We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house”
other travellers have booked this property
Bespoke oak kitchen with open plan dining area. Integrated steam oven, coffee machine & dish washer
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bespoke oak kitchen with open plan dining area. Integrated steam oven, coffee machine & dish washer
Sitting room with 3D TV, twin sofas and arm chair overlooking walled garden. Dining area with seating for 6. Large walnut and oak island also seats guests.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Bespoke oak kitchen with open plan dining area. Integrated steam oven, coffee machine & dish washer
Sitting room with 3D TV, twin sofas and arm chair overlooking walled garden.
Dining area with seating for 6. Large walnut and oak island also seats guests.
Four poster bed in charming room furnished with Art Deco furniture
Small double room with art deco fireplace and wardrobe
Very large room with superking sized bed. Cot/cotbed available.
Family bathroom with bath and shower.
Downstairs shower room with power shower and WC
Rear view of house and private walled garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Townhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Castle Douglas, Dumfries and Galloway, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steve B
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful house”
Reviewed 8 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The house itself is beautiful, recently renovated to an extremely high standard. The location is as central as you can get for Castle Douglas and is perfect as a home from home to enjoy the area.
I do not hesitate for a moment in recommending this house for a holiday and I will be doing so again myself in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury the house provided
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
Thank you very much for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanna200...
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant Stay with my family”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in September 2015

We had a brilliant stay in Castle Douglas. The house is located right on the main street, I stayed with my husband and 2 kids, 3 year old and 1 year old. The house is beautiful and immaculate inside and decorated to a high standard. Castle Douglas is a lovely town with lovely eating places. We also visited the chocolate factory which the kids loved, this is only a short car journey away. We walked to most places as the house is very central. The park with the loch is lovely and the kids had a great time. I was a bit apprehensive about staying right on the main street with the kids but this was not a problem as the house is very secure. The people in Castle Douglas are very warm and friendly. Looking forward to my next stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
I am so glad you enjoyed the house and your stay in Castle Douglas. I hope we welcome you and your family again sometime in the near future. Thanks for your lovely review. Kind Regards Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeeTravel...
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Simply gorgeous!!!”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Such a great location, right on the high street of Castle Douglas. Cafes and shops therefore at your doorstep. The house is very large and beautifully decorated. Beds were very comfy.
I would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2016
Thanks very much for your review, I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we see you again soon. Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstyd51...
2 reviews
“Cocoon yourself in Castle Douglas”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

This house is simply sublime.
It's set on castle douglas' main street - but it's a world away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Gill and her family have lovingly restored and renovated this house to a standard that would put many an abode seen on Grand Designs to shame. We have had two wonderful, relaxing family breaks in this tardis-like property, with its super spacious rooms (you could get lost in the master bed), AMAZING kitchen and luxury furnishings. It comes complete with a spectrum antique fittings and an expansive back garden - all adding to the magic of this wonderful home-from-home.
Cocoon yourself in Castle Douglas. We couldn't recommend this property enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I'm over the moon that you and your children loved the house, the town and the surrounding area as much as I have over the years.

I look forward to welcoming you all back in 2016, not forgetting Gallus too.

Kind Regards
Gill & family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing