We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Price range: US$5 - US$33
Cuisines: British
Description: Rural family pub, in the heart of Wales. Serving quality food, large garden with waterfall, lovely wood burning stoves in the winter, muddy boots, dogs and children very welcome.
Restaurant details
Description: Rural family pub, in the heart of Wales. Serving quality food, large garden with waterfall, lovely wood burning stoves in the winter, muddy boots, dogs and children very welcome.
Reviewed 29 September 2017

Staying nearby while visiting from Cornwall we decided to give the New Inn a try after seeing the menu left in our holiday cottage. The owner and her son were so friendly and went out of their way to ensure we were well looked after. One of our party is a coeliac and was delighted at the range of gluten free options she could have. The owner was happy to make changes wherever she could offering an alternate gluten free batter for the fish or mash instead of a pie crust. They assured us they have a separate fryer for the gluten free fish and chips to be cooked in too. Even the garlic mushrooms starter came with gluten free garlic bread.

Two of us had the gammon which was absolutely delicious! It was thick, juicy and not over salty as some can be, served with a real slice of pineapple (not from a tin), mushrooms, egg, chips and tomato it was perfect. One of our party had the lasagne, a firm favourite of his, and he said it’s the best he’s ever tasted, and trust me he’s a picky bugger so this is very high praise!

Overall we were completely satisfied and all cleaned our plates, price was very reasonable too, would definitely recommend and wouldn’t hesitate to come back again if we’re in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Selena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazmidwales, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you so much for a wonderful review and your kind words, it's lovely when people let you know that you've done something right.
We look forward to seeing you again if you are in the area.

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

We had a been driving from Scotland all day, and my son had stopped here a few weeks earlier, should really have past by, whilst it's pretty secluded, there was 6 others dining, ordered off specials deal, Burger and chips, and Sirloin steak chips etc.
Moved tables as lights not working, pretty quick with the order as we were ravenous, sons burger good, however steak was probably the worst I've ever tasted, most certainly defrosted in micro, very pale looking and it was tangy to the taste, covered it over, but if we hadn't of been in a rush to get to our destination 1hr 30 away, would definitely sent it back, In hindsight should of kept driving.
But you live and learn, bill was £25.00, so not that special on price either, rush back never, tip order the burger

Thank raymondclarke5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazmidwales, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Raymond,

Thank you for taking the time to review your meal at the New Inn and for the positive review of the burger, however I am very sorry to hear that your Sirloin was not up to our usual high standard, I do wish you had mentioned it when asked by our member of staff how your meal was, at least we could then have rectified the situation. I would like to clarify that the steak had never been in a microwave, they are fresh from our local butcher and are taken from the fridge to order then cooked in a frying pan.

Once again my apologies but please consider speaking to your server, the owner or the chef before leaving such a negative review in future, we want our customers to leave here happy and will do our utmost to see this happens.

Kindest regards,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

We had a long way to drive on this day and didn't want to go far off our route. We were delighted to find this little inn on the side of the road. After a chat with the proprietor I found she would cook me fish and chips gluten-free style. I was so happy. It was light and crispy and tasted delicious. Most people have been so generous in Wales and it is nice to taste their local favourites. I would really recommend their warm hospitality.

Thank Dianne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazmidwales, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you Dianne for your kind review so glad you enjoyed it.

We always try to cater for everyone as best we can, we can usually put something together and we keep a fryer for vegetarian and gluten free cooking.

Hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels

Kindest regards,

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We stopped here for lunch on Saturday, initial impression was not good, seemed dark and at the time was empty. However, the staff were amazingly friendly, everywhere was clean and we sat in the conservatory. The absolute gem was the food - I have eaten bacon, brie and cranberry baguettes in many, many places but none has been as good as the one here. I was delighted, as were the others in my party. Excellent value for money and whilst we didn't eat anything else from the menu I'm sure it would be just as good. We will definitely make a point of stopping here again when next we are on our travels through mid Wales.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LIN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazmidwales, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you so much Lin for your glowing review and so glad you enjoyed the BBC Baguette.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.

Kindest regards,
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Stopped for lunch, good quality food and good price. Kids had ham and chips, the ham was a bit tough/dried out as possibly reheated but our soup and sandwich tasty.
Looks like there may be new owners. It seems like the kind of place that with a little investment and some changes to introduce a more modern menu could do v well.

Thank Morvski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kazmidwales, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Thank you for your review and your suggestion of a more modern menu, while we would dearly love to have a more modern menu, and indeed have tried to bring it up to date, unfortunately we find that we are dictated to by our customers, the majority of which seem to prefer a more traditional menu.

Please accept my apologies for the ham being dry this should not have happened and had you informed us at the time we would have rectified it immediately as we want all our customers to leave here happy.

Kind regards,

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Hundred House, Llandrindod Wells
 
Llandrindod Wells, Powys
Llandrindod Wells, Powys
 
Llandrindod Wells, Powys
Llandrindod Wells, Powys
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing