We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch and friendly young staff”

The Shieling Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 18 Restaurants in Gairloch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$33
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Pleasant bar and restaurant serving breakfast , lunch and dinner . Lovely views over to the Isle of Skye. Average prices . Snack menu .Childrens menu.Coffee lounge. Outside seating for 30 people. Free wifi for customers. HOURS ARE : Monday through Saturday 10 till 4 pm SUNDAY CLOSED
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We were in Gairloch between Christmas and New Year, with friends. We have been for lunch before so knew we would enjoy our meal here. It was a lunchtime visit so we had variations on soup and a sandwich. The Cullen Skink was fantastic (I felt a bit sorry that I had the last of it as two other diners asked and were told it was all gone!). I had so much delicious fish that it was like a main meal. The prawn sandwich my friend had was enormous! However, we ate every last bit and waddled back to the car. The young waitresses were very bright and friendly and service was swift. My only criticism was that the path from the car park was treacherous with ice. Might have been a good idea for someone to clear that before opening - a nasty accident waiting to happen.

Thank zillion50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 424 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2017

Popped in for lunch off season, one of the few restuarants that was open. Very friendly staff made us feel welcome. Although food was on the expensive side, it was very well presented, large portions and the fish and salads were very fresh.

One of the best restaurant we have eaten at in the Highlands, would thoroughly recommend.

Restaurant also had free wifi / BT wifi.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

We are regular visitors to the area and always make sure we fit a visit to The Shieling in while we are here. We visited twice this week, once on Wednesday for a light meal in the lounge and again today for lunch.

It never disappoints, the food is lovely and the service is always very good.

We love the homemade bakewell slices and I discovered the homemade sherry trifle today, very nice.

All in all a great place to go for a meal or a snack and we will definitely return when we are next in the area.

Thank Joolz1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C, Owner at The Shieling Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thanks for the nice review . It all helps to keep our spirits up . Donald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Visited yesterday (23/11).

It would appear that out of season The Shieling is almost literally the only place open in the area - this did not inspire confidence.

On arriving it was moderately busy with an ageing clientele (I am 46 and I was one of the youngest customers by some margin).

We ordered the Cheeseburger (there was a Wagyu burger available - which I don't understand as Wagyu, real or otherwise is about texture, taste and mouthfeel) and my wife ordered the Cajun Chicken burger... and they were both really, really good.

I am not sure if this standard is maintained when the ghastly NC500 is in full swing - but out of season its a good place to visit for lunch (they close at 4)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eldrakyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C, Owner at The Shieling Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Thanks for your positive review . We do an old folks lunch on a Thursday hence the age difference! Next time try the Wagyu burger as it is really tasty and the real deal . Enjoyed reading your other reviews , you made me laugh ! Our standards are pretty good all year . I have taken a month to recover from the busy summer and hoards of NC groups , screaming children and Facebook celebrities. Donald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Stopped in here for our one week wedding anniversary lunch after a lovely honeymoon with our pooch, Loui. Made to feel really welcome. We were greeted by owner Donald who was a pleasure and we had a nice wee chat.
When our lunch came Donald had sent a wee bowl of ham for Loui to enjoy as well. All the staff were lovely and friendly and service was great even though they were also catering for a huge crowd. Very yummy as well with beautiful views out to the bay. Great selection of Gin and local goodies to take away as well. We'll definitely be back. Smashing! Thanks so much to everyone at The Shieling! Kris, Stuart & Loui

Thank albaimage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don C, Owner at The Shieling Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Thanks for the nice comments . We do try to be nice to people especially people who , like yourselves are pleasant. Not everybody is though and they give a 1 star review , which means it’s the pits , because the waitress didn’t smile at their screaming children or they had to wait a few minutes when the place is packed out .
Nice to meet you and hope to see you again . Donald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Shieling Restaurant also viewed

Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 
Gairloch, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to The Shieling Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing