We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our cosy second home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Jenny Wren Cottage

Welcome to Jenny Wren Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Jenny Wren Cottage
Traditional stone cottage Cosy lounge with wood burning stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
Welcome to Jenny Wren Cottage
Traditional stone cottage
Cosy lounge with wood burning stove
With compliments - Yorkshire tea and chocolate muffins
Dining area
Electric panel heaters throughout the cottage
Fitted kitchen with modern appliances
King size bed
Double wardrobe
With compliments - guest chocolates
Shower room
Rear patio area
Cottage sign
Situated in a quiet lane leading to the church
Bunting - Tour de France 2014
Our seat in the sun
Racehorses returning from the gallops
Middleham Castle - childhood home of Richard 111
Nearby Pen Hill
Wensleydale cheese - Tour de France 2014
Winter in Church Street.
Middleham church in the snow viewed from our front door.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Middleham, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RedRay201...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Our cosy second home”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Spent a delightful week at this lovely cottage. The fact this was our fifth stay here will tell you what we think of it. Really feel relaxed as soon as we enter our haven of peace which is perfect to put our feet up after long walks in the beautiful North Yorkshire countryside.
Comfy couches and bed ensure that we can rest and prepare for the next day's exertions galvanised by the odd glass of wine or two of course.
Everything you need is provided and if you forget anything , the local shop has a decent range of groceries.
Had a very plentiful and decent Sunday lunch in the Richard the Third, although not as good as about five years ago when we last ate there. The White Swan provides good food and very polite service. We also enjoyed the superb Ham and Eggs in the Cover bridge Inn and the Middleham chippy is pretty good too. A couple of drinks in the Black Swan is also a friendly experience.
Perfect cottage for unwinding away from city life.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It's got such a homely feel.
Liked least: A little more shower power would be nice.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan K
West Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Cozy Haven”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My 2 week stay at Jenny Wren Cottage was a true delight. There was nothing that I needed that wasn't provided. I wanted quiet & cozy & that is exactly what I got! The location was perfect for visiting the village of Middleham. It was an excellant end to a hectic holiday in England. Alan & Angela were the perfect hosts. Their helpful advice & assistance were invaluable.
One bit of advice, unless you are planning to do mostly walking the trails, a car is a must. The bus service in Middleham is very limited!
I would go to Jenny Wren again in a heartbeat!

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort.
Liked least: Chiming of the church clock at night!!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brenda180...
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday cottage in lovely village”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Jenny Wren is a very well appointed holiday cottage. Certainly the nicest I have stayed in. Middleham is a lovely small town with hundreds of racehorses going to the gallops every day. Great location for sight seeing in the Dales. We had a lovely lunch in the Coverbridge Inn after a delightful walk from Middleham along the rive Cover. Sadly the Richard III pub is not as good as it used to be and food very poor. White Swan very pleasant.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable and home from home
Liked least: Shower could benefit from a pump
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing