We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White Hart Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Phyllis Court Club(Henley-on-Thames)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Loch Fyne Henley(Henley-on-Thames)
US$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Catherine Wheel(Henley-on-Thames)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Vin(Henley-on-Thames)
US$139
US$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Red Lion Hotel(Henley-on-Thames)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Henley Business School(Henley-on-Thames)
US$137
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$71
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
George Hotel(Wallingford)
US$189
US$159
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Baskerville(Shiplake)(Great Value!)
US$156
US$124
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (678)
Filter reviews
678 results
Traveller rating
318
245
74
31
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
318
245
74
31
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshenley on thamessecret escapes dealroll top bathroad noisetravelzoo offercourse mealfree standing bathlovely roomwalk in showerthe pubfull englishsuperior roomthree courseslarge showercoffee machinecomfy bedenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 678 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited this hotel back in January on a secret escape deal and it was excellent in all ways so was looking forward tonight to more of the same and was disappointed to say the least with the table service.The food was overall good but the guy waiting our table seemed totally disinterested and not even a farewell when we left from anybody.
Hopefully it’s a one off and will probably return a some stage.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank barry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely country pub and hotel, room was fabulous (Olive). Staff are really friendly and helpful. Food superb, breakfast excellent and restaurant very professional. Especially liked the quirkiness of the room and the furnishings. Thoroughly recomended. Oh, and really good beer.

Room Tip: Olive room
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckyeddie1322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a very comfortable & spacious room in a building across the yard so no problems with noise though the view was only of the stairs outside to the top floor. The bathroom was modern & looked great but the sink taps had a mind of their own & revolved, also dripped & were impossible to turn off & were minus the top button on one. The bath tap also dripped constantly. The shower head was floppy & wouldn't stay in place & the controls were too complicated, didn't seem to work properly & even when temperature was turned right down it was still rather hot, fortunately I had my husband try it first! A plumbers attention would sort all these issues I am sure. I really can't believe we were the first to experience them.
We were supplied with a jug of fresh milk for tea & teapot in our rooms on request. Our evening meal was delicious, so we really looked forward to breakfast. Sadly we were very frustrated on arriving at 0900 to find that they had run out of muesli, orange juice, saucers, plates,& there were no tables laid up. The coffee machine was way too slow when tried & tea was a tea bag made using the same machine, so it very quickly ran out of water with no sign of anyone to replenish it, and no one to ask for a teapot.There were two staff apparent but they seemed busy & blissfully unaware of our struggles to cope. Delicious Toast eventually arrived but with three packs of butter for four people, we had to ask for more, that said the cooked breakfast was excellent when it arrived. Eventually more orange appeared but by then we all felt rather ignored, the staffing was clearly totally insufficient. What was otherwise a good experience was really spoilt for us, it could easily have been so much better. A lovely part of the world & handy for nearby NT property.

Room Tip: Rooms in outbuilding are quieter.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank wunchapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were delighted to find that our booking had been upgraded to a Suite. The rooms were functional with a large bedroom containing a roll top bath plus a shower room and separate toilet. There was also a separate lounge.
We soon learned that the mobile phone signal was non existent and that the hotel plus the local community had ongoing technical problems with the provider.
The rooms were clean but the stained settee and carpet plus a broken blind in the bedroom and a two inch tear in the bed sheet somewhat spoiled the initial feel good factor.
The food was average and I had to send back a rack of lamb which could not be cut and was frankly inedible. The waitor, however,.immediately offerred a replacement. I do appreciate that they had an unexpected number of 'walk ins' for a Sunday evening which must have put the kitchen staff under a certain amount of pressure.
Breakfast was pretty basic with little choice and, much to my wifes annoyance, they had run out of salmon.
Overall we enjoyed the hotel and our break and felt that the 'Secret Escapes' package was good value for money.We just felt that a little more attention to detail by staff would have eliminated the problems we found.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank duncanhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I reviewed the White Hart a couple of years ago & gave it 5 stars. This time the experience was very different & if it wasn't for the helpful staff & good evenng food I would have given it a poor rating. In my mind it has become a victim of its own success & complacency has settled in. Last time we were there our room was lovely & big & light with plenty of amenities. This time round my wife & I both agreed it was one of the worse rooms we have ever stayed in. We went with Secret Escapes again so just beware if you are looking at that deal that some of the rooms are not great. Ours was tired with 1 broken chair (There were 2 of us staying for 2 nights so that was annoying) & a broken bed leg. The bathroom was big & well presented but just didn't fit the room which was tiny. The room window was also less than a metre from the A4130 which is a major road in the area & the noise of the traffic was horrendous. It did quiet down at night but we still had traffic going past at intervals all night which kept my wife awake. Another oddity was that the bathroom door has no outside handle meaning that the door couldn't be shut from the outside.
The evening food at the White Hart is good & we did both enjoy our meals. However the breakfast was not great. There is a very limited choice on the menu & this was made worse as when we stayed they seemed to have run out of everything. No marmalade, no brown bread, no hash browns. The person serving blamed the snow from the previous week, but as there is a Waitrose supermarket less than 5 miles away we thought this was just a poor excuse. We were expecting them to tell us they had no milk & eggs the second morning.
We did love the area around Henley on Thames but in future we will be choosing a different hotel. The White Hart Secret Escapes deal might look good on paper but it simply wasn't worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DrifterSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews