We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Swanhouse(Harwich)
US$89
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
Marlborough Hotel(Felixstowe)
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orwell Hotel(Felixstowe)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
113
14
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
14
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubgreat beersteaknespresso machinebar tabbeer gardenquiz nightbreakfast was deliciouslots of characterfriendly and welcoming stafffresh seafoodgreat smellingsmallest roomcabin roommod conscomfy bedmodern twist
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in a family room with my husband, toddler and our dog. The hotel is well placed right near the pier in Harwich, from which you can get a foot ferry to Shotley or Felixstowe or do a seal watching trip (no dogs allowed for seal watching though). There are plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby and lots to see in Harwich including the redoubt fort, 2 lighthouses, the lifeboat museum, the beach, a playground, the electric palace and a fair bit more. We followed the maritime trail to see everything. In the hotel itself, our rooms were spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Breakfasts were huge and delicious and they were happy to adapt the standard full english to suit my son. Our dog was also made very welcome and got lots of fuss from staff. We also ate there on two of the nights we stayed and enjoyed everything we had. Would definitely return in the future.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank nicki_t_1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Not to be missed if you want an overnight and great food in Harwich. The welcome was warm and friendly. Our room was comfortable clean and quite with modern on suite. There is lots of character and history in the building. Food including breakfast is fresh and beautifully cooked. There is a wide selection of food and drink to suit all tastes. Nothing is too much trouble. We'll be returning

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kas040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

We stayed in room 2 for 2 nights. Lovely appointed room, good size bathroom with a lovely shower. As it says on the website - the floor is definitely on a slope but this just adds to the property. We stayed over the bank holiday and with the weather outstanding the pub was constantly packed. We managed to grab a table in the garden on our first day and the food and service was excellent. Breakfast was very tasty, however it would be good to know what options are available before ordering, which we had to do on checking in. Staff were very friendly, definitely a pub I think we will be coming back to time and time again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FlaviaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Great pub, lots of Ales. Fantastic friendly atmosphere. Our room was very comfortable with a lovely en suite. We very much enjoyed our stay and had a great breakfast the following morning. Will stay again and have a meal next time!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank trippydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

We were in Room One where a street light shines like the sun until 1am . This and the thin curtains and the very bright night light by the door made for a less than conducive place to sleep. The bathroom was lovely as where the fantastic staff, who were welcoming and very friendly. I was a bit put off by the menu which could be more light and imaginative. Breakfast was good and served on time and to a high standard.

Room Tip: Don't have the rooms by the street lamp.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tonypcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews