We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moorland Garden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$100
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Rosemont(Yelverton)
US$113
US$83
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$98/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Burrator Inn(Yelverton)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barnabas House(Yelverton)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Archerton(Yelverton)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (658)
Filter reviews
659 results
Traveller rating
327
183
90
38
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
327
183
90
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon tealovely hotelwildflower restaurantbalcony roomlazy sundaybeautiful settingdartmoor poniesmain coursecream teawedding receptionvalley suitebuffet stylewaiting staffan overnight staywedding venueboth nightscourse meal
Filter
Updating list...
607 - 612 of 659 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

What a great base to operate from when visiting Dartmoor and the surrounding area. We had the weekend break as a gift from our daughters via buyagift.com. And what a great gift it was, the perfect centre for exploration of places we had never been to before. We also visited Plymouth and the National Aquarium whilst down there. The hotel staff were excellent nothing being too much trouble for them, and their knowledge of the surrounding areas and things to do and see was great. Whilst the hotel could do with some inward investment into upgrading the bedrooms etc. the overall cleanliness and tidyness was brilliant. Walking on the lawns, was a experience all on its own very soft spongy grass was just like having a thick carpet underneath your feet. Try it for yourself I am sure you will like it, we will be going back there later in 2012 / early 2013

Room Tip: Try and get one that overlooks the lawns with a balcony, really great views of the moors, ponies and other wildlife
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooby1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Totally great location right on the edge of the Moor with sheep and ponies roaming through the grounds of the hotel. Rooms pleasant and clean, with terrific views. Food all good. The staff are polite and helpful without being overly stuffy/formal. If I was looking for something to complain about (as many of the Tripadvisor whingers seem to do) the bathroom could have done with a bit of modernisation, but everything worked fine and wasn't a problem. There is a slightly retro 1970s vibe to the hotel which we really like - this was our fourth stay in the last ten or so years and we've always loved the hotel, its staff and its amazing location. Note for parents - two of the rooms have connecting doors so you can be close to the kids - but not too close!!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms get very good views over distant scenery (downstairs rooms get good views of the grounds). Two rooms have connecting doors, ideal if with kids.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stukeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Great position on the edge of Dartmoor with ponies grazing close by. Fifteen minutes from Plymouth and about the same to Tavistock.
Hotel warrants being a lot more upmarket than it is. Some bedrooms have been upgraded but most are still stuck in the 1970s. The banqueting room has been greatly improved.
Staff are pleasant and helpful but very amateur. Restaurant is a lovely room with garden views and tablecloths but staff all appear to be local part timers with no uniforms , wearing cardigans and not much idea.
Reasonable value for money but hopefully its management will get its act together and add some professionalism and style to the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main block overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PBarbican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I have stayed at this hotel on 5 occassions (last in Sept 2011) as I have family at the university and following a long drive from London I would not keep returning if it did not meet my standards. The bad points!. Yes the decor is a bit dated and the issues on reception are not to a large corporate hotel standards, but the staff do try. The last checkout we were overcharged on the room rate so its something you (and they) need to check, but this was quickly and politely corrected. In addition tea's and coffess were taken off the bill without asking. The steel frame windows in the rooms cause the condensation on the window glass, but this clears quite quickly once they are opened. I don't know which room the last (malicious?) reviewer stayed in, but its certainly not my impression of the hotel. As for distance you can see the size of the hotel in the photo so you are never more than 100 yards from the centre of the hotel. I have noticed improvements since the refurb started and when finished it should meet the taste of most people. Good points. Fab location, lovely grounds and good walks. The food is top class and the service could not be faulted even though the resturant was coping with two large parties on our last visit. Yes breakfast is expensive but no more than any other hotel of the same grade and it certainly sets you up for the day. The hotel gives good value for money and I would certainly recommend it for a long weekend. Its a 20 minute drive to central plymouth for the university, shopping or the historic quays and plenty of sites, things to do in the wider area. coment for the management - can you please fill the pot holes in the top car park. Not a problem during the day but a surprise at night.

Room Tip: Book by phone to secure a deal.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHCStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tippamouse, Owner at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and also for staying with us on numerous occasions. Since your stay in September and as part of the refurbishment programme, the car park has been re-tarmacked, so the pot holes have gone. Glad you like the food, the new head chef comes with a great reputation locally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Booked in here by our 'Office' with no previous experience of staying here
Total nightmare from outset, but having arrived at 23:30 really just too tired to complain or move room to another nightmare:
So in brief - our Room was 100 miles from reception, but apparently doesn't actually exist as the 300 signs in the 400 corridors don't seem to mention it - aaah Found it finally by using the Force!
Corridors smell of damp, Room really smells of damp and we were greeted by 'Death of Flies' and then more flies appearing from seemingly nowhere(??)
Light switches turn on/off spurious lights. Something had left a monster stain on the carpet
There was a weird box in the bathroom covered in sea shells topped with a 100 years of dust!
Tried to open window but sadly broken
Bed damp. Sleepless itchy night
Shower runs hot and cold, that old game of fighting with the clingy shower curtain -
Breakfast staff actually OK, but haven't actually been told that we are CUSTOMERS - Aaaaah of course!: The whole hotel is run purely for the staff and the manager
Still lovely use of the vibrating hoover during breakfast, always relaxing, coupled with Breakfast order confusion - but then breakfast is a a difficult one eh(?)
Hotel supposedly being refurbished - but sensibly should be closed - then completely pulled down, rebuilt and run by somebody that actually knows how to run a Hotel post 1972 Britain
I guess you are 'knocking' the rooms out at a crazy cheap rate so what should we expect?
Good luck

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TripTripper66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tippamouse, Owner at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2011

Not sure why this review has re-appeared - was orignally posted on 4 October, then removed by TripAdvisor as malicious but has now come back again without the hotel's reply being posted...

The hotel does have new owners and is undergoing significant refurbishment, with a number of improvements already completed. Listening to what you've said, we've asked the night staff to be clearer when directing guests to their their bedroom(s) and removed the box you mention.

Since your stay a month ago, we've shown the newly refurbished areas to a number of guests who have commented positively and we hope you come to stay again to see the improvements for yourself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews