We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day trip”
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

Lovely quaint hotel, a real Jem in the splendid mid wales countryside.
We travelled here by the mid Wales train, a really pleasant scenic route.
Can't believe that we hadn't done this till now, we had a warm welcome at the hotel where we had a lovely afternoon tea, followed by nice walk around the lake, highly recommended.
Can't wait for the return journey

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank JohnAmmanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 314 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2016

A traditional family run hotel NOT a chain. The staff are all friendly and welcoming well trained and a credit to the owner . Go there for a different experience off the beaten track the food is of a good standard and they have a nice spa.
any problems are sorted out with a smile right away.
Just go and try something different.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandyAppl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

Superb hotel. We went as a group of 3 couples and had a fantastic night away.
We used the spa and had wonderful treatments. The staff were very attentive. Lunch in Spencer's bar was mediocre but the 6 course tasting menu was outstanding. Our only minor complaint was that it felt a bit 'conferency'. One course was delivered straight after the other! However; the food itself was delicious.

Our rooms were comfortable and reasonably sized. For the price we paid, we can't complain at all. It was overall excellent value for money and we'd go back!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with a group of friends. The first thing I noticed while waiting in a small queue at reception was the slight smell of drains. I didn't mind as I know that somethings places have little problems every now and again. Looking around I thought the place looked pretty grand - quite old fashioned but grand still the same.
We had room 122. Try not to get this room. While the room was fine, clean, tidy, massive comfortable bed, we were woken up quite early on Sunday morning by what sounded like washing machines underneath us and bins/bottles being emptied frequently outside our windows. Which reminds me of our windows. They were very high up and I had to stand on my tiptoe to look outside at the not very nice view.
The menu looked good. The dinner was ok. Nothing more, nothing less.
The staff were all lovely. Very attentive, polite and friendly.
When checking out at reception, the drain smell was so bad it was making me feel sick.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank 2K16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Me and my partner have just returned from a long weekend stay as part of a larger group.
The room was spacious and well appointed - all are different in shape due to the nature of the building. This all adds to its charm.
Food was excellent as was the service - and always with a smile.
Also make sure you get out and about as the area is one of outstanding beauty.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llandrindod Wells
17.6 km away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
925 reviews
0.1 km away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
273 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Builth Wells
829 reviews
21.9 km away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
649 reviews
25.2 km away
Knighton Hotel
Knighton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Knighton
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range: RM669 - RM902 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing