have been upgraded but most are still stuck in the 1970s. The banqueting room has been greatly improved.
Staff are pleasant and helpful but very amateur. Restaurant is a lovely room with garden views and tablecloths but staff all appear to be local part timers with no uniforms , wearing cardigans and not much idea.
Reasonable value for money but hopefully its management will get its act together and add some professionalism and style to the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main block overlooking the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PBarbican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on 5 occassions (last in Sept 2011) as I have family at the university and following a long drive from London I would not keep returning if it did not meet my standards. The bad points!. Yes the decor is a bit dated and the issues on reception are not to a large corporate hotel standards, but the staff do try. The last checkout we were overcharged on the room rate so its something you (and they) need to check, but this was quickly and politely corrected. In addition tea's and coffess were taken off the bill without asking. The steel frame windows in the rooms cause the condensation on the window glass, but this clears quite quickly once they are opened. I don't know which room the last (malicious?) reviewer stayed in, but its certainly not my impression of the hotel. As for distance you can see the size of the hotel in the photo so you are never more than 100 yards from the centre of the hotel. I have noticed improvements since the refurb started and when finished it should meet the taste of most people. Good points. Fab location, lovely grounds and good walks. The food is top class and the service could not be faulted even though the resturant was coping with two large parties on our last visit. Yes breakfast is expensive but no more than any other hotel of the same grade and it certainly sets you up for the day. The hotel gives good value for money and I would certainly recommend it for a long weekend. Its a 20 minute drive to central plymouth for the university, shopping or the historic quays and plenty of sites, things to do in the wider area. coment for the management - can you please fill the pot holes in the top car park. Not a problem during the day but a surprise at night.

Room Tip: Book by phone to secure a deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GHCStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tippamouse, Owner at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and also for staying with us on numerous occasions. Since your stay in September and as part of the refurbishment programme, the car park has been re-tarmacked, so the pot holes have gone. Glad you like the food, the new head chef comes with a great reputation locally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yelverton
5.7 km away
Moorland Hotel
Moorland Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wotter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
8.3 km away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
10.3 km away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
31.3 km away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
9.1 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moorland Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Property: Moorland Garden Hotel
Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yelverton
Price range (per night): RM369 - RM902
Hotel Class:4 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Agoda so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing