We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Flawless - not a fault to be found!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Seaside Cottage

Your holiday home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your holiday home
A well deserved treat in front of a roaring fire Welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Your holiday home
A well deserved treat in front of a roaring fire
Welcome
Garden view, over the water to the North Harris Hills
Comfortable lounge with real fire, free wi-fi, Sky TV, loads of books & DVDs
Spacious bedroom with kingsize bed
Morning coffee with a view
Well equipped kitchen dining room
Romance
Luxurious spa bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ithacan5
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Flawless - not a fault to be found!”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Seaside Cottage is quite simply perfect. The situation is breath-taking, with fantastic views of the sea and the mountains; and a local great northern diver to watch over breakfast. The cottage itself, honestly, is just wonderful. Nothing has been omitted: the crockery is charming and so is the tea cosy (ok, it's a small thing, but trust me, it IS!), the bathroom is the height of luxury, the kitchen is amazingly well-equipped (waking up to the smell of fresh bread thanks to the breadmaker is a first for a holiday cottage for us)...I could go on, but, in a nutshell, go there! You will love it. The island of Harris too is unbelievably beautiful, whatever the weather (and we had a bit of almost everything). The only disappointment was that it didn't snow, because then we might have got stuck there - bliss!
We want to go back: so I must be mad telling you all about it, but it isn't fair to the lovely owner (who even so kindly posted in something we'd left behind) not to!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolyn j
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely cottage”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

a lovely cottage in a beautiful location. Very well equipped and extremely comfortable. The under floor heating in the bathroom is an extra bonus. We have stayed in a lot of cottages around the highlands and islands and this is definately one of the best . I would happily return and from the guest book it looks as if there are a lot of people who do exactly that.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and the just how well equipped it was
Liked least: there was nothing I didnt like
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeter8765
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just finished our second visit to Seaside Cottage and are planning our third there is nowhere better to stay on the island of Harris the accommodation is even better than the photos on the website. A great accommodation for a beautiful island you will not be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel W
Ripon, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really Homely”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Amazing Cottage with absolutely everything you could possibly need and even things you hadn't thought you would need! Everything is immaculate and very comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped and the highland stoneware crockery is just beautiful!
The view from the kitchen window is the best you will ever find and if you do nothing else all week you can sit and watch the world go by. The local fisherman brought us Lobster and Mackrel !

Great base for exploring, saw Golden Eagles from the Eagle hide and Orcas from Northton Beach.

Really friendly hosts and easy booking process. Accommodated our 2 yr old in a travel cot.

Anyone heading here, you are very lucky indeed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony R
Usk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An immaculate Cottage and a superb holiday.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We've stayed in Seaside Cottage twice, once two years ago for a week,
and two weeks in July this year. It's hard to describe this cottage,
as there's just about everything you would need apart from food already
there. It is the most comfortable place to be, whatever the weather.
The picture window in the kitchen is a sight to be gazed at, across the
loch to the mountains beyond. If you get bored with that (who can??)
there's the large TV, quite fast internet, even a laptop and printer!
The kitchen is fully equipped, even a bread maker, and someone was kind
enough to leave a packet of bread flour for us too. I could go on for
ever, but then you might just want to book it too, we've just booked
September 2015, and can't wait to be back. Oh, and while you're there
book a boat trip with Lewis Mackenzie, (hebridesfishntrips.co.uk) we saw
Sea Eagles, and caught loads of fish, we ate a full Cod and a full Pollock,
they were absolutely gorgeous! That made this wonderful holiday complete.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property was furnished to a very high level.
Liked least: It did rain on one or two days!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$154
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing