We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot ”
Review of The Lakeside

The Lakeside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open seven days a week from 9.30am to 4.30pm, serving homemade cakes, and freshly prepared meals. Sundays breakfast served from 9.30am till 11.00am then Sunday lunch waitress service. We also provide cream teas to be pre-ordered. Also do outside catering for:- Funeral Teas Weddings Birthday Parties Dinners
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Incredible freshly made welsh cakes, scones and cakes. Lovely spot for a tea and cake. Food look reasonable too. Great views

Thank TheGodlyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2016

Rude staff. No manners whatsoever. No please or thank you. Certainly not service with a smile. Poor quality tea from poor pouring teapot (leaked all over tray and table). Obviously not made with boiling water either. Most of the tables had dirty dishes on all the time we were there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank t0mmillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

What an amazing spread and such good value for money. Highly recommend the Lakeside cafe for afternoon tea wonderful selection of cakes and sandwiches and even catered for me as I love savouries, can't praise highly enough thanks all.

1  Thank julia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016

Arrived at 11.05am today en route from North Wales to Swansea. We had been up early and wanted to have coffee and breakfast and then walk the dog. They wouldn't serve us because they said they only served cake between 11 and 12. We were too late for breakfast and too early for lunch and they had a wedding on today. Plates of breakfast were still being carried out but they were ordered at 11 and we were five minutes late. Outside the signs imply any food all day every day. Clearly this is not true!!!!!

Thank Julzi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belind10, Owner at The Lakeside, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

We are very disappointed you have choose to give us a one star review, we have to have a cut off point for breakfasts in order to prepare our kitchen for a busy lunch time. The breakfasts that were served had been ordered before 11 o'clock. Here at the lake restaurant my staff work extremely hard and in order to manage our workforce and resources to achieve the best results we have this policy in place. We have a capacity to seat 80 people at a time which makes our lunch time period very busy therefore preparation is paramount.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2016

Fab little gift shop, play park for children, cafe and stroll around beautiful lake. Buy duck food and feed the ducks, while enjoying and ice cream and a drink; then let the kids burn off some steam at the nearby play park. Free parking and well sign-posted from the town centre.

Thank Liv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lakeside also viewed

Llandrindod Wells, Powys
 
Llandrindod Wells, Powys
Llandrindod Wells, Powys
 

Been to The Lakeside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing