We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful room and stunning view”
Review of The Arch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Arch Inn
Ranked #9 of 45 Ullapool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clydebank, Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful room and stunning view”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We arrived in Ullapool after a wonderful drive up the A82 from clydebank and had booked The Arch Inn as a relaxing stoppover before we caught the ferry on the saturday morning. We choose this place to say as I had enjoyed drinks in the bar on other trips and was also impressed by the website. We parked in one of the allocatted spaces right outside the entrance and "checked in" at the bar. We were shown to our room which was in an annexe across from the bar and were delighted with our room. If you look on the website which shows you a white walled room with modern bedding and furnishings well we were lucky to be given the same room. The room was spotless and had a stunning view over Loch Broom. I have read a few bad reviews about the rooms the bar and the restaurant but we had a perfect room, an enjoyable drink in the bar and a wonderful meal in the very busy and popular restaurant. The breakfast in the morning after a restful sleep was just perfect so all in all I would recommend this hotel for a great stoppover in Ullapool.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themozzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    94
    37
    10
    11
See reviews for
27
153
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Booked this hotel online after looking at their website and thinking it would be a nice place to stay. Reception was in the bar which was full of rowdy drinkers at 4pm. Shown where the rooms were and told that this part of the hotel was locked at night. The rooms looked nothing like the website portrayed and the room my son was given was smelling of cigarette smoke when it describes the hotel as "non smoking". Complained to the manager who then gave us the room next door which had a view of the outside bar area and a window that would not close. Decided we did not want to stay there even after driving up from Edinburgh (6 hours) I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Unhappy186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dollar
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

arrived in ullapool with the intention of going on to Achiltibuie campsite but weather was atrocious and we thought we were otu of luck with no vacancy singns everywhere, that is until we tooka wrong turn down the dead end road at the harbour and spotted this little place. the bar was busy with lots of people watching the footy and the food area was also busybut they had a double room at £80 for B nd B and it was just what the doctor ordered. lovely soft double bed nice duvet muted lighting, small shower room but hot powerful shower, only downside was that we were on the ground floor so had to close the blinds.

lunch was lovely but we didnt stay in for dinner as it was mobbed! breakfast was also v good , and yes the bar was busy and noisy and open til 12 on a sunday night but honestly hardly heard a peep when back in my room recommended

parked our van just over the road opposite our room but if we hadnt been able to park there they had an informal arrangement with the caravan site car park

free wifi yippee!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_celie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
Level Contributor
173 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We hadn't planned to stay here but got stuck in Ullapool due to a delayed ferry.
The room was not huge but fresh and felt new and clean. The view over the water was nice.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC_Malmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The Arch Inn is nothing like its website portrays. It is loud and full of drunks. The rooms are sad and pieced together with cheap furniture. The website is very well done and would lead you to believe it is stylish and cosy. We checked out as soon as we could and found a lovely hotel called The Ceilidh Place for only £10 more.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pea72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ullapool
0.5 km away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#5 of 6 in Ullapool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 km away
Caledonian Hotel
Caledonian Hotel
#6 of 6 in Ullapool
3.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
17.4 km away
The Summer Isles Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Dundonnell Hotel
Dundonnell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Little Loch Broom
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
28.8 km away
Inver Lodge Hotel
Inver Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Lochinver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.8 km away
The Aultguish Inn
The Aultguish Inn
#2 of 4 in Garve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Arch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Arch Inn

Property: The Arch Inn
Address: 10-11 West Shore Street, Ullapool IV26 2UR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ullapool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Ullapool
Price range (per night): RM307 - RM742
Hotel Class:3 star — The Arch Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 10 room Inn, with bar and private dining room. Also serving meals 7 days a week in lounge bar - lunches and dinner. Rooms have been recently refurbished, most with sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Arch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arch Hotel Ullapool
The Arch Inn Ullapool, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing