We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food as always”

The Shieling Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 18 Restaurants in Gairloch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Pleasant bar and restaurant serving breakfast , lunch and dinner . Lovely views over to the Isle of Skye. Average prices . Snack menu .Childrens menu.Coffee lounge. Outside seating for 30 people. Free wifi for customers. HOURS ARE : Monday through Saturday 10 till 4 pm SUNDAY CLOSED
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

We are regular visitors to the area and always make sure we fit a visit to The Shieling in while we are here. We visited twice this week, once on Wednesday for a light meal in the lounge and again today for lunch.

It never disappoints, the food is lovely and the service is always very good.

We love the homemade bakewell slices and I discovered the homemade sherry trifle today, very nice.

All in all a great place to go for a meal or a snack and we will definitely return when we are next in the area.

Thank Joolz1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C, Owner at The Shieling Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks for the nice review . It all helps to keep our spirits up . Donald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2017

Visited yesterday (23/11).

It would appear that out of season The Shieling is almost literally the only place open in the area - this did not inspire confidence.

On arriving it was moderately busy with an ageing clientele (I am 46 and I was one of the youngest customers by some margin).

We ordered the Cheeseburger (there was a Wagyu burger available - which I don't understand as Wagyu, real or otherwise is about texture, taste and mouthfeel) and my wife ordered the Cajun Chicken burger... and they were both really, really good.

I am not sure if this standard is maintained when the ghastly NC500 is in full swing - but out of season its a good place to visit for lunch (they close at 4)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eldrakyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C, Owner at The Shieling Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Thanks for your positive review . We do an old folks lunch on a Thursday hence the age difference! Next time try the Wagyu burger as it is really tasty and the real deal . Enjoyed reading your other reviews , you made me laugh ! Our standards are pretty good all year . I have taken a month to recover from the busy summer and hoards of NC groups , screaming children and Facebook celebrities. Donald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Stopped in here for our one week wedding anniversary lunch after a lovely honeymoon with our pooch, Loui. Made to feel really welcome. We were greeted by owner Donald who was a pleasure and we had a nice wee chat.
When our lunch came Donald had sent a wee bowl of ham for Loui to enjoy as well. All the staff were lovely and friendly and service was great even though they were also catering for a huge crowd. Very yummy as well with beautiful views out to the bay. Great selection of Gin and local goodies to take away as well. We'll definitely be back. Smashing! Thanks so much to everyone at The Shieling! Kris, Stuart & Loui

Thank albaimage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C, Owner at The Shieling Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thanks for the nice comments . We do try to be nice to people especially people who , like yourselves are pleasant. Not everybody is though and they give a 1 star review , which means it’s the pits , because the waitress didn’t smile at their screaming children or they had to wait a few minutes when the place is packed out .
Nice to meet you and hope to see you again . Donald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Went here regular every week for 10 weeks until we went in and waited at door to be given a table (only one left) a couple came in behind us and waitress walked past us and took couple to table, we walked out and wont be back.

3  Thank zebra52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C, Owner at The Shieling Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Are you sure you have the right place as we haven’t been full for a few weeks . Also it’s a bit unfair to give 1 star when you said you were here 10 times and kept coming back . Why no positive review? That’s quite rude of you . Donald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Plan your meal around the dessert menu! The Sticky Toffee Pudding is amazing and a treat to be only tasted in Scotland!! Service was friendly and prompt. Great to talk to the bar man who had lived in the US for a time.

Thank 925lyndah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shieling Restaurant also viewed

Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Shieling Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing