We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and vista”
Review of The Gwbert Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Gwbert Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

A great hotel with friendly staff.
The estuary a beautiful backdrop.
Food excellent and very reasonable for a hotel.
Only one slight drawback in this day and age was a lack of powerpoints in the room.
Unfortunately had to cut visit short due to family emergency.Would have loved to stay longer.
Would recommend to anyone.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank timmarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2017

Stayed there on half board for 4 nights again this year. Still as wonderful as ever. The room had stunning views of the estuary; and the restaurant produces great food. I hope to return again before too long. Thank you to all the staff too, for making the place tick and everything work like clockwork.

Room Tip: Take a sea view room,,,,you won't be disappointed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We liked the location - fantastic views of the Teifi estuary and beyond. We loved the room - apparently the best room. It was a spacious, clean suite with chairs and sofa. Also a large walk-in shower and double washbasin. The staff are cheerful, helpful and energetic.
BUT we were appalled at the wasted food - such huge quantities that a lot of food was uneaten. We disliked the tv screens and the intrusive music in the bar and restaurant. The restaurant was uncomforatbly hot.
It is obviously very popular but too noisy for a second visit.

Room Tip: Room 20 is supposed to be the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Seabird123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We stayed for one night and wished we could have stayed longer. Absolutely lovely place. Booked a non sea view room intending to sit outside to enjoy the glorious sunset, but we were upgraded to a sea view suite which was just wonderful. Our evening meal in the Flat Rock bistro was very good, staff were professional and friendly and the cooked breakfast was the biggest we've ever had!! Lovely thick bacon- 3 slices! Plenty of mushrooms, beans, tomatoes etc. All delicious. Definitely going back. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea views are stunning but if you can't stretch to £180 the terrace area is just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnnGarySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

We've stayed at the Gwerb hotel and ate at the restaurant. Amazing food, amazing service and realy clean room. What a beautiful place. Amazing views at the Flat Rock restaurant.
I would recommend to anyone.
Will definitely be returning for a visit soon.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Julia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardigan
0.2 km away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
870 reviews
17.3 km away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
574 reviews
11.8 km away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 2 in Tresaith
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Cardigan Castle
Cardigan Castle
#1 of 15 in Cardigan
27 reviews
4.1 km away
Caemorgan Mansion Exclusive Guest House
4.7 km away
Coed y Bryn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gwbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwbert Hotel

Address: Gwbert on Sea, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Cardigan
Price Range: RM454 - RM465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gwbert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in The Gwbert Hotel the hotel stands on the banks of the River Teifi at the estuary at Gwbert-on-Sea - renowned for its salmon and sewin - it is one of the finest hotels in the locality. The hotel offers high standards of accommodation with lift to most floors. We also have four self-catering holiday homes on the hotels grounds. The tastefully decorated bistro (Flat Rock) with its panoramic views of the Pembrokeshire National Park offers an extensive menu. with dishes to everyone's tastes. A romantic weekend at the ‘Domain of the Dolphin’ is a must for all couples who wish to have a "get away from it all" weekend break. So don’t settle for anything less. Call us today and see what a difference a little attention makes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Gwbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwbert Hotel Cardigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing