We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage, has everything you wish for”
other travellers have booked this property
The Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge
Sunny  patio Comfortable and light sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
The Lodge
Sunny  patio
Comfortable and light sitting room
Matching sofas
Log effect stove
Fully fitted kitchen
Internal view to bedroom
Two 3-foot zip and link beds to create a large double, or two separate single beds
Internal view from bedroom
Large walk-in shower
Owners'  cottage on left. The Forge in centre and The Lodge on right
The Drake Manor 200m away - good food and ale
The village church
Walk onto the Moor from the Lodge
Miles of moorland to explore
Uninterrupted moorland
Take a break to soak up the scenery
Visit the ancient clapper bridge at Postbridge
Enjoy a local cream tea
Loads of footpaths to explore
And riverside walks
Or walk around Burrator Reservoir
Admire the moorland ponies
Parking in front of The Lodge is on reinforced grass
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hetty R
1 review
“Excellent cottage, has everything you wish for”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Well equipped cottage situated in a nice quiet village with an excellent pub and beautiful surroundings, We had a wonderful time in Yelverdon. Plymouth is just down the road and has it all (shops, restaurants, marine aquarium, Mayflower museum). Lydford gorge is worth the effort and the moors are great for walkers! Cream tea in Badgers Holt is a must and the small villages in the moors are gorgeous!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort of the cottage
Liked least: the wifi access (everybody has this problem in Yelverdon)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John S
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“First class rental property”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have stayed here previously and I have again given it 5 stars. Good comfy beds and good shower and bathroom facilities. In a very quiet village and excellent hosts in Andrew and Carol. We will return for another stay with them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large comfy beds and quiet location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Will be booking again!”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a pleasant week in The Lodge. We were met on arrival by Andrew and Carol our hosts who assured us that anything extra we needed - just ask. There was a generous welcome pack awaiting us inside The Lodge and outside a playmate Quito for our dog! Everything inside was built and furnished to a high standard and importantly there is off-road parking on site.
In the village there is a proper dog friendly country pub serving excellent food and beer where we were made very welcome by the locals.
In nearby Yelverton there are several shops and a good café. All in all it is a first class place to stay and we will definitely return in the near future. We would consider this the best holiday rental we have visited.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nothing was too much bother for Andrew and Carol
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy T
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a great holiday in The Lodge the cottage is cosy and comfortable and exceptionally well equipped . Andrew and Carol were the perfect hosts , nothing was too much trouble and were very informative. The location is perfect with really great dog walks right from the door step. The Drake Inn is a really lovely village pub and is very close. We would certainly visit again and would recommend The Lodge very strongly to anyone.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarbaraNo...
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Exceptional holiday accommodation”
Reviewed 7 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our hosts, Andrew and Carol, were exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We found the cottage to be a real delight and suited us to a 'T'. Our hosts had provided some items to assist our stay - milk, coffee and tea- and the whole ambience of our stay in the cottage was off to a fine start. Everything was in pristine condition.
With the weather very pleasant we spent a lovely time one evening chatting over glasses of wine and salmon sandwiches. Thanks so much for your remarkable hospitality. Our week went by so quickly because we visited relatives and friends. We had good access to Plymouth and, as well had reasons to travel into the lovely city of Tavistock to enjoy lunch and walking around the markets.
If you wish to walk around the moors this is an ideal place to stay. The local pub- Drake Manor Inn- was very close and served delicious food. We certainly hope to return to this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: WiFi not always at full strength
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$88
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing