We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely FANTASTIC!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Coach House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Swimming Pool Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Swimming Pool
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
From the Courtyard
View of from the Balconies
Lunch Outside
Sitting in Comfort
The Study
Master Bedroom
Relaxation
Twin Room
Twin Room
The Coach House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Lacock, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rosemarie...
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Absolutely FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Our stay at the Coach House was absolutely fantastic. My husband and I and our two young sons absolutely adored the house, Fiona and Matthew and of course the beloved dog Mingulay! My children miss their daily 'fetch' games with Mingulay and I see a Border Collie in the Miller Family's future as a result of our stay in Chittoe. :-) The house itself could not have been any more comfortable. Perfectly outfitted with everything we needed for our week long stay, including snug beds, comfy furniture, modern baths, a wood stove, board games and plenty of room outdoors for the boys to run and play. The location is well suited to touring Southern England, which we tackled on a daily basis. It was always a joy to come back to The Coach House each evening, light a fire in the wood stove and snuggle up together in the sitting room. We truly felt at home and content. My 11 year old son was in tears the day we had to leave! We were all sad to go and look forward to returning to England soon. I think the Coach House would be the perfect getaway over the Christmas Holiday! It's actually the perfect getaway for ANY holiday and we would all highly recommend it. Two thumbs up + !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike V
Ingelmunster, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
“what a great place”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A very nice welcome awaited us on arrival, with a bottle of wine, home made jam and fresh vegetables from the garden. Thank you Fiona. The coach house itself is cosy, comfortable and spacy. Excellent beds and clean and spacy bathrooms. The mediterranean-like pool is great, and the settings are brilliant, but we will miss the little swallows in the barn even more. For people like us that like to "see things" the location near Stonehenge, Avebury, Bath, Lacock, Bradford-upon-Avon was ideal and even Glastonbury and Winchester were not too far away. But I would also recommend the place for who only looks for a quiet relaxing stay at the countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the friendly welcome
Liked least: very hard to tell... (perhaps driving left)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments and it was lovely to meet you. I hope the coats you left behind have arrived back safely.
Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrauAnna9...
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, cosy, cottage, excellent location, friendly owners.”
Reviewed 2 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Just returned from a week's stay at 'The Coach House'. Beautifully renovated cottage, a very homely feel and clean:-). The owners were very friendly and kind. A welcome 'pack' included the most delicious jar of homemade jam. Our children loved the extremely friendly dogs and the chickens at the end of the garden. Perfect location in Wiltshire, beautiful countryside and convenient for many National Trust/English Heritage sites and the city of Bath. We highly recommend this cottage and look forward ourselves to returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly owners and the homely feel of the cottage and it's generous size.
Liked least: A couple of draughty windows (but we live in Switzerland where that doesn't exist!;-)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mum0ftw0m...
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent base to explore the county of Wiltshire”
Reviewed 13 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We have just arrived back from a week at The Coach House, we have had a wonderful time. The Coach House is set in the grounds of The Old Vicarage, it is beautiful. The house itself is very warm and inviting and despite the recent cold spell we were never cold. There is a wood burning stove that just adds to the character of the place. The beds were very comfy and everything was clean and as you would expect. The twin room has a shower room attached which is fantastic. The main bedroom has a bath, but we tended to use the shower room in the twin room. The children loved the outside, there is plenty of safe area around the house where the children were able to use their bikes and play ball. It was great. We had thought that we may have picked somewhere a bit out in the sticks when we looked at google earth, but to be honest we found the location to be very central to everywhere we wanted to go. The nearest town is Devizes which is definately worth a couple of visits and you can get everything you need here. We travelled to Longleat, Bath and Bristol all were within an hour of the house, which we thought was just perfect. We went to Lacock which was beautiful and where a number of tv programmes have used as a set. We also went to Caan Hill Locks from here, Stonehenge and the White Horse. It was a really good location to go from. The owners were very nice, helpful and inviting. All in all a great place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large open airy feel to the whole house.
Liked least: Having to come home.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Versailles, France
Reviewed 18 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We were very comfortable and felt at home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing