We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Black Dog
Nearby Hotels
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariners Hotel(Lyme Regis)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$294
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fernhill Hotel(Charmouth)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kerrington House(Axminster)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hensleigh House(Charmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveller rating
52
12
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
12
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea roomsconescream teaclean decorhome madesitting roompatteasgelsgardenlymedevonjamcleanliness
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 68 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017

Managed to get into the Old Black Dog as there had been a cancellation and perfect as we only had one night to stay away. We were welcomed by Pat and her husband and made to feel at home straight away. We were shown our room and were instantly in love with the layout and the bright clean decor and the amazing views across the local countryside. The bathroom was huge and had an array of soaps, gels and pampering products for both of us. As keen walkers we asked Pat if there was a rural way to get into town and we were duly given a great route to enjoy the countryside and avoid driving or walking the roads. The tea rooms that accompany the b&b are beautiful and the welcome there was equally rewarding. We will certainly be returning to this beautiful b&b and would thoroughly recommend to friends and family. A true gem of a place and such amazing owners!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Fantastic place , home made food and very tasty it is , we had heard about this place and thought a try out was worth the trip , amazing is my view , sat in the garden , service was quick and a pleasant time was had , it's going to be a regular lunch time venue for us from now ,

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank EssexPuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

I have only been here for tea/coffee and cake - but can testify that it's first class!
There's a vast array of different teas available and all kinds of coffees. The scones and clotted cream with jam are the best we had in the area. Generous portions too. Their gluten free ginger and lemon cake is a hit!
The man serving there was really friendly too - obviously an expert when it comes to teas and also a master when it comes to making cake.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank Paullyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Passing through lyme regis came across this tea room, excellent food and coffee, will visit again when next in this area.
Tea room is clean and bright although a little small it is by no means cramped.
Parking is also easy and free.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016

We booked last minute, and I was a little nervous after reading some of the reviews, but, I have to say it was lovely !
Firstly the Tea Room is a separate business and is run by Rod and his partner.
The B&B is run by mum (Pat) and dad.
We wanted to take our dog so we are prepared for things not to be 'perfect', but as I said we were pleasantly surprised.
There is plenty of parking. It is on a main road so can be a little noisy but we were lucky and were given a back room. The room was clean tidy and comfortable and that includes the bed and pillows, the room was ample size but not huge, however the bathroom was large with a large bath with separate walk in shower. We got the toilet with the old fashioned chain which we loved ( some one on here moaned about it !) and we were lucky enough to be tall enough to pull it ( never heard any thing so ridiculous in my life !!!! ), any way the bathroom was big enough to put our labradors full size crate in there and still be able to get around. The bathroom was filled with shower gels, bubble bath, shampoo etc the towels were lovely too. There was a warm welcome by Rod and his mum and a warm welcome to our dog too who was allowed off his lead to get to know the house dogs. Breakfast was in their sitting room which is 'busy' but no matter, we found it interesting and enjoyed reading the daily papers and looking at all the 'old stuff ' around the room. The breakfast was one of the best we have had and cooked to order. And as we had the dog crate with us we were able to eat dog free. We both slept superbly and only woke to the alarm. All in all for the money it was brilliant and would not hesitate to go there again.

The tea rooms are also superb and the scones are to die for, I can honestly say they were the best we have ever eaten, I don't know what Rod does but he does 'It' right.
We also enjoyed his recommended tea ( he certainly knows his stuff ') we are PG tips tea drinkers so to drink anything other is quite a rarity but we still enjoyed it. We sat in the lovely garden which is kept beautiful, and we were allowed to let the dog off as their dogs were in the house.
So all in all a good time had by us and our dog. We stayed for two nights at the beginning of July.
Thank you to Rod and Pat and families for such a lovely relaxing break, at a lovely affordable price see you again soon.
Gail and Roger Poole

Room Tip: back rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews