We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great find!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Burnbrae Mill

Burnbrae Mill Summer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Burnbrae Mill Summer
Summer view from Burnbrae Kitchen/Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
70 reviews
Burnbrae Mill Summer
Summer view from Burnbrae
Kitchen/Dining Room
Kitchen/Dining Room
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Main Bedroom
Twin Room
Twin room
Bunk Room
Ground Floor Family Bathroom
Wet Room
Meet one of our badgers, photo kindly donated by a guests. Viewing can be arranged.
Burnbrae Mill Winter
Journey to Threave Castle
Sandyhills Beach
Down at Kirkcudbright
Sledging at Burnbrae
Mountain biking in Dalbeattie Forest
Red Haven Beach
Loch Ken Aqua Park
Wind Surfing on Loch Ken
Badgers photographed by Ian Dickie at Burnbrae Mill April 2017
The night sky by Ian Dickie at Burnbrae April 2017
Overview
Watermill -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 70 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
599annie
hexham
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed at Burnbrae mill for a long weekend. The accommodation is gorgeous with everything you could possibly need and more. The freshly decorated bedrooms are located downstairs with living areas upstairs to make the most of the stunning views. On arrival we were delighted to find a large fresh cream Victoria sandwich cake in the fridge. There was also milk,tea and coffee.The downstairs wetroom is a real luxury! Overall the house is well planned, spotlessly clean and is probably one of the best I have stayed in.The owners are warm and friendly but do not intrude.There is little light pollution so on a clear night the stars are AMAZING!

There is plenty to do in the area including numerous hiking trails. We especially loved the coastal walk from Sandyhills to Rockcliffe.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa S
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A jewel in Scotland's crown”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I visited Burnbrae with my 3 children aged 10, 3 & 1 and my Mum. The property is immaculate and immediately felt like home. Holidays with toddlers can be difficult at times but with a stair gate and a bed guard rail and a lovely highchair provided everything was there and I could relax knowing the children were safe. The outdoor toys and pitch and putt in the garden are great too. Perfect location for any age group as either a quiet retreat or a base to explore all that Dumfries & Galloway has to offer. We visited Mabie Farm Park (using tesco clubcard vouchers), the Dino Park, the Cocoabean company, Cream o'Galloway and Drummuir farm ice cream. We also had fun on the beach at Sandyhills and Rockcliffe. The home baked Victoria Sponge is such a lovely gesture and was exquisite. The view from the lounge window is picture perfect and we were also fortunate enough to see another couple of lambs being born. Allan and Suzanne are the perfect hosts and have thought of everything. They are clearly passionate about what they do and have put a great deal of thought into providing the perfect getaway. Allan rescued me when my car got stuck with his tractor and both him and Suzanne took my 10 year old horse riding twice. They also invited her to play with their children which she thoroughly enjoyed. I have already recommended Burnbrae to many people and will continue to do so. My children were in tears when we left and this is testament to a wonderful couple who genuinely care about others, a rare trait these days. I cannot praise them enough and look forward to returning. Thanks again for a holiday to remember.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tranquility
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne M
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Wonderful stay at Burnbrae mill cottage with the kids. The cottage itself was very clean and had everything we needed and more.
Beautiful views across the countryside.
We were lucky enough to witness the new lambs being born. The wee burn running alongside and lovely gardens made it such a tranquil setting.
The kids enjoyed going to see the Red Kites and the cocoa bean company.
Thanks again to Allan, Suzanne and family for a lovely welcome and super short break we didnt want to leave.
A real home from home. Highly recommend Burnbrae. Pictures dont do it justice.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs Miche...
1 review
“Absolutely perfect. Owners deserve all the praise they get.”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I had read the reviews before we went and they were so good we decided to go to the mill. It is in as beautiful a setting as described, we had a wonderful welcome and a cake made by the owners which was to die for. The recommendation book of places to eat etc, was very accurate and up to date. For the first time in a long time, this holiday was over far too quickly and we will be back without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The décor and cleanliness of the property was exceptional.
Liked least: Not a thing.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick G
1 review
“Extreemly pleasent owner and a beautifully placed and maintained property”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We were looking for a weekend break in this area and to catch up on old memories of the surrounding towns and villages.
The property is perfectly maintained to a very high standard and at what we thought was a very reasonable price. Beautiful views from the lounge window and we were short of nothing, very comfortable furniture, 2 large screen TV's and games consoles in both lounge and dining room TV, DVD player, Hi Fi.
A fully equipped and large kitchen with adjoining dining room, good sized bed rooms and most of all very comfortable beds.
The second we walked into the house it screamed high standard welcome and relaxation with an enormous Fresh home baked Cream cake in the fridge.
I would recommend this let to anyone just wanting to relax with easy access to shop, walks and lots of other things to do in the surrounding towns and villages.
The next time we come into this area this will be our first choice for our stay.

Thanks to the owners for a very pleasant and memorable stay at a really reasonable price

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location cost and quality of the property.
Liked least: We wern't able to stay longer because of work commitments.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$83
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing