We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great base to explore the Highlands”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 Stone Cottage

Stone Cottage 1 is the left hand section of the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stone Cottage 1 is the left hand section of the cottage
Halo branded sofa and furniture within the cottage. Living room with loch views to the front.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Stone Cottage 1 is the left hand section of the cottage
Halo branded sofa and furniture within the cottage.
Living room with loch views to the front.
Curl up on the sofa with a good book and enjoy the warmth from the log burning stove
Fully equipped kitchen.  Plenty of crockery, pans and cooking utensils
New worktops, oven, hob and sink installed December 2013
Kitchen with doors to living room and the outside patio area
Main bedroom with king size bed, with views across the loch to the front  and rear garden
Downstairs twin bedroom.  New window installed December 2013
Downstairs twin bedroom
Bathroom with electric shower and bath
Bathroom with electric shower
Entrance hall
Laundry room with washing machine and tumble dryer for guests to use
Garden at rear of property.  Deer can be seen on occasions eating the grass
Area at rear of cottage for parking cars
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ballachulish, Glencoe, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Julie B
Brisbane, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
“Great base to explore the Highlands”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Stone Cottage. It was warm and comfortable with a kitchen that included all that we needed. While it is on the main road, it was not too busy at night. The view of loch opposite is wonderful. We stayed for 3 nights and it was a great base. We went to Oban, Loch Ness and also on Jacobite Railway. We were pleased we stayed here rather than Fort William. Recommend highly.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally h
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This cottage was exactly what we wanted for our honeymoon, the setting was idyllic the views from the living room was amazing, it was clean, warm and welcoming. We toured Scotland on our motorbike and looked forward to the end of the day when we returned, I have never been in such a big bath was so good to soothe my aching limbs. My husband was so complementary to me about the choice that I had made but our thanks are to Sue as number 1 stoney cottage is a home away from home thank you for letting us borrow it. We would advise anybody to stay here. Thank you Rick and Sally

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kinghorn fife
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Watching the fox in the back garden
Liked least: wet wood in the log basket
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
billbrend...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“the best cottage we have stayed in at glencoe.”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

felt i was getting the whole experience of old times , log fire woodlands at back of cottage and beautiful view of loch from front. great location for village and walks to glencoe. i loved the huge bath and great bed . hope to return soon . thankyou brenda and billy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: stone fireplace an wood burner
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaKemp...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Homely, cosy, superbly equipped, and a perfect location.”
Reviewed 25 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Spent Christmas week at no 1 Stone cottage. Despite appalling weather, we had a grand time. The cottage exceeded our expectations, it is spacious, spotlessly clean and has everything you could possibly need. A fantastic place to go to and recharge the batteries!
Best part of the holiday was sitting in front of the wood burning stove (which gives out a great heat) sipping a glass of good Burgundy. Ye cannae beat it !
I highly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The environment
Liked least: Weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing