We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Interesting little walk round

The Fort was really interesting and the kids enjoyed learning about the history of it. The Octopus... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
T6268PMtomr
via mobile
Great Experience

Great experience , has been restored over the years by volunteers to preserve the history of the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
LoveTravel515934
,
Cheddleton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 313 reviews
  
Reviews (313)
Filter reviews
313 results
Traveller rating
244
52
12
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
244
52
12
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hidden gem well worth a visit beer festival couple of hours interesting place per adult great place to visit re enactments stair lift interesting visit landguard fort helpful volunteers historical society local volunteers run by volunteers the past years entry fee
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 313 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

Can't believe how fascinating this was, the knowledge I got from this trip was unbelievable. The staff and volunteers are absolutely brilliant with what they do here, I have so much respect for them.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank donna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021

Spent an amazing, interesting and enjoyable morning at the fort. The story of the fort and the restoration of the buildings is incredible, 1000s of volunteer hours spent to revive a wreck to a gem that has to be seen to be believed. Something for everyone, no matter their age. Well worth a few hours of anyone’s time. Only £4 entry, kids under 16 are free

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank O2650LFpaulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021

What a wonderful place! This historical fort has been renovated to an amazing degree. It is a fabulous place to visit with so much to see and so much information about its history and the history of the local area. The volunteers who were there on the day we visited could not have been more helpful. The displays and rooms were so interesting and well presented and we had a wonderful time wandering from room to room, we lost trace of time and were totally engrossed. If you are anywhere near Harwich this is a must to visit. The views from the top are breath-taking and you could easily while away a good few hours here without realising how fast the time is passing. We had a great visit and will definitely go again.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank CaroleW1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021

Took my 3 grandchildren here today and they loved it. The staff are very welcoming and friendly and spent time with the boys explaining about the different cannons at the entrance will definitely be going back.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank sarahmH1254TH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2021

we took our grandson along as he really enjoyed Landguard Fort and thought he might enjoy this Fort too, he really enjoyed his time and as an added bonus he got to march with soldiers and and wind an air raid siren too which really added to his experience. We enjoyed ourselves too and highly recommend a visit. Not expensive at £4 each and under 16s free!

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank cheekiemunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews