We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Staithes, North York Moors National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

suzanne r
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“The best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in, absolutely exceptional....”
Reviewed 30 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Perfect from start to finish, the communication with Jacqui was first class. We arrived at the cottage to find birthday bunting, a card, wine and chocolates, my mum was overwhelmed. The quality of the furnishings and the decor is so perfect I can't even put it into words. The beach is two minutes away and the pub is even closer, there is so much to do and so many places to explore without leaving the village, although we would definitely recommend a walk on The Cleveland Way. We literally cannot wait to return, probably twice next year and most likely the year after too, will recommend highly to all my friends. Book it you won't be disappointed!!!!

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2018
Wow !! Thank you so much for the wonderful review, we’re really pleased you had such a good time and made great memories for the family.
Look forward to welcoming you back soon :))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
erobson20...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 24 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

The cottage is beautiful, 20 yards from the sea and 5 yards from the pub, you can’t beat that! We were celebrating a 50th birthday and were delighted with decorations plus prosecco and chocolates. Owner could not of been more helpful and we would love to think we’ll get to stay here again sometime.

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2018
Thank you for the lovely review and hope to see you again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maxaimee
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage”
Reviewed 16 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

A wonderful few days in a beautiful cottage. The cottage was right by the harbour where ducks and seals could be seen. The cottage was very well equipped and spotlessly clean. We had a fantastic holiday and hope to return

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2018
Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you all had such a wonderful time and look forward to welcoming you back soon :))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouiseS37...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will be back”
Reviewed 9 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We stayed at the start of September 2018, my husband and I and our 2yr old. What a beautiful cottage Driftwood is, as is Staithes! The cottage is across 3 floors and was perfect for our mini break by the sea. The cottage was spotlessly clean, the kitchen is really well equipped for cooking, the beds were super comfy and the peek you get of the sea from the lounge and the bedrooms make this a great spot. Board games included and a log burner in the lounge made this super cosy. The calming decor and uncluttered space made me feel really relaxed and I felt like I was having a real treat by staying here.
On a practical note the parking for the cottage is approx 10 mins walk away (with a toddler) up a very steep hill (holding giant toddler), but you can park directly outside the cottage by the Cod & Lobster pub to load / unload without problem so in theory you could drive down into the village each time and load car with kids.
Our son liked the cottage so much that he took some coaxing outside but when we did, he loved the beach, seeing the boats, visiting the RNLI lifeboat and digging holes in the sand.
I feel like we could easily go back to Staithes and discover more as we only made it to a couple of local cafes, the butchers, the Cod & Lobster for a pint and the beach. If we had spent the days there or got out for a meal in staithes then I think there are decent options for pubs and nearby restaurants. The cobbled streets in Staithes were not awash with people when we went as we went term-time but on the day we left the annual art festival was starting up and thousands of visitors were expected with an open-house gallery set up, around 70 I think.

We want to go back to Driftwood ASAP basically, loved it.

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2018
Wow.. thank you for the wonderful review Louise.
Really pleased you all had such a fab time.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you once again
for choosing Driftwood :-))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramblin_S...
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely cottage!”
Reviewed 13 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Booked it for my wife's 40th having seen Staithes on CBBCs Old Jacks Boat. We arrived to birthday bunting and a bottle of prosecco courtesy of the owners which was lovely and surprising as I hadn't asked, they did it off their own bat!
Cottage is lovely and the kids loved seeing the sea from both the lounge and their bedroom. All mod cons and very cosy, I imagine it would be nice durkng the colder months too. Great location to explore Staithes and the surrounding areas or go rockpooling.

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2018
Thank you for the lovely review Nick
Hope to welcome you back soon :))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.